Lemon Gelato

The brisk, refreshing taste of lemon is always welcome after a meal. In this velvety ice cream, creme fraiche contributes richness and a flavor reminiscent of cheesecake. Look for creme fraiche in good cheese shops and specialty-food stores. Serve the gelato with thin, crisp cookies.
Average Customer Rating:
4.833 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(6 Reviews) 6
6 of 6(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Lemon Gelato
Review 1 for Lemon Gelato
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
YaddaYadda
March 11, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great lemon flavor
March 11, 2014
This is a great gelato. I was a bit skeptical because there is no lemon juice in the recipe. I didn't think it would have a distinctive lemon flavor. I used Meyer lemons. I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out great. It is a sweet lemon flavor. Very impressive and a beautiful pale yellow color.
Pros: Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Lemon Gelato
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
katiekins
May 26, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent recipe
May 26, 2013
I had a fantastic dessert in a restaurant recently that was a parfait of lemon gelato and limoncello liquer in a champagne flute. Decided to try and replicate it. I tried the recipe with the creme fraiche first, and the flaor was too "cheesecakey" and not like what I had in the restaurant. Prepared it again using heavy cream and it was perfect! This recipe very closely approximated the lemon gelato, which had been imported from Italy! I am taking this to a party tomorrow.
One tip, be careful about the coating the spoon step, and make sure your ice cream freezer is good and cold. I found the extra protein/fat from the eggs needed a slightly longer freezing time. Also, strain carefully so you don't get the lemon zest in the freezer. The consistency is sublime and you don't want the grit of the zest.
Review 3 for Lemon Gelato
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
avidfan
,Traverse City
,MI
October 1, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Smooth and just simply delicious!
October 1, 2012
Tried the recipe for the first time and it was so good that my picky husband loved it. He usually go to special icecream shops just to get expensive scoops of gelato. Now he wants me to make it all the time. I couldnt find creme fraiche in my local grocery store so I used a cup of heavy cream and added a tablespoon of lemon juice. It worked. It was just delicious and will definitely make again.
Pros: Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 4 for Lemon Gelato
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous
May 31, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Yummy - one step missing
May 31, 2011
Tried this recipe yesterday for the first time. It's 100% delicious. The tartness of the lemon offsets the richness of the base.
However, the recipe doesn't say what to do with the juice of the three lemons. I added it to the hot cream mixture during the 15-minute cooling period, which worked well for me.
Pros: Yield, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Complicated
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
cheffette
Posted June 16, 2011
no lemon juice in recipe
FYI - the recipe does not call for lemon juice... just the zest of 3 lemons
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Lemon Gelato
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
luma
Bay Area
April 28, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious!
April 28, 2011
This ice cream recipe is fantastic! Great lemon flavor, smooth and creamy. I agree with the previous reviewer - do not forego the creme fraiche. It gives a great cheesecake-like tang to the gelato.
The only adjustment I would make is to NOT strain the custard directly into the ice cream maker as directed. It makes a mess! Strain into a separate bowl and then pour it into the ice cream maker.
Pros: Impressive, Will Make Again, tastes delicious
Review 6 for Lemon Gelato
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tocsog
Fort Lauderdale, FL
May 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Summer favorite
May 14, 2010
This is rich and smooth and creamy. Do not substitue anything for the creme fraiche. It is what makes the recipe work. It is the best recipe I have found for my Cuisinart Ice Cream Maker.