Individual Chicken Potpies

Potpies are an excellent way to use up leftover roast chicken (see related recipes at right). Here, the potpies come together quickly because the recipe calls for store-bought puff pastry. Be sure to choose a good-quality brand that includes real butter, and keep the pastry frozen until ready to use.
Average Customer Rating:
4.636 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
10 of 11(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Individual Chicken Potpies
Review 1 for Individual Chicken Potpies
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cathleen
,Wilbraham
,Ma
Wilbraham, Ma
April 16, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great recipe!
April 16, 2013
I made this last night for dinner and we LOVED it! I poached chicken breasts in chicken stock and some fresh herbs then followed the rest of the recipe. Look forward to making it again!
Pros: Quick, Good Value, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Individual Chicken Potpies
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WineHouse
,Parker
,CO
November 7, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Yum Yum YUM! Now a pot pie fan!
November 7, 2011
This was great...my husband loves pot pies and I have to say I usually have not been a fan. These turned out great. I added a bit more thyme and also added red paper flakes and a bit of tabasco sauce for a little extra kick. Presentation was wonderful, smelled delicious and every last bit was gone!
Pros: Healthy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 3 for Individual Chicken Potpies
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
,Katy
,TX
November 1, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect recipe for chilly nights
November 1, 2011
I Love this recipe! I've cooked it quite a few times. It's hard to find a recipe that is kid friendly and this one definitely serves that purpose. Both of my young children always eat every spoonful they're served. The only alterations that I've made to the recipe is that I leave out the mushrooms and I use "butter" potatoes instead of "red-skinned". I also put the potatoes in at the same time as the onions, celery, and carrots to allow them to cook a bit longer. For the pastry tops, I use "Pepperidge Farm Puff Pastry Shells". You can find them in the freezer section of your grocery store. I let them thaw and then I smoosh and stretch them until they fit over the baking dishes. One word, "YUM"!
Pros: Yield, Good Value, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Healthy, Appearance, Adaptable, Will Make Again
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 4 for Individual Chicken Potpies
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
EsMachine
Santa Rosa
August 11, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:6 to 10 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Chicken potcobbler
August 11, 2011
Tasty but shouldn't a pie have a full crust? Chicken pot cobbler is more like it.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Appearance
Review 5 for Individual Chicken Potpies
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Cville
VA.
August 7, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Prestty but good not great
August 7, 2011
I am looking for the earth shattering "gotta-have-again" Chicken potpie. This was time consuming and although good, I would not make it again. I love to cook, and try new recipes. This one is not a keeper. The WS recipe that uses a pastry crust is the same recipe with the addition of demi-glace and sherry and I tried that one as well. Way to much work and just good, not great. I do like the appearance of this recipe vs. the other WS potpie with a pastry crust.
Pros: Appearance
Cons: Lengthy
Review 6 for Individual Chicken Potpies
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cooksloft
Venice Beach, CA
April 6, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Weeknight Dinner
April 6, 2011
This recipe is awesome. There is only two of us so I half the recipe and it works out to be a very nice looking dinner for two. I like that they are served individually. Especially nice when you want a comfort food evening!!
Pros: Good Value, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: a little time consuming
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 7 for Individual Chicken Potpies
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FamillyCook
Massachusetts
December 7, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy and Yummy!!!!
December 7, 2010
Very easy to make and the taste was amazing. I did add more chicken then was called for and I also did this in one long baking pan. Worked out perfect for a cold night meal.
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 8 for Individual Chicken Potpies
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
cloclo
Toronto Canada
September 27, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful meal
September 27, 2010
I must admit,this is a good chicken potpie.I might try to make it next time with less butter. Served it with a nice green salad with tomatoes and grated gruyere cheese.Taste good and look pretty as well.
Review 9 for Individual Chicken Potpies
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cakegirlnyc
New York, NY
May 26, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Pot Pie Recipe
May 26, 2010
Best pot pie recipe ever. I love that it's in individual portions. It freezes well also.
Review 10 for Individual Chicken Potpies
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Laura2
Kingston, MI
May 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comfort Food at it's Best
May 14, 2010
First time I made this, it became a family favorite. Seasonings for the filling are a perfect blend. I love my homemade pie crust, so that is what I used. I always make extra, fantastic warmed up the next day for lunch.
Review 11 for Individual Chicken Potpies
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DougD
Noblesville, IN
May 1, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Warms your soul
May 1, 2010
A one pot meal the entire family loves. Great meal on those cold winter nights. I would strongly suggest using home made chicken stock. The flavor enhancement is uncomparable.