Print

Williams-Sonoma Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Williams-Sonoma
Shop or
Choose a Category

Homemade Hamburger Buns

This recipe yields 12 standard-size hamburger buns or 36 petite ones that are just right for serving sliders.
Average Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(5 Reviews) 5
4 of 5(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Homemade Hamburger Buns
Review 1 for Homemade Hamburger Buns
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Halifax
,NS
January 15, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Nice burger bun, can easily be modified
January 15, 2016
This is a hamburger bun recipe that has become the gold standard at our house. It's very nice if you make it exactly as directed, but we have found it also works well with modifications: 2:1 white to whole wheat flour, reducing sugar by 1/3, using half milk and half water, adding spices, etc. The information about how to prepare the yeast and add it to the other ingredients should not be modified, however, as it works perfectly as directed. And sugar should not be omitted, or buns won't rise well. These buns tend to be on the small size, fitting a 5 or 6 ounce burger perfectly. If you make half-pound burgers, consider making only 10 buns from the recipe. And if you want rounder burger buns, just fold under the edges and smooth out when shaping.
Review 2 for Homemade Hamburger Buns
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Alexandria
,VA
December 29, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very yummy!
December 29, 2014
These buns were great! Very easy to make. I received a KitchenAid Mixer for the holidays and was looking for an easy recipe to make buns with. Usually I'll throw the ingredients into a bread maker, but that isn't feasible when only making 6 buns (I split the recipe in half). I cooked the butter too hot so I had to transfer it to a different bowl to cool off. They were thick but I look forward to having a new go-to for my veggie burgers!
Pros: Easy, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 3 for Homemade Hamburger Buns
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
September 10, 2014
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Looked Great, Tasted Bland
September 10, 2014
These buns turned out great looking, and based on the looks alone they would get 5 stars. It's not a big, light fluffy bun, but rather a flatter one with more substance and bite to it. The taste, however leaves something to be desired. They were very bland and flavorless, I prefer the flavor of the cheap $0.99 grocery store buns over these. I may try them again and see if I can find a way to add a bit of flavor or character to them, but otherwise they are a pass.
Pros: Easy, Healthy, Appearance
Cons: Taste, bland
Review 4 for Homemade Hamburger Buns
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,citra
,FL
January 15, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Made a good burger GREAT!
January 15, 2014
Easy to make and well worth the time. The buns are beautiful to look at and taste just as great. Will do again.
Pros: Easy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 5 for Homemade Hamburger Buns
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Cuernavaca
,Mo
June 11, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
perfect hamburger
June 11, 2013
Really nice recepie. Love to make homemade burgers to get off the box. Can creat alot of different stuff with it.
Pros: Appearance, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Cons: Unhealthy