Devil's Food Layer Cake

The secret behind this moist, rich chocolate cake is mixing the cocoa powder-use natural, not Dutch process-with boiling water, which allows the chocolate flavor to blossom and adds extra moisture to the crumb. This time-honored favorite, layered with velvety chocolate frosting, makes the ultimate cake for a birthday or other celebration.
Average Customer Rating:
4.625 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
7 of 8(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Devil's Food Layer Cake
Review 1 for Devil's Food Layer Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BaltimoreBarb
,Baltimore
,MD
August 1, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Moist Delicious Cake
August 1, 2014
Made this cake to take to a dinner party. Everyone loved it! They were licking the plate. Excellent for any and all chocolate lovers.
Pros: Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again, delicious
Review 2 for Devil's Food Layer Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HilaryRain
,Seattle
,WA
August 1, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Incredibly moist & delicious!!
August 1, 2014
I made this for my daughter's 4th birthday and my other daughter's 1st birthday - it was a HUGE hit and gone quickly. Now my husband has requested it for his birthday! Best chocolate cake any of us have ever had!! Yummmm!!!!
Pros: Kid-Friendly, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Devil's Food Layer Cake
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
NikkiCanada2014love
February 11, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:Over 10 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not the best I have tried
February 11, 2014
I have tried doing this one twice for 2 families and both of them said it was dry. The horrible thing is I had to find out from other people that herd this from them. I love the receipts from here so I was pretty upset to see others did not like it :(
Review 4 for Devil's Food Layer Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
,New York
,NY
August 30, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very Moist and Rich cake
August 30, 2013
I have made this cake for my boyfriend's past 2 birthdays and valentines day. He loves it and keeps requesting it as the cake to make for every celebration. The recipe is straight forward and I have never had it come out badly so far, and I am not much of a baker. My boyfriends mother who is a baker and has a blog "A Cake Bakes in Brooklyn" even asked where I got the recipe from. Great recipe!
Pros: Easy, Will Make Again
Review 5 for Devil's Food Layer Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shorty1182
,MN
March 13, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderfully Moist, Yet Sturdy for Decorating
March 13, 2013
This Devil's Food Cake is SO good. I did add 2 squares of Bakers chocolate to the boiling water and cocoa mixture, which I think helped give it a stronger chocolate flavor. I will probably add a tsp of Espresso powder next time as well. Instead of the chocolate frosting between layers, I did a raspberry filling to jazz it up a bit. However, I did NOT care for the frosting. It was a little too sweet for me. I much prefer an Italian chocolate buttercream to this Americanized version with the confectioner's sugar. Not a big fan of powdered sugar. I decorated the cake with a fondant tractor and modeling chocolate farm animals for my son's birthday. It held up well under the weight. This will be my go-to recipe for a Devil's Food Cake!
Pros: Easy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 6 for Devil's Food Layer Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nabeela
,San jose
,Ca
California
June 1, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome cake
June 1, 2012
I didn't have buttermilk, so I used the old trick of adding vinegar to milk and letting it stand for 15 minutes, and the cake came out perfectly :-)
The frosting recipe is almost like a ganache. I guess it's not much different from ganache since it usually has chocolate, sugar and cream too :-)
I used 1 lb confectioners sugar and the amount was perfect for the frosting. For such an easy cake that feeds 16, I think this recipe deserves 5 stars.
Pros: Yield, Good Value, Easy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Unhealthy, Lengthy
Review 7 for Devil's Food Layer Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RedRaven
,Scottsdale
,AZ
January 13, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Chocolate Cake Ever
January 13, 2012
I have been searching for the perfect chocolate cake recipe for years! This is, hands-down, the best ever. The only addition I made was 1 tablespoon of espresso powder. I also used 2% milk in the frosting instead of heavy cream. Be sure and use a quality cocoa powder. I used Valrhona.
Pros: Easy, Impressive
Review 8 for Devil's Food Layer Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LizzieMcB
,Buffalo Grove
,IL
January 11, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fab Frosting!
January 11, 2012
I made this frosting, and have yet to try the cake recipe. It was a fabulous, rich, ganache-like frosting. I did add a dash of salt, to help bring out the flavors.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Impressive, Will Make Again
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
LizzieMcB
Posted February 6, 2012
Update-made the cake-delicious!
This is my new go-to chocolate cake recipe. Out of this world--moist and delicious!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)