Golden Mashed Potatoes with Leeks and Sour Cream

Whats the secret to smooth, velvety mashed potatoes? Start with the potato. Choose red or boiling potatoes for a creamy mash and russets for a ufer mash. Yukon Golds add a touch of sweetness and soft yellow color. Dont forget the potato ricer. Place unpeeled cooked potatoes in the ricer and press the handle for lump-free mashed potatoes.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
8 of 8(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Golden Mashed Potatoes with Leeks and Sour Cream
Review 1 for Golden Mashed Potatoes with Leeks and Sour Cream
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
logicalhenry
,Tamarac
,FL
November 30, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful flavor!
November 30, 2013
Great flavor with the mild Thanksgiving turkey. Not too oniony as leeks are more subtle. Worth the work of using a ricer!!
Pros: Will Make Again, flavorful!
Cons: ricer takes time
Review 2 for Golden Mashed Potatoes with Leeks and Sour Cream
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Yamamoto
,Oakland
,CA
November 1, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
4 year tradition
November 1, 2012
We've used this recipe for the last 4 years for our family thanksgiving, including our friends annual thanksgiving potluck as well. Its THAT good. Leeks are relatively inexpensive and sour cream costs nothing, but it adds such a nice touch, looks beautiful and tastes wonderful! If you're short on stove space - like i am - you can sautee the leeks the night before and refigerate. Its ready to go when the mashed potatoes are ready.
Pros: Yield, Good Value, Easy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Golden Mashed Potatoes with Leeks and Sour Cream
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Yummyyummy
January 20, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best comfort food!
January 20, 2012
This is now our Thanksgiving family favorite. Every time I make it, and I make this more than once a year I receive rave reviews and requests for the recipe. I accidentally added twice as much sour cream and it still tasted great. This is a fabulous recipe. Give it a try and you will be hooked.
Pros: Will Make Again
Review 4 for Golden Mashed Potatoes with Leeks and Sour Cream
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SimpleFoodie
Seattle, WA
November 26, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A solid mashed potato recipe
November 26, 2010
Creamy, fluffy and fattening - I went all out and used whole milk, whole sour cream and kerrygold butter. I would normally cut back/adjust the proportions to save some calories but wanted to make sure this turned out for Thanksgiving - and it did! If you want a risk free recipe mashed potato use this one, and if you're a garlic lover like me, add a few cloves/bulbs to the leeks.
Review 5 for Golden Mashed Potatoes with Leeks and Sour Cream
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TorontoChef
Toronto, ON
June 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Mashed Potato recipe EVER!
June 14, 2010
I thought this was amazing. The best I've ever had at home or at restaurants. I made it a little more figure friendly by using half the butter, and fat free sour cream and milk. It was rich, creamy and the leeks definitely added intense flavor.
These stand all on their own...no gravy required!
Review 6 for Golden Mashed Potatoes with Leeks and Sour Cream
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Donelle
Los Angeles, CA
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Thanksgiving made special
April 30, 2010
My family has always poured tons of sour cream and cream cheese into their mashed potatoes; but this past Thanksgiving I decided to mix it up and try these. I hadn't ever used leeks before but they were very easy to work with and taste delicious! They are on the pricey side but definitely worth every penny. My family adored them and many said they were the best mashed potatoes they'd ever had.
Review 7 for Golden Mashed Potatoes with Leeks and Sour Cream
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
scratchcook
Wichita Kansas
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Forget the gravy
April 30, 2010
I fixed these golden mashed potatoes exactly like the recipe was written to accompany the wild turkey we had gotten. The turkey was delicious, the gravy was delicious, but the potatoes could stand alone. They were yummy and did not require gravy to be better.
Our family loved them.
Review 8 for Golden Mashed Potatoes with Leeks and Sour Cream
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
johndeereman
Richmond, UT
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good mashed potato change of pace
April 30, 2010
This is another good change for mashed potatoes. Gives it a really nice flavor that most will love. Definately a good way to change up normal mashed potatoes.