Eggplant & Tomato Stacks

To create this summery side dish, thinly sliced eggplant and zucchini are layered with tomato slices and cooked onions. Then the stacks are baked in the oven and topped with grated Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese. Serve alongside our Grilled Rib-Eye Steaks (see related recipe at left).
Average Customer Rating:
4.857 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
7 of 7(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Eggplant & Tomato Stacks
Review 1 for Eggplant & Tomato Stacks
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jennifermck
New York, NY
June 20, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy and delicious!
June 20, 2011
Will definitely make this again! Used a softer cheese because it is what I had in the fridge, but think I will stick with the Parmesan next time I make it.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Healthy, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Eggplant & Tomato Stacks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mariatini
Albany, NY
September 19, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious and Easy
September 19, 2010
Simple, healthful, and delicious! I sprinkled cheese in between each layer as another reviewer did and think it adds even more to the recipe. I am not a squash fan, so I just layered eggplant and tomato slices. Fantastic flavors with the onions and spices. A hit in our house!
Review 3 for Eggplant & Tomato Stacks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ThePassionateCook
Canada
August 26, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delectable addition to any meal!
August 26, 2010
Requires a bit more prep time but makes the perfect compliment to almost any meal be it beef, chicken or fish. The crusty parmesan and sauteed onions provide just the right mouth watering combination to make it hard to resist going back for seconds!
Review 4 for Eggplant & Tomato Stacks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
backbay
Boston, MA
June 1, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Gourmet Presentation!
June 1, 2010
Makes a wonderful presentation. It calls for some prep time but can be made ahead. It's delicious and a treat to serve as the compliments are plentiful.
Review 5 for Eggplant & Tomato Stacks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
luckystiff
Minneapolis, MN
May 6, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Healthy and Tasty
May 6, 2010
Somewhat labor intensive, so make a lot and pack the extra "stacks". I drizzle olive oil and sprinkle a little parmesan cheese in between each layer.
Review 6 for Eggplant & Tomato Stacks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LucyG
Bermuda Dunes, CA
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Veggielicious!
April 30, 2010
I have made this recipe on several occasions and it is always a hit. I have served it with steak, swordfish, and as a vegetarian entree along with polenta. I use red, yellow, and orange tomatoes which makes for a lovely presentation. We will be enjoying this dish throughout the summer!
Review 7 for Eggplant & Tomato Stacks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
neigh
Wentzville, MO
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Can prepare a day or two before cooking
April 30, 2010
This has become one of my family favorites!!!! I really like the fact that I can prepare a day or two in advance. The presentation of the dish always gets big raves from guests. One last thing about the recipe, I found that I did not need all the zucchini and eggplant that it called for on the recipe.