French Toast with Caramelized Bananas

Cooks in many countries use the same method for reviving day-old bread: they dip it in eggs and milk or cream and then quickly panfry it. Our contemporary French toast is a descendant of pain perdu (literally "lost bread"), popularized in the kitchens of New Orleans. This luscious version is topped with caramelized bananas.
Average Customer Rating:
4.2 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(5 Reviews) 5
4 of 5(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for French Toast with Caramelized Bananas
Review 1 for French Toast with Caramelized Bananas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mousemama
,Spanaway
,WA
Washington State
April 29, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
It was really scrumptious!
April 29, 2012
I made this on a Sunday morning and it was easy, though I did not follow the recipe for the French Toast exactly (no orange), I did finish it up by putting it in the oven, something I have never done but will from now on. The Bananas were simply said delicious and the perfect match for the French Toast. I loved it and I will make it again. It is important to note that the Bananas will get very soft and any unnecessary turning or stirring should be avoided to not end up with a pile of mush.
Pros: Quick, Good Value, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 2 for French Toast with Caramelized Bananas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LuvWilliamsSonoma
,Philadelphia
,PA
PA
December 28, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastic Recipe!
December 28, 2011
We absolutely loved this. We like bananas so that might be part of why we enjoyed it so much. I'm sure it would be good with other fruits but I plan to stick with the bananas. I highly recommend this recipe. It really stepped up the french toast a notch! It made a very "fancy" presentation.
Pros: Easy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 3 for French Toast with Caramelized Bananas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Julie330
Pittsburgh, PA
October 7, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Super Sunday Brunch
October 7, 2010
I'm not a huge banana fan, so I used apples, peaches, and a little mango instead. It turned out great!! I think the bananas might make things too mushy, as said by one reviewer, but using multiple fruits (and ones that have a firmer texture) definitely prevented this from happening.
I've made this for my family and my boyfriend and both times it's turned out to be a great him
Review 4 for French Toast with Caramelized Bananas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Trav
hawaii
August 8, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
-4points
0of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Keep it simple
August 8, 2010
Very messy and mushy, way too much going on, just keep it simple.
Review 5 for French Toast with Caramelized Bananas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mama2Princesses
Minneapolis, MN
June 21, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
We love breakfast!
June 21, 2010
My family loves breakfast food and often will request pancakes or french toast for dinner. I made these one night for dinner and we all enjoyed them.