Minestrone with Chicken Meatballs

A scattering of freshly grated cheese adds a welcome layer of flavor to many dishes. Mellow and nutty Parmigiano-Reggiano is one of the best cheeses for grating, but it is not the only option. Pecorino romano, a sharp sheep's milk cheese, is another good choice; or try milder cow's milk Asiago or dry jack. When grating, use a rotary grater or the smallest rasps of a box grater in order to reduce the cheese to the smallest particles and ensure a smooth incorporation into the dish.
Average Customer Rating:
4.778 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
9 of 9(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Minestrone with Chicken Meatballs
Review 1 for Minestrone with Chicken Meatballs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Consumer2
Monarch Beach, CA
January 27, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent, tasty, easy, and healthy
January 27, 2013
I made this soup without the meatballs and it was yummy. I also substituted spinach instead of using kale. The soup was easy to prepare and tasted even better the next day. I served it with a salad. Would definitely make this again.
Pros: Yield, Quick, Good Value, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Healthy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Minestrone with Chicken Meatballs
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sandbar2
,Burlingame
,Ca
January 8, 2012
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Tasty & healthy
January 8, 2012
Made this soup for dinner tonight and my husband and I really enjoyed it. The flavors blended together very well. Definitely will make this soup again!
Pros: Easy, Healthy, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Minestrone with Chicken Meatballs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
aniron1
,Lynnwood
,WA
January 8, 2012
Ability level:Novice
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A BIG hit with my son
January 8, 2012
Tried this recipe a couple of nights ago. Modified a small amount of the recipe to suit food allergies in the family (GF bread, only egg whites & DF); and the remaining amount just as the recipe called for. Both were equally good and now my son loves beans. Will be a staple in my household.
Pros: Good Value, Easy, Healthy, Adaptable
Review 4 for Minestrone with Chicken Meatballs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
holaVanessa
Chicago, IL
March 15, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Flavorful spin on a classic
March 15, 2011
I was very curious to try this classic soup with a twist. The chicken meatballs were tasty--a great complement to the balanced vegetable flavors. WS chicken demi-glace adds extra depth to the stock. Definitely a must-try!
Review 5 for Minestrone with Chicken Meatballs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
F00000d
January 3, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Healthy deliciousness~
January 3, 2011
I wasn't expecting so much moist flavor to be in a dish that was so healthy, but I was intrigued by the great reviews and decided to give it a try. I wasn't let down and my whole family enjoyed this hearty meal
Review 6 for Minestrone with Chicken Meatballs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lynn2004
San Rafael, CA
December 11, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Moist chicken & kids eat the veggies
December 11, 2010
I made this soup for the first time tonight and it came out delicious!! Usually I dry out my chicken because I'm afraid of undercooking it. But I followed the cooking time for the chicken and it came out fantastic! The whole soup was flavorful and delicious. My husband said it's the best soup I've made yet.
Furthermore I'm so pleased because my 4 year old loved it and so did my picky 2 year old, who hasn't knowingly eaten vegetables (ie. I didn't cut them up really tiny and hide them in a carb) since he was a baby. And he gobbled it up!
I made a couple of substitutions because I wanted to use in season produce. So I substituted a 1 1/2 red bell peppers for the large tomato and parsley for the basil. Yummy good! I can't wait for the summer when I'll try it with tomato and basil!!
Review 7 for Minestrone with Chicken Meatballs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dianeats
Demarest nj
November 5, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delish. This is the best minestrone ever. Th
November 5, 2010
I used veal instead of chicken, extra parm with rind) to the broth and a little ws veal stock. My family loved it !!!!
Review 8 for Minestrone with Chicken Meatballs
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous
San Francisco
May 2, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comfort Soup
May 2, 2010
If you are like me and never cooked with kale before, this is an excellent introduction to it. You can taste the richness of the kale without it taking over the soup. In fact all of the ingredients work so well together to make sure that no one ingredient overpowers any of the others. I chopped and prepared everything in advance of cooking which really helps. Tip: substitute navy and fava for a different bean combo just for fun.
This easy-to-make zuppa will warm your soup bowls and your heart. Enjoy!
Review 9 for Minestrone with Chicken Meatballs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
marcellina
Cleveland, Oh
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastic!
April 30, 2010
This was soooo good. Easy to make and comes out perfect each time. Fresh ingredients and the parm at the end really enhances the flavor. I've made it quite a bit and family and friends loved it. Pair with a great bread and salad helps round out this meal in one!