Garden Lasagna

To create this lasagna, we turned to the garden for inspiration, layering the dish with fresh spinach, cremini mushrooms and bell peppers, plus three types of cheeses for richness. No-boil lasagna noodles streamline preparation.
Average Customer Rating:
4.368 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
17 of 19(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Garden Lasagna
Review 1 for Garden Lasagna
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Marnster
,Fergus
,ON
May 8, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Absolutely worth it A++
May 8, 2013
Read all the reviews before I started as for whatever reason can't seem to make a decent lasagna The reviews helped. I recommend pesto from jar and blend with spinach-adds veggies. Lot of steps but worth it if you have the time. I didn't this time. I added a jar of tomatoe sauce didn't add the milk . Made it for the working staff -all hungry men and they all loved it. Pesto was key on this.
Pros: Yield, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Cons: Lengthy
Review 2 for Garden Lasagna
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
UpperPeninsulaJoe
,Hancock
,MI
Hancock, MI
March 13, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Disappointingly Bland
March 13, 2013
This recipe looks really good and the lasagna came out of the oven beautifully...just like pictured. But the flavor is disappointingly bland. It's especially disappointing when you realize you used up a weekend afternoon for this many-stepped recipe. I'm usually very pleased with Williams-Sonoma recipes. But for a lasagna recipe that takes this much effort to prepare, there's got to be something more tasty out there. Any lasagna recipe recommendations from my fellow cooks out there?
Cons: Complicated, Taste, Lengthy
Review 3 for Garden Lasagna
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
joycec123
December 23, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Doesn't live up to its name
December 23, 2011
I' ve tried this recipe twice now and cut way back the second time on the milk and cheese. IT still just doesn't work... the garden flavors are lost. Sorry, but Can't reommend this recipe.
Review 4 for Garden Lasagna
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
WillWork4Food
,Brooklyn
,NY
October 24, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good, but....
October 24, 2011
...I felt the dish was waaaay too cheesy for my me and my family. Don't get me wrong, I love cheese, but the Ricotta was way too overwhelming in this dish. I would've put in less ricotta or more noodles and blanched spinach. We added a small about of chopped sausage and that tasted pretty decent.
I felt there were too many components, but I guess thats what you get for cooking from scratch. Next time, I would use a jar of Basil Pesto instead of making their Basil Spinach mix.
Add some tomato sauce to the mix and it tastes even better IMO.
Pros: Easy, Appearance, Adaptable
Cons: Unhealthy, Lengthy, too cheesy
Review 5 for Garden Lasagna
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
foodluvr
,Atlanta
,GA
October 11, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent recipe!
October 11, 2011
I made this for a dinner party and it was a hit!! Definitely do not let the number of steps in this recipe deter from making it. My steak and baked potato loving husband raved about the dish. You will not miss the meat. The dish had a ton of flavor and looked and tasted like it could easily be a featured dish at Carrabba's or Maggiono's. Love, love, love this recipe.
Pros: Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Lengthy
Review 6 for Garden Lasagna
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
PMartin
Waukesha, WI
August 29, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Lovely lasagna
August 29, 2011
This was really good. It's a bit time-consuming, but it's definitely worth it from time to time. We loved the basil-spinach white sauce; it has a fantastic flavor. I used slightly under 3 cups of milk, and it was thick enough after sitting for a bit. I also used less oil in the basil spinach puree going for more of a chopped texture rather than a puree. I also used regular lasagna noodles and made a traditionally layered dish. I would have liked more spinach for the layers, too. I already have plenty of ideas for variations. You won't miss the meat in this flavorful lasagna.
Pros: Yield, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 7 for Garden Lasagna
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SherriCT
Winchester, CT
May 31, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:6 to 10 people
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Vegetarian's Dream
May 31, 2011
Tried this recipe for the first time for the ultimate critic - my vegetarian brother-in-law. He loved it, and so did all the non-vegetarians. I had read the other reviews before trying this recipe, and noted that a couple mentioned that they thought the 3 cups of milk were too much, so they cut the amount. I stuck with the 3 cups and just kept the sauce on the stove a little longer so that it got a little thicker. That worked perfectly. The recipe is a bit involved, but was worth it once we got to sit down and eat it. The balance of basil and spinach was just right, and the roasted peppers really stood out. I did add double the shallots and garlic, and also sliced and sauteed onions to the veggie filling. Delicious! I would like to try this recipe again using different veggies because the recipe seems like it would lend itself well to others varieties. It is time-consuming, so for me it was best saving it for a weekend meal.
Pros: Impressive, Will Make Again, a different spin on the usual lasagna
Review 8 for Garden Lasagna
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
anniect
connecticut
May 23, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Didn't even miss the meat
May 23, 2011
This is one of the best lasagnas that I have ever had. I am not a fan of the traditional heavy pasta, meat, cheese versions anyway. This version is lighter, tasty and very satisfying. Even my meat-loving guys gave it an Excellent.
Pros: Healthy, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 9 for Garden Lasagna
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TXLeslie
The Woodlands,TX
May 21, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Worthy for a Company Dinner
May 21, 2011
This is an outstanding lasagna. I did make it in 2 smaller casseroles and froze one (worked beautifully) and used baby portobella mushrooms, as crimini weren't available at my store. I was afraid the sauce would be too much pesto-y, but after cooking, the flavors blended beautifully.Definitely a keeper here!
