Gooey Cinnamon Rolls

There is quite possibly no better aroma than a pan of these big, puffy rolls baking in the oven, fragrant with cinnamon, brown sugar and orange zest.
Average Customer Rating:
3.25 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(4 Reviews) 4
2 of 4(50%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Gooey Cinnamon Rolls
Review 1 for Gooey Cinnamon Rolls
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Woodland Hills
,CA
August 8, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I get raves!
August 8, 2015
I read some of the other reviews and I had a very different experience. But I don't always make the recipe exactly as written.
I used orange zest only one time and it did not taste as good as it did without. I also was in a hurry last time and rolled out all of the dough all together (no separating into two pieces to roll), put on the butter and sugar mixture and then cut it. It worked out much better for me.
These are my most requested baking item - and I bake a lot.
Pros: Impressive
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 2 for Gooey Cinnamon Rolls
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
,Los Angeles
,CA
May 3, 2015
Ability level:Professional
Cooks for:Over 10 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Temperature is too hot!
May 3, 2015
As a Master Chef and Baker - yes two years in France and 4 years at Cornell the temperature is too high for cinnamon rolls, sugars burn and dough toughens at this high of a temperature. Bake them at 350 for 25 to thirty minutes and skip the egg wash.they will brown up nicely with out it. Also for a better filling use 1 cup packed light brown sugar, 1 TBL of cinnamon and a pinch of salt. Here's a tip. instead of spreading melted butter on the dough, spread softened butter with your fingers over the dough, the filling will stick better.
Pros: Yield, Easy, Appearance, Will Make Again
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 3 for Gooey Cinnamon Rolls
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
,Denver
,CO
April 8, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Disappointment
April 8, 2014
I've been waiting for a special occasion to make this for my family and it was so disappointing. I followed directions completely (didn't add additional flour). I'm a regular roll and bread baker. This dough turned out heavy and lacked flavor and the cinnamon orange filling didn't makeup for it. The combo of 400 degree oven and egg wash made the tops of my rolls a very dark brown (hard crusty) when there was still 10 minutes left. I hurried and covered with tin foil for for the rest of baking but it was too late. I wish I would have stuck to my normal recipe but the photo was to convincing, I had to try it. Once the frostings goes on it looks just like the photo but looks only get you so far.
Pros: Appearance
Cons: Texture, Taste
Review 4 for Gooey Cinnamon Rolls
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
,Seattle
,WA
Seattle, WA
February 6, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good, but not Great
February 6, 2013
This was my first attempt at cinnamon rolls and I wasn't that impressed. I even made the recipe twice, tweaking it a bit on round two and it still didn't wow me.
I think the issue was in the bread, not the filling. It had a rather bland taste. I understand that the filling is supposed to deliver the majority of the flavour, but even when I increased the intensity and volume of the filling, it still wasn't fantastic.
The frosting is great. I won't be making this again.
Pros: Yield, Appearance
Cons: Taste, Unhealthy
 
My Recommendations