Flourless Chocolate Torte

For best results when beating egg whites, start with a spotlessly clean bowl and beater. Any grease or fat, including egg yolk, will prevent the whites from expanding to their full volume. Do not overbeat or they will become clumpy and grainy, and the torte won't rise as successfully. Gently fold the beaten egg whites into the batter to prevent them from deflating.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
8 of 8(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Flourless Chocolate Torte
Review 1 for Flourless Chocolate Torte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LibertyBell
August 26, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect recipe!
August 26, 2011
I made this for my mom's birthday yesterday. It was easy to make and it turned out perfectly! Decadent and fudgy like a brownie, not too sweet. The glaze was flawlessly silky and delicious as well. Once the glaze is poured on, you can leave it as it is, or you can dress it up with raspberries and whipped cream on top!
For the torte itself I used chocolate with almonds, giving it a subtle nutty flavor. I used a greased and cocoa-dusted 8" round cake pan without parchment paper, and it was perfect after 35 minutes at 300 on the bottom rack.
Remember to invert the torte onto the serving plate and thoroughly chill it (leave it upside down) before glazing it. Also, start making the glaze after chilling the torte, so you have warm glaze pouring over a cold torte.
Thank you so much for this amazing recipe. Finding a gluten-free, guiltless dessert for special days is no longer a problem! :)
Pros: Yield, Good Value, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again, gluten free, just a small piece satisfies
Cons: Lengthy
Review 2 for Flourless Chocolate Torte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
choclatelover123
August 7, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
quick chocolate craving sovler
August 7, 2011
I love this recipe! I've been using it for a year now with no problems!!! It's simple yet delicious!:)
Pros: Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Flourless Chocolate Torte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DeniseOC
Hamilton, Canada
February 6, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
hits all the right notes
February 6, 2011
This flourless chocolate torte was easy to make and hit all the right flavour notes. The chocolate was intense but it was nicely counterbalanced by the lightness of the beaten egg whites. It was a big hit. I used a 10" springform heart pan. It served 16 or so. I would check it after 35 minutes for the appropriate moistness. I got it out of oven just in time.
Review 4 for Flourless Chocolate Torte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
iheartdessert
Las Vegas, NV
December 2, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My favorite chocolate indulgence
December 2, 2010
I've been making this dessert for many years and it's extremely easy, but looks difficult to make. I'm a chocolate lover and this definitely satisfies my chocolate craving. It's really yummy with fresh raspberries or a homemade raspberry sauce!
Review 5 for Flourless Chocolate Torte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rcwood
East Bay in Northern California
September 24, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect Dessert for Company
September 24, 2010
This sophisticated, sinfully chocolaty rich dessert is the perfect ending to a special dinner. It must be made ahead and chilled, so it leaves you plenty of time to cook the rest of your meal. Decorate with mint leaves, raspberries and whipped cream, and you will get rave reviews!
Review 6 for Flourless Chocolate Torte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
theaccidentalcook
Shawnee, OK
May 1, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
For those who love chocolate
May 1, 2010
Easy, but looks so elegant when served. The true taste of chocolate - not too sweet --not too rich. Perfect ending to a a special dinner. Serve with "real" whipped creme only!
Review 7 for Flourless Chocolate Torte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jsdarnold
San Antonio, TX
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Our Family Treat
April 30, 2010
I have Celiac Disease and am thus very difficult to bake for. My mother-in-law was given this recipe by one of her friends and tried it out at our next family gathering. It immediately became a family favorite as it was "legal" for the side of my family with gluten sensitivity and incredibly indulgent for even the staunchest gluten lover. We all call it "Maureen's Truffle Torte" but we are grateful to the culinary geniuses at W&S for sharing the secret!
Review 8 for Flourless Chocolate Torte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CRos
Lake Tahoe, CA
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Gluten Free & Delicious!!
April 30, 2010
In the last few years, a number of my friends have been diagnosed with celiacs disease or gluten intolerance. As a baker, I have been challenged with finding recipes that are BOTH gluten free and delicious. This recipe definitely fits the bill.
The torte is everything you want when you are craving chocolate; rich, sweet but not too much, dense, and intense. The lack of flour intensifies the chocolate experience, so one torte can feed a lot of people.
This is my go-to recipe for my gluten-free friends and the best part is that everyone loves it.