Golden Broccoli Gratin

Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese and olive oil are combined with panko, the coarsely ground Japanese bread crumbs, to form a crisp, golden brown topping for this broccoli gratin.
Average Customer Rating:
4.625 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
14 of 16(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Golden Broccoli Gratin
Review 1 for Golden Broccoli Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
advancr
Medford, OR
November 23, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious!
November 23, 2013
I have made this gratin for the last few years and it always is a hit with my guests.
Review 2 for Golden Broccoli Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mommadonna
,Glen Allen
,VA
September 23, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
family hit
September 23, 2013
My family loved this. It was a bit labor intensive, but worth it. In reading other reviews, I decided to add garlic and hot pepper flakes to the sauce. I will make this again.
Pros: Will Make Again
Review 3 for Golden Broccoli Gratin
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
MomOSquish
,NC
NC
July 19, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Blahblahblah
July 19, 2012
I was surprised at how blah this dish was. So disappointing! I made the recipe as stated, but I used two (dried) bay leaves. They did lend a nice flavor, but it was creamy with a touch of bay... and that's it. It makes no sense, I agree. Personally, I'd try something else for dinner.
Cons: Taste
Review 4 for Golden Broccoli Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Always220
March 15, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Broccoli Gratin
March 15, 2012
I have never had gratin before and this was a very well done dish. I made salmon and a salad to go with it but honestly just the salad would have been fine. This dish can stand by itself as a main course but I would reduce the ingredients amount because just a little bit goes a long way.
Review 5 for Golden Broccoli Gratin
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Brownie29
March 5, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Disappointing
March 5, 2012
This was the 1st time i've been disappointed in a WS recipe rated 5 stars. Yes it was cheesy and crispy and good in that regard, but the taste was very bland. I see some people added red pepper flakes but even then I will not be making this again. We ended up eating a small portion of it and threw the rest out-always frustrating. If I'm going to eat something this unhealthy, I'd at least like to feel that the calories are worth it! I feel there are many better recipes for broccoli gratin/casseroles out there.
Cons: Taste, Unhealthy
Review 6 for Golden Broccoli Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
,Minot
,ND
November 1, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfectly delicious!
November 1, 2011
I found this to be the best gratin vegetable dish I have ever made or tasted. Our entire family loved it. Very creamy, with just the right blend of flavors.
Pros: Impressive
Review 7 for Golden Broccoli Gratin
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
katarat
October 5, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great recipe
October 5, 2011
Great recipe and very easy. Forgot to buy Gruyere so I had to use sharp cheddar, which was excellent and worked fine. Very good warmed up the next day. I like that it did not need heavy cream or a large amount of butter, as gratins often do.
Pros: Easy, Kid-Friendly, Healthy
Review 8 for Golden Broccoli Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RebeccaAR
Virginia
June 14, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious mix of broccoli and two cheeses
June 14, 2011
I love this recipe and serve it every chance I get. It's a delicious mix of textures and flavors. It's filling as a small meal all by itself.
Review 9 for Golden Broccoli Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bham
May 10, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious and easy!
May 10, 2011
This dish came out fantastic. Possibly the best broccoli gratin I've had. I followed the recipe verbatim with the exception of adding a little heat/spice to taste and while it was a bit time consuming for a weeknight meal, it was easy. Plus, the leftovers tasted great the next day.
Review 10 for Golden Broccoli Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
stjinnova
fairfax, va
January 20, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious!
January 20, 2011
I served this as a vegetarian entree with corn muffins (on epicurious, search for corn muffins with green onions) and balsamic glazed cherry tomatoes (from Deborah Madison's fine book Vegetarian Cooking for Everyone).
Everyone thought it was just outstanding! My carnivore husband, too. So satisfying and warm and yummy.
I made a couple of minor edits: precooked the broccoli in the microwave, and cooked the sauce in a large All-Clad braiser pan. I then folded the broccoli into the sauce right in the pan and baked it in the same pan. Easy easy!
Review 11 for Golden Broccoli Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chicky
Alabama
December 27, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Holiday excellence!
December 27, 2010
This dish is SO good! My husband, the carnivore, raved over it. It was a perfect Christmas dinner dish and the family loved it.
I cooked it in a cast iron skillet, so it went from stove to oven with ease.
Also, you do need to have a speaking acquaintance with the roux, because the first step is to make one. It's not a difficult dish -- just fiddly. However, the results are completely worth it. I also added a few red pepper flakes to the sauce, for added color and a little kick. Maybe 1/2 teaspoon. And do make sure you add enough salt.
This dish is enough to make even the most dedicated broccoli haters reconsider their opinion!
Review 12 for Golden Broccoli Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rubybegonia51
Washington, DC
December 24, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great side dish
December 24, 2010
This dish is upscale restaurant quality. Whole family loves it. Served for Thanksgiving and Christmas.
Review 13 for Golden Broccoli Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TammyB
Wisconsin
October 28, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great dish!
October 28, 2010
I made this for supper recently and it was a big hit. I would recommend it for anyone - the extra $ spent on cheeses was worth it!
Review 14 for Golden Broccoli Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
chelgov
Austin, TX
October 18, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great dish
October 18, 2010
Great tasting dish. The receipe was easy to follow, did some prep work earlier in the day so I just had to put it together closer to dinner time. I was testing the receipe for an alternative veg for Thanksgiving and my husband gave it a big thumbs up. I've found with other WS recipes the suggested pan is not big enough for all the ingredients but this one worked. Used the suggested 10in fry pan. Try this you wont be disappointed.
Review 15 for Golden Broccoli Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bita
Waynesboro, Pa
September 23, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious, Worth the time to prepare
September 23, 2010
Directions are clear and easy to make. Husband enjoyed very much. Planing to cook this recipe for Thanksgiving. I baked in a deep pie dish.
Review 16 for Golden Broccoli Gratin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LuvinCookin
Nashville, TN
May 7, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+15points
16of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
New Family Favorite
May 7, 2010
This broccoli gratin has become a family favorite when our grown kids come home. I've even lightened it somewhat with low-fat ingredients and it's still great.