Lemon Beehive Cake

Shaped like a hive and adorned with busy bees, this whimsical cake will be all the buzz at your next gathering. A simple glaze, made with honey, of course, is the perfect finish for the cake.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(4 Reviews) 4
4 of 4(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Lemon Beehive Cake
Review 1 for Lemon Beehive Cake
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
PluckyMomo
,Philadelphia
,PA
April 22, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:6 to 10 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Recipe
April 22, 2014
I bought this pan for a Bumble Bee baby shower I was throwing, but it could easily be used for any Spring/Summer party, spelling bee or many other occasions.
The recipe was delicious! It came out easily with no problems (I greased and floured the pan). This cake was a definite show-stopper! Very impressive looking with minimal effort. I didn't make the icing for the middle, but just used canned frosting in a thin amount. It just seemed like a LOT of work to make cake, glaze, frosting and icing.
The only thing I would change is I wish the recipe had made just a bit more batter so that when you trimmed off the tops (which become the inside edges) you have some wiggle room and still have a generous cake which is symmetrical.
Pros: Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: too many componenets
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 2 for Lemon Beehive Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MaMa123
Bryn Athyn, PA
April 30, 2011
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Pooh Bear Play after party.
April 30, 2011
I bought WS. bee cake pan for My daughters 1st grade cast party, five years ago. Two years later I made this cake for her siblings cast party as well. This year I am making one for their brother's play. It had been so succesful theme wise, color and taste; I never had any left overs brought back home. I for all of their Ant and Bee studies; ended their studies with a baked cake again. Great for 1st day of spring. I even made a cake for a friend friend; for an anniversary gift. Compliments all around. No cake sticking to the pan. Fits in small ovens and easy to cook. Easy to wash. A bit big (the pan) for storing but worth it. Many recipes to change up the toppings for your cake. Two thumbs up, from our house.
Pros: Quick, Good Value, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Healthy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: no cons
Review 3 for Lemon Beehive Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
upstategirl
Fayetteville,NY
May 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
whimsical and tastey
May 14, 2010
My book club was reading the secret life of bees when I made this cake. It was very good! Not to sweet not to tart just right! I made a frosting of brown sugar cooked w butter then added powdered sugar to make it look like honey.
Review 4 for Lemon Beehive Cake
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
TrishKnits
North Vancouver, BC, Canada
May 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Showstopper!
May 14, 2010
I bought the W-S beehive cake pan right after Martha Stewart Magazine featured a similar cake on it's cover a couple of years ago. I tried Martha's recipe first and wasn't impressed. The W-S recipe is far superior. Martha's recipe is designed for a smaller pan so there wasn't enough batter and it was a little dry and not dense enough to create sharp details on the turned out cake. The W-S recipe results in a moist, dense cake that doesn't stick to the pan and the detailing was very sharp. I made some little bees on toothpicks (I found clip art on the net) and everyone went beserk when they saw it and all agreed it was super delicious. This recipe is a major success!