Pros: Impressive, Will Make Again, can add other veggies
Cons: Lengthy
Review 10 for Garden Lasagna
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
court61511
May 17, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome Lasagna!
May 17, 2011
I always know I have found a keeper/winner when my parents are happy with a new recipe. They both really liked this lasagna and I fully agreed. It is really tasty and warms up wonderfully. It may be a long preparation but it is well worth the work. The only thing I will do differently next time is try cutting down to 2 cups of milk.
Pros: Yield, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 11 for Garden Lasagna
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DAnn
Italy
April 27, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fabulous Veggie Lasagna
April 27, 2011
Despite being time consuming, the recipe is actually pretty simple and easy to follow. I made just two alterations: 1. I followed another reviewers recommendation and cut the milk down to 2 cups, 2. I put the lasagna into two 1 1/2 quart casseroles instead of a 3 1/2 quart casserole/dutch oven. I have a small family (just me, my husband and my son), so by splitting it into two lasagnas I can freeze the second and have it on hand for a quick weeknight meal sometime. And I cannot say enough about how great this lasagna made my house smell! A yummy recipe for all the senses :)
Pros: Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Lengthy
Review 12 for Garden Lasagna
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Borzoi
Valley City OH
April 26, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
company dish
April 26, 2011
Time consuming but worth it. I rewrote the directions before starting to make it easier to follow and to cut the recipe in half. Veggie lasagnas are not my cup of tea, but our guests including a 5 year old loved it and asked to take the rest home. It's a "keeper".
Pros: Healthy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Lengthy
Review 13 for Garden Lasagna
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Astero
Potomac, MD
April 17, 2011
Ability level:Professional
Cooks for:6 to 10 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazing Lasagna
April 17, 2011
Best Sunday afternoon I spent making this dish. Everyone in the family loved it. The combination of the vegetables and the herbs were delicious. And I would recommend not to puree the vegetables and basil but to finely chop them instead. Williams-Sonoma is my winning resource for recipes!
Pros: Healthy, Will Make Again
Review 14 for Garden Lasagna
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
austinchef
austin, tx
April 2, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
wow! (which is too short a tittle)
April 2, 2011
As others noted, this takes a lot of bowls and revisiting the directions, but it's the best lasagna -- veggie or meat -- I've ever had! I used matchstick carrots instead of mushrooms and a blend of cheeses (about 2 c asiago, 1/2 c parmesan and 2 c mozzarella) for the mozzarella.
Pros: Adaptable, Will Make Again, delicious
Cons: Complicated, Lengthy
Review 15 for Garden Lasagna
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rockincook
Shawnee, Ks
April 1, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fresh flavors make this a delicious lasagna
April 1, 2011
I absolutely loved all the fresh flavors in this recipe!! Great for Spring cooking. I have always loved to cook but I am just now getting into more technical recipes. This one is definitely lengthy and has numerous techniques. But the outcome is awesome and worth the work!! I will definitely make this again. YUMMY!!!
Pros: Impressive, Will Make Again, fresh flavors
Cons: Lengthy
Review 16 for Garden Lasagna
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MissBuffie
Arlington, VA
March 30, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great dish - with some alterations
March 30, 2011
Hi: My guests loved this dish. I did, however, made a few alterations and would recommend a few more. My alterations: peel and mash one bulb of garlic instead of smaller amount, add an onion with the mushrooms, and add 12 oz. of homemade pesto to the ricotta. The next time I make this dish it I will also cut back to 1.5- 2 cups of milk for the sauce instead of 3 cups because it was too runny; add 1/2 cup of shallots for the sauce instead of 1/4 cup; and more carefully chop spinach to better incorporate it (as suggested by another reviewer) with the other veggies. I would also rewrite the recipe to say near the top you will need to have 5 large bowls ready for the various components.
Pros: Yield, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again, fun to make, hearty & delicious
Cons: Lengthy
Review 17 for Garden Lasagna
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
mugasmom
Phoenix, AZ
March 27, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great flavors!
March 27, 2011
Although this dish is time consuming, it's well worth the effort. Two things I'll do differently next time - lightly chop the blanched spinach to make it easier to incorporate with the other veggies; and second, don't use the no-boil lasagna noodles! There is simply no substitute for the real thing.
Pros: Yield, Appearance, Will Make Again
Cons: Complicated, Lengthy
Review 18 for Garden Lasagna
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Zoe2
Nashville
March 26, 2011
Ability level:Professional
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Yummiest Lasagne!!!
March 26, 2011
Is it possible to give 6 stars? This lasagna was fantastic. My whole family loved it including my 3 year old. It is a little time consuming but well worth it especially for a special occasion like a birthday. This is staying in my repertoire.
Review 19 for Garden Lasagna
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
elauren517
Clarksville, TN
March 25, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious!
March 25, 2011
Very time consuming with the blending and mixing of different ingredients in different bowls, but an overall delicious end product! A very tasty departure from your normal lasagna, a must-try for a day you just want to get in the kitchen and cook!
Pros: Healthy, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Cost, Lengthy