Mexican Lime Soup with Chicken (Mexican Oregano)

In this hearty chicken soup, Mexican oregano lends an herbal aroma and strong, spicy flavor, which is countered by the fragrant garlic, piquant jalapeno chili and tart lime juice.
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
14 of 15(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Mexican Lime Soup with Chicken (Mexican Oregano)
Review 1 for Mexican Lime Soup with Chicken (Mexican Oregano)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mcinspire
,Virginia Beach
,VA
November 17, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
fabulous refreshing soup
November 17, 2013
This soup is a great hit at home. I modified it in the following way:
I added sautéed leeks, celery, only 1/2 onion
added total of five chicken breasts, so this was nearly a stew
When serving, some of us chose to add queso, others added pico di gallo, cilantro and extra lime
I did not add any avocado.
I also added a bit of cumin…the soup was very full-flavored
To start, I put the chicken broth in the crock pot, on high
Sautéed the veggies in a tad bit of olive oil, threw the veggies into the crockpot
sautéed the chicken breasts in a tad bit of olive oil, then threw them in to the crockpot whole
I added the seasoning, including a 1/8 t cumin to the broth,covered and cooked for about four hours.
About 30 minutes prior to serving, I shredded the chicken and stirred. All chicken fell apart into shreds easily.
This was fabulous, especially with the lime, cilantro and pico di gallo. Y
Pros: Easy, Healthy, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Mexican Lime Soup with Chicken (Mexican Oregano)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TeamVB
,LA
,CA
August 24, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious and Easy
August 24, 2013
Wonderful recipe!!! Delicious!!! Everyone loved it!!
Pros: Easy, Healthy, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Mexican Lime Soup with Chicken (Mexican Oregano)
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SouthTampaFoodie
,Tampa
,FL
February 27, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Yummy Weeknight Meal
February 27, 2013
I made this recipe exactly 'as is', no changes and it was perfectly delish!
I served it with a nice side salad with avocado, tomato and onion and a lime vinegarette dressing...and added a little of the queso fresco on the salad too. Nice weeknight meal!
If I was going to add anything else I might try some plain tortilla strips to add some crunch, but nothing flavored as I think the flavor of the soup was awesome as is.
Pros: Easy, Appearance, Adaptable, Will Make Again, different
Review 4 for Mexican Lime Soup with Chicken (Mexican Oregano)
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
DTodd
,Corona
,Ca
January 8, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good recipe
January 8, 2013
I made the soup with adding the suggestions of cumin, rice and broth for the liquid. The soup was really delicious! I have made this soup several times now and even made extra to freeze.
Pros: Quick, Good Value, Easy, Will Make Again
Cons: Taste
Review 5 for Mexican Lime Soup with Chicken (Mexican Oregano)
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
MichaelVie
,Arlington
,VA
December 19, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
¡Expected Mo' Flavor!
December 19, 2012
The soup was kind of bland from the recipe. I added more lime and salt, but that did not do it. I recommend cumin powder to add the missing flavor. It is a fast and simple recipe though.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Healthy, Adaptable
Cons: Taste
Review 6 for Mexican Lime Soup with Chicken (Mexican Oregano)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ebaum
,Fort Mohave
,AZ
November 11, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-2points
1of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Deliciouso!
November 11, 2012
I loved this! I never would have thought about adding avocado into a soup. I read people's review while making and did do the 4 c broth (2 of homemade) and 2 cups water and I added cilantro to the bowl. I was bummed there wasn't any "spicy" or "heat", next time I make this I will add 2 or 3 jalapenos
Pros: Good Value, Easy, Healthy, Impressive
Cons: Lengthy
Review 7 for Mexican Lime Soup with Chicken (Mexican Oregano)
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous
,Dallas
,TX
October 5, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent and easy
October 5, 2012
This a great change from the tortilla soup I normally make. Few revisions:
* more heat, so add more jalepenos and cumin
* would use 4 cups broth and 2 cups water ratio
* to make it less thin, cut up white corn tortillas -- about 2-3 of them -- and add them for the 30 minute cook time. they will dissolve and make the broth less watery
* serve with cilantro if you like, along with the avocado, cheese and lime
Pros: Good Value, Easy, Healthy, Appearance, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 8 for Mexican Lime Soup with Chicken (Mexican Oregano)
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
chefkatrina
Orange County, CA
June 13, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+23points
23of 23found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This is a great soup!
