Italian Almond Tart

Almond paste is a mixture of finely ground blanched almonds, sugar and water that has been cooked until smooth. During the grinding process, the almonds release oils that enhance the aroma and flavor of the paste. Used in the making of many confections and baked goods, almond paste can be found in cans or plastic tubes in most well-stocked food stores. The canned variety tends to be moister, which makes working with it easier.
Average Customer Rating:
4.875 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
16 of 16(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Italian Almond Tart
Review 1 for Italian Almond Tart
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
gurmay
,Los Angeles
,CA
Sherman Oaks, CA
December 12, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:Over 10 people
Cooks:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
6of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
If you love the raspberry jam....
December 12, 2011
I learned this recipe many years ago from a great Danish cook. The only difference is, she sprinkles the almonds on the perimter of the tart, leaving the center open. When the tart has baked and cooled, she applies MORE raspberry jam in the center, then sprinkles the almonds with powdered sugar. Makes a great Holiday dessert!
Pros: Easy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Italian Almond Tart
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
aida26
,beverly hills
,ca
September 13, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
extremely good!
September 13, 2011
I highly recomended this recepie because the taste of the cake is so unique .
Review 3 for Italian Almond Tart
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MariMari
Athens, OH
August 26, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Presentation can be even more refined
August 26, 2011
I have made this tart about 8 times, for special occasions and gifts. My grandfather loved it so much he ate 2 pieces in a row in the middle of his chemotherapy sessions when he had almost no appetite for anything else.
I think it's great with plum, raspberry, and even ginger jams. I do, however, take the extra time and attention to carefully arrange the almonds in a spiral on top, like cobblestones in Rome. If you're going to spend hours baking, what's another 5 minutes to make it perfect?
Pros: Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Lengthy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 4 for Italian Almond Tart
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Middlemiss
Wyoming, MI
August 10, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect With Morning Coffee :)
August 10, 2011
This was such a fun tart to make! I had a little bit of trouble with the dough being really sticky, but it eventually gave in. I used homemade cherry preserves for the jam , which ended up being the perfect compliment for almonds. This tastes amazing with moring coffee!
Pros: Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Complicated
Review 5 for Italian Almond Tart
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jennifer3502
Florida
July 28, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great For The Holidays
July 28, 2011
A little lengthy, but easy to follow directions. Easy to mix it up with different preserves or none at all. Reminds me of marzipan. Everyone enjoyed it.
Pros: Appearance, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Cons: Lengthy, calories
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 6 for Italian Almond Tart
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
renoona
Seattle, WA
May 8, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious and Easy
May 8, 2011
This recipe is much easier than it looks. It's fancy but casual, and a great springtime dessert. I made this for the Mother's day brunch I put together, and made the almond paste and tart dough two days ahead and froze them both to save time. Worked out great!
I accidentally picked up strawberry jam instead of raspberry, and the flavors were perfectly delicious! I say, pick any jam you want to use. I WILL be making this again. :)
Pros: Easy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 7 for Italian Almond Tart
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JD9173
Minneapolis
November 26, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Crowd pleaser
November 26, 2010
Excellent dessert that everyone loves. It's easy to make and has a great presentation. My family asks me to make this on holidays!
Review 8 for Italian Almond Tart
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EnterSL
miami, fl
November 23, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
On Demand at Every Holiday Party
November 23, 2010
I made this last year for Thanksgiving and was begged to make it again for Christmas for different people. This year it is expected for at least one of the holidays. The caterer at a party I took it to last year approached me and congratulated me on it. (I wish I actually invented the recipe)
Over all VERY good and not so hard to make so long as you follow all directions. TRY and find the canned one; the tube takes FOREVER to beat till smooth.
Review 9 for Italian Almond Tart
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fineline
November 9, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
christmas tradition
November 9, 2010
absolutely the best almond tart recipe! The slight layer of raspberry jam is a perfect foil to the wonderful almond flavor.
Review 10 for Italian Almond Tart
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
vangogh
Houston, Texas
September 23, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy Fabulous Dessert
September 23, 2010
Don't let the list of ingredients intimidate you . This dessert was easy , turned out fabulous and tastes fantastic. A very showy dessert that guests will think you either spent hours on or bought from some fancy pastry chef!
Review 11 for Italian Almond Tart
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sharmila
Mansfield, MA
June 21, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for a Dinner party Dessert
June 21, 2010
Love this recipe. First time I made it for a dinner party everyone liked it very much; received good ravings. I personally love almond cookies and almond horse shoes at Whole foods… this was off the charts. The raspberry jelly adds a sweet touch it and blends in very well specially with coffee. I wish I made this before the dinner party( if I did it by the book and , I didn’t) but was afraid it won’t leave the house … This is a very easy to make. As the recipe call if you can find the can almond paste it will be easier to blend in so far I didn’t had any luck with that. Because the tube seems to be a little bit on the dry side; I also used the food processor worked well… great recipe… Love it… Love it…
Review 12 for Italian Almond Tart
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sweets95
NC
May 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Yummy and simple
May 14, 2010
I made this for Thanksgiving with raspberry jam and everyone loved it. Looks fancy even though easy to make.
Review 13 for Italian Almond Tart
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cwirla
Hacienda Heights, CA
May 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Dessert for Ladies Luncheon
May 14, 2010
The first time I made this was in 2003, the filling is great with the flavor of almond and the jam, I tend to use raspberry. It is a perfect spring time dessert, although can be made any time of the year.
Review 14 for Italian Almond Tart
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KirstenA
Allentown, PA
May 2, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious Tart
May 2, 2010
This was quick and easy to make. Absolutely delicious, a hit with everyone.
Review 15 for Italian Almond Tart
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ishtra
Ronkonkoma, NY
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good taste and not terrible complicated
April 30, 2010
I am a sucker for almonds, so this was a great recipe for me. I like to follow the instructions exactly on my first time making something, so I can tell if it isn't great, it wasn't b.c I went off the mark on my own.
Overall, a good recipe, not sure if I would change anything b/c it wasn't too difficult and the taste was great.
Review 16 for Italian Almond Tart
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bakerbird
Hewitt, NJ
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
great dessert for any meal
April 30, 2010
Love this recipe. Every year my daughter wants this for her birthday cake. She always wants the raspberry jam. Goes well with any meal and can be made ahead of time. Looks impressive without too much work.