French Onion Soup

This soup's success depends on caramelizing the onions and leeks, a technique that takes time and patience. Caramelization occurs when the sugars naturally present in a vegetable slowly develop a less purely sweet, more complex flavor through long cooking over medium-low or medium heat. Adding a sprinkling of sugar encourages the caramelizing process.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(4 Reviews) 4
4 of 4(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for French Onion Soup
Review 1 for French Onion Soup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ChristinaTSC
Ridgefield, WA
November 7, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastic Every Time
November 7, 2010
I've made this soup so many times I can't even keep track anymore. Every time it turns out perfect! I love having the slices of baguette on top with the melted cheese (instead of a big ol' cruton). You can never go wrong with a William-Sonoma recipie.
Review 2 for French Onion Soup
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
NickSF
San Francisco Bay Area, CA
June 16, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
7of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Some variations on this theme.
June 16, 2010
If you want to prepare this the traditional way it is made in France, you will want to caramelize down at least 3 times. It will take longer, but it will make a big difference (longer, more complex chains of sugars add depth).
For authentic flavor, go easy on the amount of cheese (it will mask the delicate and complex flavor you worked so hard to create).
A rustic touch popular in rural France in the 1800's: pour a little red wine into the soup, and have a round loaf of bread nearby. Bon app!
Review 3 for French Onion Soup
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
hody
Staten Island, NY
May 1, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
delicious classic flavor
May 1, 2010
One of our new family favorites. I like to make sure the onions are well carmelized first, so do not salt the onions until they have good color.
Review 4 for French Onion Soup
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
appetizzer
Fresno, California
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Simple Fare That Wows
April 30, 2010
This is a favorite classic recipe I've made many times. But this version is the best because of the addition of the leeks and garlic. The flavors blend so well. I like the gruyere cheese the best. It seems to bring out the soup flavor so perfedtly. This with a salad dressed with lemon vinaigrette is a wonderful meal that is inexepensive yet looks like you put special effort into it.