Green Chili Chicken Enchiladas

Queso anejo is an aged Mexican cheese with a somewhat salty taste. It is excellent for crumbling over foods, such as these enchiladas.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
7 of 7(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Green Chili Chicken Enchiladas
Review 1 for Green Chili Chicken Enchiladas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
citygirlincountry
August 5, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious!!!
August 5, 2012
A friend of mine who used to work at Williams-Sonoma told me she buys the chili verde by the case just to make this recipe so I had to try it. Well, these were delicious, I usually like to make everything from scratch but I know I will come back to this recipe and make them more in the future. I now know I will be stocking up on the chili verdes in my pantry so I can make this quickly.
Pros: Easy, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Green Chili Chicken Enchiladas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dakeeks
,New York
,NY
New York, NY
April 30, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Took some work but delicious
April 30, 2012
I used this recipe to make enchiladas for the first time. Could not find fresh tomatillos (in April) so used canned ones and worked out great. Used only 5 chillies (whole; not seeded) since I wanted it to be spicy but not too spicy (and I love spicy food). It did take more work than I thought but came out absolutely delicious!
Cons: Lengthy
Review 3 for Green Chili Chicken Enchiladas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Trndkill
Portland
August 6, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
7of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best enchiladas I've ever had...
August 6, 2011
I just registered here to say that these enchiladas are absolutely delicious and very easy to make. I stumbled across the recipe about a year ago and have made them probably a dozen times. Everyone I know that has eaten them agrees they are incredible.
That said you get a lot more flavor out of them if you actually cook the chicken properly... and since I love spice here is what I do. I use breast meat (way lower in fat than thighs and it tastes better, imo) with some white wine, olive oil, diced red onions, garlic, finely chopped habanero peppers and ground pepper. I let the meat marinade for at least an hour in that mixture, then dump the whole thing into a pan on high, then cover and drop down to medium low.
Then just do as the recipe says. I like taking some of the marinade out of the pan and adding it to each layer for an extra kick.
Regardless of how you do it though you absolutely cannot go wrong. Great, easy, delicious meal!
Review 4 for Green Chili Chicken Enchiladas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LaxMom
Vienna, VA
July 9, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful & Delicious
July 9, 2011
This is such an unexpected treat -- so easy to make & a fantastic weeknight meal or special Mexican theme supper for a hungry crowd. The chopped red onion & fresh cilantro on top make it absolutely beautiful to behold.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 5 for Green Chili Chicken Enchiladas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jfhm
April 9, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Outstanding and Fresh Tasting!
April 9, 2011
I love this recipe - I make it using the salsa verde recipe from this site and it is out of this world! Just double the salsa verde recipe and use in place of the chili verde starter.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Healthy, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 6 for Green Chili Chicken Enchiladas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GMM1
FL
March 20, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect meal!
March 20, 2011
LOVE this recipe! I was skeptical of the sauce, thinking that it wouldn't be very flavorful...boy, was I wrong! This is amazing. My only change that I would make would to not soften the tortillas...they came out a little too soft for my liking, but my husband said that it was one of his favorites! There's quite a bit of heat in the sauce too-yummy!
Review 7 for Green Chili Chicken Enchiladas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Inkgoddess
Scottsdale, AZ
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Favorite Weeknight Dinner!
April 30, 2010
Seriously yummy! This is a big favorite in our house! I save time by prepping the chicken ahead of time. The recipe comes together quickly (when the chicken is already done) and the scents, textures and flavors are awesome! It's a must try! I often get phone calls from parents asking for the recipe after their kids have had this for dinner at my house.