Extra-Crusty Baked Rigatoni with Beef Ragu

Few meals are as comforting as a pan of baked pasta. Using rigatonilarge ridged tubesgives you the pleasure of lasagna with less work.
Average Customer Rating:
4.778 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
17 of 18(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Extra-Crusty Baked Rigatoni with Beef Ragu
Review 1 for Extra-Crusty Baked Rigatoni with Beef Ragu
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GFreeGourmet
,Wichita
,KS
November 7, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great with a few minor changes
November 7, 2013
I love this dish, but I agree that it can be a bit bland without a substitution. I recommend using ground Italian sausage instead of ground beef. That helps a LOT. I make this with gluten-free pasta, and I love how it turns out!
Pros: Easy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Extra-Crusty Baked Rigatoni with Beef Ragu
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
TMAD
October 7, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Agree with the last reviewer...
October 7, 2012
...in that it lacked flavor. Maybe needed more garlic? I used canned diced tomatoes, and maybe it would have been better with canned crushed, since that would have made it a little saucier. I don't understand all the rave reviews. Maybe I did something wrong?
Pros: Good Value, Easy
Cons: Taste
Review 3 for Extra-Crusty Baked Rigatoni with Beef Ragu
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meggers
February 28, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Looked good - only okay flavor
February 28, 2012
This looked like it was going to be so delicious but the flavor did not "pop." Not much in spices so I may add taco/other seasoning to the meat next time or perhaps some chili flakes. Was easy to make though and would be a great comfort food meal.
Review 4 for Extra-Crusty Baked Rigatoni with Beef Ragu
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Heidlet
Oklahoma City, OK
July 9, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
family favorite!!
July 9, 2011
This dish was an instant hit with everyone in my family! It is really rich. We can't wait for the weather to cool off so I can make it again!
Pros: Yield, Appearance, Will Make Again
Review 5 for Extra-Crusty Baked Rigatoni with Beef Ragu
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ocrealestate
Costa Mesa, CA
March 26, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
fabulous pasta
March 26, 2011
this recipe is always a hit! I have made this for many many years. Its so easy to make.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Healthy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 6 for Extra-Crusty Baked Rigatoni with Beef Ragu
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Zobo
Panama City
January 25, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent but even better with a few changes
January 25, 2011
This recipe is great. I made it based on the exact recipe the first few times but then made some changes. I substitue italian sausage for the beef and I add some fresh basil to my sauce. This is definitely one of my favorite meals!
Review 7 for Extra-Crusty Baked Rigatoni with Beef Ragu
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
radtech01
The lovely South
January 20, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Still a favorite
January 20, 2011
I have been making this recipe for several years, since the first time I saw it in a WS catalog. The whole family loves it. Had a craving for it tonight, but will make it with hot italian sausage and black olives to change things up a bit.
Great "go-to" recipe as the ingredients are usually in my fridge and pantry.
Review 8 for Extra-Crusty Baked Rigatoni with Beef Ragu
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nineofus
Santa Clarita Ca.
January 8, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A cold weather favorite.
January 8, 2011
I have made this dish many times now and it is always a hit. We like it best during cold weather We also bake fresh Italian bread to have with the Rigatoni while it's warm. Thanks W.S. for a great recipe.
Review 9 for Extra-Crusty Baked Rigatoni with Beef Ragu
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
monkeybear
Alabama
January 7, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Ultimate Comfort Dish
January 7, 2011
I have been preparing this dish for ~5 years, and it continues to be one of my favorite 'goto' recipes to take to friends, church functions, and for family gatherings.
I use it to feed a large crowd, and love that I can easily triple the recipe. Whether you prep and cook the same day or prep and freeze for future use, it is a sure crowd pleaser!
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 10 for Extra-Crusty Baked Rigatoni with Beef Ragu
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CareyD
near New Orleans, LA
January 1, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious and easy!
January 1, 2011
I made this last night and it is great! Very easy to make. The leftovers are great too. It's delicious!
Review 11 for Extra-Crusty Baked Rigatoni with Beef Ragu
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
teddprater
Chicago, IL
September 13, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Grand Slam Home Run
September 13, 2010
I have made this dish twice. The balance of flavors and textures is outstanding. Also, there's nothing complicated about making it. I added a couple of pinches of sugar and a splash of red wine vinegar (my preference) for a little more complexity. It's a good leftover dish too.
You should at least try this one.
Review 12 for Extra-Crusty Baked Rigatoni with Beef Ragu
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
atomicpear
Sacramento
August 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
One of our favorites
August 30, 2010
My recipe printout is dated 8/6/00 - been making this one for ten years now. Love how easy this is to make and a real crowd pleaser. We use italian brand crushed tomatoes - tastes better than domestic brands for some reason. We serve this with a thin metal spatula -- easier to cut squares after you let the casserole "rest".
Review 13 for Extra-Crusty Baked Rigatoni with Beef Ragu
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FancySchmancyNancy
Providence, RI
August 18, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good way to land a husband!
August 18, 2010
This was one of the first meals I made for my now husband and we still enjoy making it 7 years later. Perhaps we are married because of this recipe!
It's very easy and though it makes for a lot of food its extra delicious as leftovers.
Whether you make it for friends, family or a first date your guests will love it.
Review 14 for Extra-Crusty Baked Rigatoni with Beef Ragu
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Monique1019
Detroit suburbs
July 7, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Everyone loves this
July 7, 2010
I've used this recipe time and time again. Once to impress a guy I was dating (it worked), I've taken it to several potlucks, and I've used it as a comfort dish in a gesture of sympathy. Everyone loves it and asks for the recipe. Additionally, it's budget-friendly and oh-so-easy to make. How can you go wrong?
Review 15 for Extra-Crusty Baked Rigatoni with Beef Ragu
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jewels61
Fort Worth,TX
June 25, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Hearty Family Pleaser!
June 25, 2010
This dish is so good, rich, and filling. I've been making it for several years now and my family loves it!
Review 16 for Extra-Crusty Baked Rigatoni with Beef Ragu
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
auntieshell
June 3, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Even better leftovers!
June 3, 2010
This is so easy to make and can also be made with ground turkey. Definite crowd pleaser.
Review 17 for Extra-Crusty Baked Rigatoni with Beef Ragu
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ljf0625
Newbury Park, CA
May 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy and Amazing!
May 30, 2010
The family loved this dish! Had plenty of leftovers too that held up really well and still tasted great! This is going right into my recipe rotation.
Review 18 for Extra-Crusty Baked Rigatoni with Beef Ragu
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
strtrazor
Eastpointe, MI
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comfort Food
April 30, 2010
Fantastic! Best done in a stoneware dish.
If the pasta is undercooked when put in the oven it will take far longer to cook.
Works even better with penne pasta.