Fettuccine Alfredo

The success of this Roman dish depends on first-rate ingredients. If you can find an unsalted European-style butter, such as Plugra (widely available at gourmet groceries), use it here. It has a richer flavor and a lower water content than everyday brands. For the best taste, seek out heavy cream that is not ultrapasteurized. When you buy a chunk of Parmigiano-Reggiano, ask the clerk to cut a wedge fresh from the wheel to make sure it is not too dried out. In Italy, this luxurious dish is served in small portions as a first course. Try it before a simple main dish of poached or baked fish or grilled meat.
Average Customer Rating:
4.727 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
11 of 11(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Fettuccine Alfredo
Review 1 for Fettuccine Alfredo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RWALL
,St. James
,NC
St. James, North Carolina
January 24, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Simple, luscious; a real crowd pleaser
January 24, 2014
I have made this many times, and when my brother-in-law is over, I have to make double the sauce! It is so easy to prepare, and tastes divine. Definitely use Plugra butter (best butter ever), and fresh pasta. If you don't have enough time to make fresh pasta, don't worry, this sauce is so good, it won't matter!
Pros: Quick, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Unhealthy
Review 2 for Fettuccine Alfredo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gigg2
,San Diego
November 18, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Haven't met a WS recipe I haven't liked
November 18, 2013
This is so gourmet, light sauce, delicate, just so so yummy. I got rave reviews and plan for it to be a regular. I did add some garlic, sorry I'm Italian-had to!
Pros: Quick, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again, gourmet
Review 3 for Fettuccine Alfredo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lilsquirrel
,harrisburg
,pa
August 23, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Use the good cheese!
August 23, 2013
I have made this recipe 3 times. One time I used a different less expensive grated cheese and it was just not as good. The only thing I did different was I used salted butter but then did not add additional salt and my 6 tablespoons of cheese were generous. Definitely have extra cheese at the table. Great recipe you won't regret making it.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 4 for Fettuccine Alfredo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Devvcooks
,CA
May 12, 2012
Ability level:Professional
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
When you crave comfort food...
May 12, 2012
This is the recipe for you! Quick, simple to prepare and delicious in 6 ingredients in about 20 minutes.
The sauce is rich and when paired with steamed broccoli (with fresh lemon juice, olive oil, and fresh salt and pepper) it is heaven on earth. My husband and elementary aged kids devoured it!
Pros: Quick, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Unhealthy
Review 5 for Fettuccine Alfredo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Auyanna
,Hinesville
,Ga
Georgia
October 10, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Quick Meal for Guests
October 10, 2011
This is a great recipe for last minute guests. The only thing that I did different was to add two garlic cloves to the sauce and I served this dish with chicken, salad, and garlic bread. It is superb with Chardonnay. I will definitely keep this in my recipe library!
Pros: Quick, Easy, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 6 for Fettuccine Alfredo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DeftInTheKitchen
Evans, GA
March 4, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy, but elegant sauce
March 4, 2011
I often times serve it with home made spinach pasta and sauteed curry shrimp.
Review 7 for Fettuccine Alfredo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overseasmom
December 6, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious!
December 6, 2010
This recipe is delicious but no substitutes. Use the best ingredients -- real parmesan (finely grated from a wedge) and use real butter and cream (no magarine or light cream). Serve with a salad and a fresh baguette. Delicious, yet simple!
Review 8 for Fettuccine Alfredo
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
RosieB
Aurora, Co
May 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy to assemble, delicous
May 14, 2010
Authentic taste, and easy to prepare, add grilled chicken breasts as an add on and you have a dinner plan you can entertain with
Review 9 for Fettuccine Alfredo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Andij34
Burlington,NC
May 4, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
awesome reciepe
May 4, 2010
This reciepe is sooooo simple and very quick. But it comes out delicious every time.
Review 10 for Fettuccine Alfredo
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MoesToy
Amite, LA
May 3, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
It's Italy American Style
May 3, 2010
Few ingredients, quick & easy to prepare for family. Vertsatile for main dish with various meats. Great with Shrimp!
Review 11 for Fettuccine Alfredo
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
entropygirl
Boston, MA
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Insanely easy
April 30, 2010
Quick to make and great flavor. That little bit of nutmeg made the dish.