June 13, 2011
I love this soup recipe.
I made it according to the recipe the first time, then switched it up a little the next few times I made it. Changes I made:
Used chicken broth for all the liquid called for (definitely more flavor),
Added 1/2 t. cumin powder
I added 1/4 c. white rice in the last 30 minutes
Added cilantro as a garnish.
Very good. I was making this once a week for a number of weeks in a row.
Pros: Healthy, Will Make Again
Review 9 for Mexican Lime Soup with Chicken (Mexican Oregano)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BusyButHealthy
Chandler, AZ
April 15, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious!
April 15, 2011
My family loved this recipe...and it's easy. My husband likes a little more spice than recommended and he crushes tortilla chips on top. I boiled a whole chicken with a few veggies and fresh Rosemary. A little more work, but worth it. I definitely recommend trying, even if you're not crazy about avacado. I liked it and i don't care for avacado!
Pros: Easy, Healthy, Will Make Again
Review 10 for Mexican Lime Soup with Chicken (Mexican Oregano)
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ratbert
Manalapan nj
April 4, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
2of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Needs revision
April 4, 2011
I would have reduced or left out 3 cups of water. Original results were too thin and watery..This also reduced the bite I'm certain was intended...
Wound up adding cannelli beans
after food processing to a paste..
Pros: Adaptable
Cons: thin
Review 11 for Mexican Lime Soup with Chicken (Mexican Oregano)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
runningitup
Andalusia, AL
March 30, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:6 to 10 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Refreshing, Crisp, and Bright Soup!!!
March 30, 2011
"WOW!" was all I kept repeating with each mouthful of this soup! So very different from any other soup I've ever made, yet so simple. I added a little chopped fresh cilantro to each bowl---very nice addition! Will be making this one many times in the future :)
Pros: Quick, Good Value, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Healthy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again, delicious
Cons: Yield
Review 12 for Mexican Lime Soup with Chicken (Mexican Oregano)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Catmurr
Livingston, NJ
February 22, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fabulous For a Small Dinner Party
February 22, 2011
When served this soup at a friends dinner party recently, I was so impressed. It is so refreshing. The lime and feta cheese make this soup so different.
Review 13 for Mexican Lime Soup with Chicken (Mexican Oregano)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Zoe2
Nashville
February 13, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious!
February 13, 2011
I love this soup because the lime makes it taste fresh. It is important in my opinion to use the best ingredients for a soup that is this simple so I made mine with organic chicken, WS oregano and real queso fresco. The results: Not a drop left and everyone was asking for the recipe.
Review 14 for Mexican Lime Soup with Chicken (Mexican Oregano)
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sbanksfrg
Selma, TX
September 4, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good soup recipe
September 4, 2010
If you are a fan of tortilla soup, you'll enjoy this recipe! The only addition or recommendation that I would make would be to punch it up a little. WS has a recipe for a basic spice rub, and my boyfriend added a little to his soup and it was amazing! I definitely recommend adding the spice rub! We couldn't get enough of it!
Review 15 for Mexican Lime Soup with Chicken (Mexican Oregano)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Truffles
San Diego, Ca
August 19, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent Summer Soup
August 19, 2010
This is a very "bright" tasting soup. It's the lime juice that makes this unique. I used an additional cup of chicken broth because it was that amount left in the container then reduced the water by 1 cup. Also added celery chopped and small carrots. I suggest chilling it to allow the fat to congeal on top, then spoon off. Had it last night and today for lunch. Will definitely make it again.