Herbes de Provence Roast Turkey

During a trip to France in the 1960s, Chuck Williams discovered herbes de Provence and brought some back for his store, which was the first in this country to sell them. When Thanksgiving came around, he decided to feature this delicious herb blend for the holiday turkey. The recipe has been a Williams-Sonoma favorite ever since.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
9 of 9(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Herbes de Provence Roast Turkey
Review 1 for Herbes de Provence Roast Turkey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Marcela
,Fort Belvoir
,VA
February 28, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect Turkey
February 28, 2014
I looked up this recipe years ago, the first time I made a turkey by myself for a Thanksgiving dinner. It was a complete success. This has been my turkey recipe for Thanksgivings and Christmases ever since. The flavors of the Herbes de Provence are to die for.
Keep in mind that with so few ingredients, their quality will be even more important. I usually get a fresh organic turkey from Whole Foods the day I plan to cook it, or the day before if necessary. I think this makes all the difference in the flavor and juiciness of the end product. Enjoy!
Pros: Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Herbes de Provence Roast Turkey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Caya
November 23, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Can't have it any other way
November 23, 2012
I have been doing this recipe for the past 5-6 years and it's now a staple at my table and at that of many of my friends and family. It's amazing: flavorful, moist and incredibly delicious. The only addition to the recipe is that I brine the bird with a Herbes de Provence brine solution for 36 hours.
Pros: Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Herbes de Provence Roast Turkey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
reeltime
Studio City, CA
November 25, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Terrific result!
November 25, 2010
Our family has enjoyed this recipe-- this year will mark the third Thanksgiving in a row of preparing the bird in this manner. Outstanding taste.
Review 4 for Herbes de Provence Roast Turkey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TonySueB
Highland Park, IL
November 25, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Outstanding, Easy, Reliable
November 25, 2010
This is the perfect recipe for the begining turkey cooker or the 'seasoned' chef. It is simple and results in a delicious, moist and attractive bird. The flavor is unique but not an unexpected surprise or departure. The seasonning enhances the natural flavors of turkey and goes well with almost any accompanyment you could think to seerve with it.
Review 5 for Herbes de Provence Roast Turkey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ALJLR
South West, Florida
November 24, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Making again this year
November 24, 2010
Last year this turkey was the hit. Everyone loved the flavor and it stayed very moist. Can't wait to do it again this year. Thank you for keeping this recipe online!
Review 6 for Herbes de Provence Roast Turkey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SusaninMPLS
Minneapolis, MN
November 21, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Our Favorite Turkey Recipe
November 21, 2010
We are hosting Thanksgiving dinner this year and the Herbes de Provence Roast Turkey will be the star at our table. My husband and I agree that this is the best turkey preparation we have ever had -- we received great praise from our family as well. It is now our tradition. Thank you for keeping the recipe online for reference. Enjoy!
Review 7 for Herbes de Provence Roast Turkey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sugarfoot
Wilmington, NC
May 2, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent change of pace
May 2, 2010
We have turkey more than just for thanksgiving, Christmas & new year meals. If done correctly this is a moist & flavorfull main course. We like it w/ wild & brown rice or a harvest rice medley. Brussell sprouts or green bean almondine are great accompanments.
Review 8 for Herbes de Provence Roast Turkey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
babs2
Toms River, NJ
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Thanksgiving Favorite
April 30, 2010
This has become my family favorite recipe for our Thanksgiving turkey. We have brined, rotisseried, and roasted, but always come back to this recipe as our favorite, most flavorful, and easiest to prepare turkey dinner.
Review 9 for Herbes de Provence Roast Turkey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Krysia
San Diego, CA
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Lovely Thanksgiving Turkey
April 30, 2010
The turkey was simple to prepare and turned out very flavorful. I used the dry brine to prep the turkey and finished off with the herbes de provence. I also included other fresh herbs such as rosemary, thyme and sage in the cavity. This is now my go-to turkey recipe.