This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Mac and Cheese

For the ultimate comfort food, whip up a batch of mac and cheese - it's a snap to prepare using our starter. Simply add grated cheese to the thick, creamy sauce and stir in cooked macaroni, then bake until golden and bubbly. Pair with roast chicken for a satisfying supper (see related recipe at left).
Average Customer Rating:
1.857 out of 5
1.9
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
2 of 7(29%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Mac and Cheese
Review 1 for Mac and Cheese
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BrianE
,Beverly Hills
,CA
January 29, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Fabulous! Quick & Easy!
January 29, 2012
Williams Sonoma has long been famous for their variety of sauces and starters, so this was the perfect quick dish on an American Classic. My guests loved it! The All Clad pan is my 45th piece and its fantastic. FOr me, sometimes quick and easy, convenient meals make the difference in my busy schedule and at $14.00 for the sauce, it was a bargain! The smile on my guests face says it all!
Pros: Quick, Good Value, Easy, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Mac and Cheese
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
gberg
,Chicago
,IL
January 25, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
even pasta type doesn't match image
January 25, 2012
In addition to not being able to make the recipe from scratch, the pasta in the recipe (elbow macaroni) doesn't even match the rigatoni (armoniche rigatoni) that seems to be used in the image. This recipe should be removed.
Cons: Ingredients, Appearance
Review 3 for Mac and Cheese
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
melanidee
January 24, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Instructions to use bottled sauce IMHO
January 24, 2012
I also went to the trouble to find this "recipe". Honestly, I am sure your sauce is very good. I agree with the other reviewers. Instructions to use bottled sauce is not what I was expecting from WS!
Pros: Appearance
Review 4 for Mac and Cheese
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Siobhan80
,NY
January 24, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Mac n Cheese with a Bechamel Sauce!
January 24, 2012
After reading the ingredients of the "Starter Sauce" I realized this is a twist on the classic bechamel sauce with the addition of cayenne pepper and dijon mustard. So if you really wanted to make this recipe or of a pan mac and cheese all you have to do is make your own bechamel sauce and proceed with the rest of the directions. Simple. Just a quick twist on classic comfort food.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Will Make Again
Review 5 for Mac and Cheese
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Italianprincess14
,San Diego
,Ca
January 22, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
WS. REALLY.?
January 22, 2012
Like previously stated what a disappointment! Recipe looked soo good and when I took the Time to find and log in, etc, recipe was based on ur bottled sauce at the tune of $14. Crazy and highly disappointed with a class co. Like WS. CMON people. You cam do better than this!
Pros: Appearance
Cons: not a complete recipe
Review 6 for Mac and Cheese
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
TeaBear
,Vancouver
Vancouver, Canada
January 20, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Recipe VS Instructions
January 20, 2012
So disappointed WS! I love your recipes but these are instructions on how to use your starter sauce! Looking forward to finding a great Mac&Cheese RECIPE!
Cons: Ingredients
Review 7 for Mac and Cheese
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
5kidstocookfor
January 16, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
+11points
20of 29found this review helpful.
Starter needed??
January 16, 2012
I was looking forward to making this dish after seeing how good it looked in the catalog. However, the recipe calls for a $14 jar of mac n cheese starter. Decided it was too much of a hassle to make a trip to get the starter.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer avatar
ElmerFoodie
Elmer, NJ
Posted February 21, 2012
Why are you upset? This was a CATALOG recipe to accompany the sauce they were selling.
0points
Customer avatar
KatDC
Washington DC
Posted January 23, 2012
bad!
But here's a better recipe for truly delish mac&cheese:
heavy cream, white cheddar, smoked gruyere mix, and simmer low while blending constantly. The amounts will depend on how creamy you like your mac & Cheese. I toast my own panko bread crumbs, and sometimes use crumbled CheezIts instead. Also, tryi pimento cheese as a replacement. It is great!
(I hate anything that comes in a jar)
0points
Customer avatar
Kat9
Boston
Posted January 20, 2012
Agreed
I liken this to "Hamburger Helper." Not something I'd expect from Williams-Sonoma.
0points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)