Fish with Olives, Pine Nuts, Basil and Wine

The bright fruit and moderately rich texture of a French Chardonnay harmonize magnificently with this Mediterranean dish. Search for a wine with a pungency similar to that of the olives and enough assertiveness to balance with the basil. If artichokes are in season, 2 artichoke hearts, steamed, sliced and sauteed in olive oil, can be added with the olives. The same wine can still be served. Dependable: French Chardonnay. Daring: bright Italian white, such as Soave.
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(4 Reviews) 4
4 of 4(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Fish with Olives, Pine Nuts, Basil and Wine
Review 1 for Fish with Olives, Pine Nuts, Basil and Wine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
orangellama
,San Jose
,CA
San Jose, CA
May 29, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Standout dish!!
May 29, 2012
I have made this numerous times, and it has become the favorite fish dish of my boyfriend and I. We usually use halibut or tilapia, and kalamata olives. I serve the fish over a bed of sauteed kale and spoon the sauce over all. A great dish to make for company because it's simple to prepare, while looking and tasting like it's from a restaurant that would charge an arm and a leg for it.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Fish with Olives, Pine Nuts, Basil and Wine
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ItalianSoul
February 23, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Restaurant Quality
February 23, 2012
This recipe is tasty and rather easy to make. We used Spanish olives. We paired it with WS Polenta Puttanesca and some spinach. It tasted like a meal we could order at a nice Italian restaurant. I'll keep this one in the mix to use again down the road.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Appearance, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Fish with Olives, Pine Nuts, Basil and Wine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
foodnfashion
March 25, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Simple with fancy flavor
March 25, 2011
Great dish. Simple and quick to make, but had full flavor. Have even done with flounder fillets and kalamata olives-still excellent.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Healthy, Will Make Again
Review 4 for Fish with Olives, Pine Nuts, Basil and Wine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NickSF
San Francisco Bay Area, CA
May 31, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
You will love this dish.
May 31, 2010
Made this several times with halibut, or cod -- both are really great. Even without pine nuts, the dish stands out. Rinse the olives, or let them sit in water for 10 min to wash off the brine.
A nice Riesling pairs well with this. Daring as it may sound, you can try a slightly chilled Pinot Noir.
If you plate this nicely, your guests will think they are eating at a 4-star resto.