Fettuccine Alfredo

The success of this Roman dish depends on first-rate ingredients. If you can find an unsalted European-style butter, such as Plugra (widely available at gourmet groceries), use it here. It has a richer flavor and a lower water content than everyday brands. For the best taste, seek out heavy cream that is not ultrapasteurized. When you buy a chunk of Parmigiano-Reggiano, ask the clerk to cut a wedge fresh from the wheel to make sure it is not too dried out. In Italy, this luxurious dish is served in small portions as a first course. Try it before a simple main dish of poached or baked fish or grilled meat.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(4 Reviews) 4
4 of 4(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Fettuccine Alfredo
Review 1 for Fettuccine Alfredo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RWALL
,St. James
,NC
St. James, North Carolina
January 24, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Simple, luscious; a real crowd pleaser
January 24, 2014
I have made this many times, and when my brother-in-law is over, I have to make double the sauce! It is so easy to prepare, and tastes divine. Definitely use Plugra butter (best butter ever), and fresh pasta. If you don't have enough time to make fresh pasta, don't worry, this sauce is so good, it won't matter!
Pros: Quick, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Unhealthy
Review 2 for Fettuccine Alfredo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gigg2
,San Diego
November 18, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Haven't met a WS recipe I haven't liked
November 18, 2013
This is so gourmet, light sauce, delicate, just so so yummy. I got rave reviews and plan for it to be a regular. I did add some garlic, sorry I'm Italian-had to!
Pros: Quick, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again, gourmet
Review 3 for Fettuccine Alfredo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lilsquirrel
,harrisburg
,pa
August 23, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Use the good cheese!
August 23, 2013
I have made this recipe 3 times. One time I used a different less expensive grated cheese and it was just not as good. The only thing I did different was I used salted butter but then did not add additional salt and my 6 tablespoons of cheese were generous. Definitely have extra cheese at the table. Great recipe you won't regret making it.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 4 for Fettuccine Alfredo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Devvcooks
,CA
May 12, 2012
Ability level:Professional
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
When you crave comfort food...
May 12, 2012
This is the recipe for you! Quick, simple to prepare and delicious in 6 ingredients in about 20 minutes.
The sauce is rich and when paired with steamed broccoli (with fresh lemon juice, olive oil, and fresh salt and pepper) it is heaven on earth. My husband and elementary aged kids devoured it!
Pros: Quick, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Unhealthy