Fettuccine Alfredo

The success of this Roman dish depends on first-rate ingredients. If you can find an unsalted European-style butter, such as Plugra (widely available at gourmet groceries), use it here. It has a richer flavor and a lower water content than everyday brands. For the best taste, seek out heavy cream that is not ultrapasteurized. When you buy a chunk of Parmigiano-Reggiano, ask the clerk to cut a wedge fresh from the wheel to make sure it is not too dried out. In Italy, this luxurious dish is served in small portions as a first course. Try it before a simple main dish of poached or baked fish or grilled meat.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
8 of 8(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Fettuccine Alfredo
Review 1 for Fettuccine Alfredo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DaveinDestin
,Destin
,FL
Destin, Fl
February 12, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Unbelievable!
February 12, 2015
I love Alfredo and have had it in some amazing restaurants that sometimes were fantastic and sometimes were "artistically altered." The original is the best. I've tried to make it maybe 30 times and never got the taste just right. This is it. And so simple. It makes sense that perfect would be simple. I think the butter requirement is the key. I had some NZ butter that worked fine. The only change I made was I added some whole peppercorns in the original butter/cream cook and then some cracked pepper towards the end. But I'm a pepper-aholic. and I used 2/3 cream and 1/3 whole milk just to lighten it a bit. And I added shaved parmesan to taste rather than measure. I'll use this for a sauce for veggies, too. Slab cauliflower seared in butter Alfredo?
Pros: Easy, Appearance, Impressive, Authentic
Cons: Unhealthy
Review 2 for Fettuccine Alfredo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chazx
,Anchorage
,AK
January 31, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Extraordinary Excellence
January 31, 2015
This was unbelievably delicious...and very quick to make. The sauce was creamy and smooth. Using the cheese mentioned in this recipe, was well worth the cost to get the results that I achieved. I could never achieve these results using parmesan as called for in other recipes. If you want to impress, whether family or guest...this authentic recipe will give you restaruant quality, that will not disappoint. Enjoy!
Pros: Quick, Easy, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Unhealthy
Review 3 for Fettuccine Alfredo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ChantillyChef
,Chantilly
,VA
December 31, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect alfredo sauce
December 31, 2014
This recipe is perfect. The sauce is rich and creamy and velvety smooth. I highly recommend following the directions and investing in quality ingredients. I've made it with the good stuff and the cheap stuff...and there is a world of difference. If you are an alfredo fan, this will not disappoint.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Cost, Unhealthy
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 4 for Fettuccine Alfredo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LisaMaria
,SC
September 5, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So warm, so rich!
September 5, 2014
My husband and I tried this the other evening-his first taste of Fettucine Alfredo. It was warm, it was rich, it was heavenly.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 5 for Fettuccine Alfredo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RWALL
,St. James
,NC
St. James, North Carolina
January 24, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Simple, luscious; a real crowd pleaser
January 24, 2014
I have made this many times, and when my brother-in-law is over, I have to make double the sauce! It is so easy to prepare, and tastes divine. Definitely use Plugra butter (best butter ever), and fresh pasta. If you don't have enough time to make fresh pasta, don't worry, this sauce is so good, it won't matter!
Pros: Quick, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Unhealthy
Review 6 for Fettuccine Alfredo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gigg2
,San Diego
November 18, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Haven't met a WS recipe I haven't liked
November 18, 2013
This is so gourmet, light sauce, delicate, just so so yummy. I got rave reviews and plan for it to be a regular. I did add some garlic, sorry I'm Italian-had to!
Pros: Quick, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again, gourmet
Review 7 for Fettuccine Alfredo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lilsquirrel
,harrisburg
,pa
August 23, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Use the good cheese!
August 23, 2013
I have made this recipe 3 times. One time I used a different less expensive grated cheese and it was just not as good. The only thing I did different was I used salted butter but then did not add additional salt and my 6 tablespoons of cheese were generous. Definitely have extra cheese at the table. Great recipe you won't regret making it.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 8 for Fettuccine Alfredo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Devvcooks
,CA
May 12, 2012
Ability level:Professional
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
When you crave comfort food...
May 12, 2012
This is the recipe for you! Quick, simple to prepare and delicious in 6 ingredients in about 20 minutes.
The sauce is rich and when paired with steamed broccoli (with fresh lemon juice, olive oil, and fresh salt and pepper) it is heaven on earth. My husband and elementary aged kids devoured it!
Pros: Quick, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Unhealthy