Lemon Curd Squares

When zesting and juicing a lemon, always zest first. Use a zester or grater and make short, sweeping strokes, rotating the fruit slightly after every 1 or 2 swipes. Avoid removing the white pith, which imparts bitterness. To extract the most juice, press and roll the lemon on the countertop to crush it slightly, then halve it crosswise. For small amounts of juice, use a hand reamer or juicer, rotating the lemon and pressing and squeezing until all the juice is released. For large amounts, electric juicers are efficient, but use caution as they may oversqueeze and extract bitter pith.
Average Customer Rating:
4.444 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
8 of 9(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Lemon Curd Squares
Review 1 for Lemon Curd Squares
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Heni
,Pasadena
,Ca
April 29, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Pretty good lemon bars
April 29, 2012
Although , I agree with one of the reviews only in that, the color is a little "murky " on the surface and too many "bubbles", I think they were very very good; just follow the recipe exactly the way they spell it out and you will get a very good lemon bar. I would just like to know how to get rid of the "craters " on the surface and produce a smother lemon curd....but I will def make again. I used my home grown lemons too! Get a tree and plant it, you will save on cost in the long run. Lemons are expensive at the market and will be a better value.
Pros: Yield, Quick, Good Value, Easy, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Lemon Curd Squares
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
permfloat
,Toronto
,On
December 25, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very disappointing....
December 25, 2011
These came out with a "gummy" texture - they tasted okay but the texture of the topping was not good at all - had to throw them out - quite a waste of good ingredients. And they "cracked"on top in several places so also looked very unappealing
Cons: Texture, Cost, Ingredients
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Foodie77
Calgary, AB
Posted April 21, 2012
Sounds overbaked
I've made these more times than I can count and they've never been "gummy". They're supposed to come out of the oven when they're still jiggly in the centre, if the top cracked then it sounds like they were overbaked. I would suggest trying them again but check them about 5 mins before the minimum suggested baking time in case your oven runs a little hotter.
+1point
1of 1found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Lemon Curd Squares
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Laura3
New York, ny
July 14, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The best lemon bars!
July 14, 2011
These lemon bars are wonderful. They are the perfect blend of tart and sweet. I would strongly recommend these to anyone in the mood for some delicious lemon bars. They are easy to make and so worth it. They are great for summer picnics.
Pros: Easy, Kid-Friendly, Will Make Again, delicious
Review 4 for Lemon Curd Squares
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fairfaxgirl
Fairfax, VA
February 19, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect lemon bars!
February 19, 2011
Wonderful recipe! Very easy to make. Not too sweet and not too tart...just right.
Review 5 for Lemon Curd Squares
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KLDM
October 20, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious!
October 20, 2010
This is the best lemon bar recipe! It is lemony and buttery and creamy. Absolutely delicious!
Review 6 for Lemon Curd Squares
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JessB
Ca
June 18, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love these
June 18, 2010
The best lemon bar recipe! Very easy to make! Always a big hit at every event I make them for!
Review 7 for Lemon Curd Squares
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Foodie77
Calgary, AB
June 8, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Absolutely perfect!
June 8, 2010
After trying lots of lemon square recipes over the years this is the only one I use, plus it's so easy to make! I've added coconut to the lemon curd & topped the squares with toasted coconut for a change- very nice.
Review 8 for Lemon Curd Squares
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Urszula
Mesa, AZ
May 29, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious and Refreshing
May 29, 2010
While adding lemon juice to a salad one day, I had a craving for something lemony. This recipe is easy to follow and results in a perfect combination of sweet and tangy! Great crust too, especially if made a bit crispy.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
nicoletter
Posted January 22, 2011
A hit!
I made two batches of these and brought them to school for my friends, they all loved it!
If you want to cut out some of the sweetness, skip the confectioner's sugar, it's quite sweet as it is.
0points
Customer avatar
Isabel000
Santiago, Chile
Posted December 27, 2010
Great
These are perfect. The crust is buttery and the filling oh so creamy and tangy. I like piping some meringue on top before serving and lightly sprinkling with cinnamon. Highly recommended
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 9 for Lemon Curd Squares
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CRcook
Westchester, NY
May 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Best Lemon Bars
May 14, 2010
Easy recipe and unbelievably delicious! I serve them with fresh whipped cream. Make these soon!!!