Gino Cofacci's Chocolate Rum Cheesecake

Gino Cofacci (a longtime friend of Chuck Williams) and James Beard used to cook up a storm together, and this cake was a favorite of theirs. Gino made it for years for several very good restaurants in New York City. Don't worry if, after baking, the center of the cake appears underset. It will firm up as it cools.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(6 Reviews) 6
6 of 6(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Gino Cofacci's Chocolate Rum Cheesecake
Review 1 for Gino Cofacci's Chocolate Rum Cheesecake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
melspot
,Littleton
,CO
May 25, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
easy, and always a hit!!
May 25, 2013
I have been making this cheesecake for about 25 years, ever since I clipped the recipe from the WS catalog, it is still the original format too, taped to a recipe card. Every time I make it for guests they just love it. Very easy to make. Wonderful!!
Review 2 for Gino Cofacci's Chocolate Rum Cheesecake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
scan
,Madison
,WI
Madison, WI
October 2, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious & easy
October 2, 2011
made this about 5 times and a hit everytime. its easy and always looks professional. perfect with or without the alcohol.
Pros: Easy, Impressive
Review 3 for Gino Cofacci's Chocolate Rum Cheesecake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LadyLuck206
Seattle
February 28, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
simple, tasty, and beautiful
February 28, 2011
Well, I couldn't find my mixer, so I nuked the cream cheese for about 2 minutes, still held its form but was easy to beat with a whisk afterward... and then I skipped the double boiler portions. I used really good quality vanilla and bakers chocolate, but the rum was not amazing. Despite these little tweaks... the cake turned out amazing (although not much rum flavor, probably because it wasn't great rum).
I did think that leaving so much of the batter out before mixing chocolate in was "off" it looked brown when I poured it over the top of the chocolate mix... so I melted a little more chocolate and mixed with rum on the stove top.... drizzled over the cake and made swirls with a fork before baking - perfect. Also - I had a 10 inch spring form instead ofa 9 - just double the crust recipe and keep everything else the same.
Turned out perfect!
Review 4 for Gino Cofacci's Chocolate Rum Cheesecake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Evka
Naperville, IL
August 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The best I ever made
August 30, 2010
This recipe is great and everyone loves the cheesecake. I folloved the recipe exactly and it was perfect. Than, I tryied using a convection baking, and the cheese filling was done before the crust. It tasted good, but the crust was falling a part. Now, I use just regular baking and follow the directions exactly. Even friends that claimed not to like cheesecake liked it
Review 5 for Gino Cofacci's Chocolate Rum Cheesecake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mlm3
Pittsburgh, PA
June 15, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Dinner party perfection!
June 15, 2010
I have never made a cheesecake before in my life, but this recipe was incredibly easy and delicious! I used cherry-flavored rum that I had in the house, and it was amazing! I think next time I would melt the baking chocolate and rum in a double-boiler, as it would be less likely to burn. I also had to use more rum than stated in the recipe to get the chocolate really smooth. Fortunately, the rum flavor was not overpowering, maybe because it was flavored.
Review 6 for Gino Cofacci's Chocolate Rum Cheesecake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Burbank, CA
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Outstanding!!!
April 30, 2010
Decadent & delicious, my friends now request that I bring this chocolate rum cheesecake to potlucks. The directions are simple to follow & the results are great! This recipe also works well for mini-cheesecakes.....just lower the cooking temp to 300 & set the timer for 23-25 minutes. It's a surefire hit at parties!