Michael Voltaggio's Banana Bread Pudding

Save room for dessert! Chef Michael Voltaggio's riff on the famous banana pudding from Wilber's Barbecue & Restaurant in Goldsboro, North Carolina, combines vanilla wafers and bread cubes with a creamy banana custard. Then the rich pudding is baked until golden brown and topped with vanilla wafer ice cream. This is down-home comfort food at its finest.
Average Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(5 Reviews) 5
5 of 5(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Michael Voltaggio's Banana Bread Pudding
Review 1 for Michael Voltaggio's Banana Bread Pudding
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KDB85
,Washington
,DC
February 22, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:6 to 10 people
Cooks:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful!
February 22, 2012
Made this and the Vanilla Wafer Ice Cream and both were a BIG hit. I used french bread in place of white bread with no problems. My only issue is both this and the ice cream make for very small servings - I would recommend doubling the recipes for each since folks will want seconds.
Pros: Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Michael Voltaggio's Banana Bread Pudding
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
LalaLou
San Diego, CA
July 20, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:6 to 10 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Pour On Some Carmel!
July 20, 2011
The dessert looked great and the pudding was moist but it wasn't sweet enough for me. I ended up drizzling carmel topping over the individual pudding servings and ice cream. Next time I will add an additional banana or two for more banana flavor.
Pros: Appearance, made from things i had on hand
Cons: Taste
Review 3 for Michael Voltaggio's Banana Bread Pudding
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Linz92
Muskegon, MI
June 30, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
It was a hit!
June 30, 2011
Took a little extra work but was WAY better than a bought cake for Father's day celebration. Served it to my inlaws and my father inlaw was ready to eat it before it was even baked!
Pros: Will Make Again
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 4 for Michael Voltaggio's Banana Bread Pudding
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MCSB
Washington, DC
June 14, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Make this!!
June 14, 2011
I made a few alterations:
Used hallah bread, crust cut off.
Roasted 3 large bananas.
Added 1/2 tsp. cinnamon.
Soaked bread for 10 min, not an hour.
It was a crowd pleaser, warm w/ vanilla ice cream!!! I highly recommend.
Pros: Kid-Friendly, Impressive
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Junebugs
Michigan
Posted June 18, 2011
I love the addition of the cinnamon! This is a wonderful combination of my favorite flavors! Will definately be passing this recipe along and plan to make it for Father's Day for our banana-loving Dad!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Michael Voltaggio's Banana Bread Pudding
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TheMerryCupcaker
Tampa Bay
June 6, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+12points
12of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A little complicated, but worth it!
June 6, 2011
I started making this at about 9:00 p.m. one night and barely managed to take it out of the oven before 11 p.m. But though it was a little complicated (water baking in the oven?), I love bread pudding, and this was delicious. I used bakery hamburger buns for the bread, and the result was fantastic. Made 9 servings at 377 calories each. :-)
A great way to use up bread and bananas.
Pros: Good Value, Appearance, Will Make Again
Cons: Complicated, Lengthy