Mixed Berry Tart

The pastry dough is somewhat crumbly but will hold together with a little kneading. When baking the crust, watch carefully so it does not get too brown. If it starts to darken, place a piece of aluminum foil around the rim.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(6 Reviews) 6
6 of 6(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Mixed Berry Tart
Review 1 for Mixed Berry Tart
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cmbmb
,Land O Lakes
,FL
June 9, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Impressive yet simple
June 9, 2013
The pastry dough is simple to prepare, easy to roll out, and light and delicious when baked. The custard filling is smooth and creamy, although I would prefer a little more custard than the recipe makes. As long as fresh local berries are available, I'll be making this over and over all summer.
Pros: Easy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Mixed Berry Tart
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
upscalebohemian
,San Francisco
,CA
San Francisco, CA
October 18, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Definitely Double the Pastry Cream Amount
October 18, 2012
This recipe isn't well tested nor even logically laid out, but it's salvageable and worth salvaging. Why preheat the oven over an hour and a half before it's needed, for instance? And YES, DO double the pastry cream. There's not enough as is, and what there is soaks into the pie crust and all but disappears.
I made this in a Gobel tart pan and had great results. See my review for the pan on its page since my characters are limited here.
You should make the pastry cream first since it's supposed to cool for an hour, then the pastry shell, since the dough is supposed to chill for half an hour, then finish the rest, but in reality you can make the pastry cream the day before (remember to at least double the recipe) and keep it refrigerated with plastic wrap over it and touching the surface to prevent a skin from forming.
Then you can make the shell ahead too and assemble closer to serving time.
Pros: Appearance, Impressive
Review 3 for Mixed Berry Tart
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
recipebug
December 26, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This is a winner!
December 26, 2011
Great dessert! Your guests will be impressed. I agree with the other reviews, though. Make extra pastry cream. That's what I did the second time and it was even better.
Pros: Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 4 for Mixed Berry Tart
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hawkmoon
Meadville, PA
June 19, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
delish! Wonderful summer recipe!
June 19, 2011
A wonderful way to celebrate fresh berries. I agree with the other reviews, however: double the pastry cream amount. In this case, there is no such thing as too much of a good thing!
Pros: Easy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 5 for Mixed Berry Tart
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LoganAnnie
Logan, UT
October 26, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Husbands new favorite
October 26, 2010
This is what my husband and daughter now want me to make them every year for their birthdays in place of a birthday cake.
I would consider doubling the "cream filling" which was less than 1/4" thick on my standard sized tart pan. As the recipe is my family wanted whipcream with it which was yummy but just destroys the look once served.
Review 6 for Mixed Berry Tart
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
groovy
Denver, CO
June 21, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious!
June 21, 2010
A wonderful summer dessert! My tart pan is larger so I doubled the recipe for the pastry cream and it was the perfect amount.