Jambalaya with Shrimp, Chicken and Ham

The derivation of the word jambalaya is said to come from Spanish, French and African cultures. All three lay claim to the origins of this quintessential Creole concoction that combines chicken and seafood with rice and assorted seasonings. Use crawfish in place of the shrimp if you can find them. This recipe can easily be doubled to serve a crowd.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(6 Reviews) 6
6 of 6(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Jambalaya with Shrimp, Chicken and Ham
Review 1 for Jambalaya with Shrimp, Chicken and Ham
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LynnInWisc
,Milwaukee
,WI
Milwaukee WI
February 23, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Tasty and simple
February 23, 2013
Have made this several times and it always turns out great. Excellent flavor and it lends itself to substitution of whatever meat you prefer; we've used pheasant in place of chicken and sausage instead of ham. Leftovers are great and freeze well. Highly recommend.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Jambalaya with Shrimp, Chicken and Ham
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
mgioc
New York, NY
February 19, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for a New Orleans Feast
February 19, 2012
I used andouille sausage instead of ham and this was a hit for a dinner with friends. Served with a simple green salad. Delish!
Pros: Good Value, Easy, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Jambalaya with Shrimp, Chicken and Ham
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Speedtom
,AZ
October 1, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Yummy and would make again
October 1, 2011
I really enjoyed this dish as well as the other 3 persons eating it. I made some changes. Ommited the shrimp and ham and added smoked sausage. I made a jambalaya with chicken and sausage which was similar to this recipe for I could not find my original recipe which was a five star dish. Also I used 2 cups of rice, added more broth and cooked it in the oven. It was perfect. The next time around I'll make it with shrimp and sausage.
Pros: Easy, Adaptable
Cons: Texture
Review 4 for Jambalaya with Shrimp, Chicken and Ham
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KarenGA
New York City
March 12, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very simple and tasty
March 12, 2011
If you substitute paella (Spanish) rice for the long grain, this dish turns out not only tasty, but beautiful. It tastes even better the next day!
Review 5 for Jambalaya with Shrimp, Chicken and Ham
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
DDthecook
Orange County, CA
September 12, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Tastey but...
September 12, 2010
The recipe calls for too much chicken broth. I made this in the slow cooker, and the rice turn out to be mush. I would only add 1/2 the chicken broth that's recommended. Besides the mushy texture, the flavor was good.
Review 6 for Jambalaya with Shrimp, Chicken and Ham
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
katiesmom
louisville, ky
June 26, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
easy and good
June 26, 2010
This was good and easy to make for a week night. We each adjusted the spiciness with RedHot to our liking. The left overs taste even better the next day.