Layered Chicken Three-Cheese Enchilada

Use your favorite enchilada sauce to prepare this recipe, which layers corn tortillas, chicken and three kinds of cheese into one hearty casserole.
Average Customer Rating:
4.417 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
11 of 12(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Layered Chicken Three-Cheese Enchilada
Review 1 for Layered Chicken Three-Cheese Enchilada
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
NorCalRanchGirl
,CA
December 7, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fast, Simple, Tasty
December 7, 2013
This is a flexible recipe that can easily be added to or manipulated. The canned sauce is what makes it simple and fast, which many of us with busy schedules need.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Adaptable
Review 2 for Layered Chicken Three-Cheese Enchilada
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lghill
,Oak Harbor
,WA
December 24, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious and Easy!!
December 24, 2012
My husband and I both love this delicious recipe, we make it with guacamole and cuban style black beans for a complete weeknight meal. We did change the recipe a smudge for more flavor. We boil the chicken breast and shred, then we sauté the chicken in a large nonstick skillet with Goya. Absolutely wonderful!
Pros: Easy, Impressive, Will Make Again
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
KenChef
Council Bluffs, Iowa
Posted February 14, 2014
Goya?
What Goya product was used to add flavor to this dish?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Layered Chicken Three-Cheese Enchilada
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
TrueTexan
September 17, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
-4points
5of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
No sauce recipe included?????
September 17, 2012
Wow, this is a bummer. Just some cheeses & a little something else. Don't you folks know "sauce" is what makes the dish? Not much thought put into this recipe if you ask me. Oh well. maybe you will get it right on the next recipe posted.
Cons: incomplete recipe
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Delilah89
Posted March 17, 2013
Enchilada sauce
Try it with the 1 and 3/4 cups red enchilada sauce listed in the ingredients.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Layered Chicken Three-Cheese Enchilada
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Carol10
April 3, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
3of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent for a crowd
April 3, 2012
Made this recipe according to directions-but the recommendation to "use your favorite enchilada sauce" is too vague. I made one casserole with mild sauce and another casserole with 1/2 mild and 1/2 hot enchilada sauce. The latter one was very good-and needed nothing additional. If you don't have the dutch oven listed, use a very deep casserole pan.
Pros: Will Make Again
Review 5 for Layered Chicken Three-Cheese Enchilada
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ashley4781
,Newbury park
,Ca
April 1, 2012
Ability level:Novice
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
2of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect, fun, easy, and so yummy!
April 1, 2012
My boyfriend and I made this together tonight for dinner! We had a lot of fun, it was easy to do and very tasty! We will definitely do this again!
Pros: Quick, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Will Make Again
Review 6 for Layered Chicken Three-Cheese Enchilada
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GrandmaChicken
,Groveland
,CA
California
March 12, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
2of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent Recipe!
March 12, 2012
This recipe is very good and so easy in the Le Creuset pot. It is spicey, which is fine with my family, but I am going to try it with the Green Enchilada Sauce and "tone it down" a little for company. I have tried many Williams-Sonoma recipes, having the Collection series of cookbooks. Rarely do I find a recipe that we don't want to make over again. They are almost always company-quality. This recipe is no exception...it's delicious!
Pros: Yield, Easy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 7 for Layered Chicken Three-Cheese Enchilada
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
imamommy
,Northeast
,Ne
February 4, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:6 to 10 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Hit with my Family!
February 4, 2012
I used a 2 # bag of chicken breast, baked in oven with drizzedled olive oil, salt & pepper, cooled and shredded.
I did add some cumin to the chicken and onion mix.
My family loved it, served it with some rice on the side. This recipe will be a regular at our home! This is something my daughter can make in a smaller portion at college. Thanks WS:)
Pros: Quick, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 8 for Layered Chicken Three-Cheese Enchilada
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
hawkfan
,OH
February 1, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent!
February 1, 2012
Like others, I started with a roasted chicken from the store and used Casa Fiesta enchilada sauce. My family are cheese lovers so I added about 1/2 cup more to the top layer, and I built 4 layers instead of 3 (corn tortillas came in a package of 12). Lettuce and green onions for garnish. Side dish of spanish rice. My kids want me to make it next time with just cheese and onion, no chicken. This recipe is quick, versatile and yummy!
Pros: Quick, Kid-Friendly, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 9 for Layered Chicken Three-Cheese Enchilada
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Galacticgirl
,Ogden
,UT
January 31, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:6 to 10 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy and Delicious
January 31, 2012
I saw this in the WIlliams-Sonoma catalog and it looked so delicious, I knew I had to make it! The recipe didn't disappoint--my kids and husband gave it rave reviews, and I ate way too many helpings myself (yikes!). I used boneless skinless chicken breasts, and I actually fried them up in the oil with the onions before shredding them. I also used a simple canned enchilada sauce, but there are numerous recipes to be found on the Internet if you want to make it from scratch (I will probably try one next time I make this). Thank you Williams Sonoma!! This is going in the "Easy, Fast, and Favorite" section of my cookbook!!!
Pros: Quick, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 10 for Layered Chicken Three-Cheese Enchilada
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Vickijogogogo
,DOUGLAS
,AZ
January 26, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
SUPER DELICIOUS & SUPER EASY
January 26, 2012
I TOO USED A ROTISSERE CHICKEN AND CANNED MACUAYOS SAUCE SO I
REALLY DID SIMPLIFY BUT THE RESULTS WERE G R E A T......... EVERYONE
FROM THE 25 YR. OLD BOYS, GRAMMY AND MY HUSBAND THOUGHT IT WAS
5 STARS.....
Review 11 for Layered Chicken Three-Cheese Enchilada
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hadler
,Outside DC
,VA
January 22, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:6 to 10 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
OUTSTANDING
January 22, 2012
WOW - I have no words. This recipe was as delicious as it was easy. And I used a 2 store purchased rotisserie chicken quarters (cheating, I know) and it made it EVEN easier. Heaven. All four of my children loved it. HIGHLY recommend. One for the books.
Pros: Yield, Quick, Good Value, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Healthy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 12 for Layered Chicken Three-Cheese Enchilada
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous
,San Marcos
,CA
January 7, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+14points
16of 18found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great and Fast
January 7, 2012
I'm an Enchilada snob and I gave this 4 stars out of 5 - which is better than most. I would have given it 5 if they provided the enchilada sauce recipe. I used Las Palmas Hot version which turned out great. This is a fast enchilada recipe that was pretty easy. I definitely recommend using a Le Crueset dutch.
Pros: Yield, Quick, Easy, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Cons: missing the key enchilada sauce recipe