Devil's Food Layer Cake

The secret behind this moist, rich chocolate cake is mixing the cocoa powder-use natural, not Dutch process-with boiling water, which allows the chocolate flavor to blossom and adds extra moisture to the crumb. This time-honored favorite, layered with velvety chocolate frosting, makes the ultimate cake for a birthday or other celebration.
Average Customer Rating:
4.727 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
10 of 11(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Devil's Food Layer Cake
Review 1 for Devil's Food Layer Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Tulare
,Ca
May 13, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:Over 10 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
BEST. CHOCOLATE. CAKE. EVER
May 13, 2016
I made this recipe like 4-5 times already and it never dissapointed me. the cake texture is so soft and moist (Just like sprinkles cupcakes). Give it a try and you will fall inlove this chocolate cake like i do.
Pros: Easy, Quick, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Devil's Food Layer Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Belleville
,IL
April 28, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Moist cake
April 28, 2015
My boys are chocolate lovers, and this recipe is definitely the best one ever. I always get happy, smily faces whenever I make the cake.
Pros: Good Value, Easy, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Devil's Food Layer Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Houston
,TX
April 23, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Cupcake version is amazing!
April 23, 2015
Did the cupcake version as it would be easier to serve at a birthday party I was hosting.
Main differences:
- Baked for 22 minutes in an electric oven, cam out perfect
- Actually made 30 cupcakes as opposed to 24, so that was a great surprise
- Cut down the confectionary sugar requirement for the icing. I did 2 cupcs as opposed to 3.75 cups and it was still very sweet.
- Added probably 1.5 cups of heavy cream for frosting but it was still pretty thick for a cupcake version, so next time I'll add 2 cups or more to make it easier to spread
Pros: Yield, Easy, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 4 for Devil's Food Layer Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Baltimore
,MD
August 1, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Moist Delicious Cake
August 1, 2014
Made this cake to take to a dinner party. Everyone loved it! They were licking the plate. Excellent for any and all chocolate lovers.
Pros: Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again, delicious
Review 5 for Devil's Food Layer Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Seattle
,WA
August 1, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Incredibly moist & delicious!!
August 1, 2014
I made this for my daughter's 4th birthday and my other daughter's 1st birthday - it was a HUGE hit and gone quickly. Now my husband has requested it for his birthday! Best chocolate cake any of us have ever had!! Yummmm!!!!
Pros: Kid-Friendly, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 6 for Devil's Food Layer Cake
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
February 11, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:Over 10 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
-3points
0of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not the best I have tried
February 11, 2014
I have tried doing this one twice for 2 families and both of them said it was dry. The horrible thing is I had to find out from other people that herd this from them. I love the receipts from here so I was pretty upset to see others did not like it :(
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
ChezMJ
Boston
Posted October 29, 2014
Oh dear!
Why would anyone report to you a bad thing someone else said?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Devil's Food Layer Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,New York
,NY
August 30, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very Moist and Rich cake
August 30, 2013
I have made this cake for my boyfriend's past 2 birthdays and valentines day. He loves it and keeps requesting it as the cake to make for every celebration. The recipe is straight forward and I have never had it come out badly so far, and I am not much of a baker. My boyfriends mother who is a baker and has a blog "A Cake Bakes in Brooklyn" even asked where I got the recipe from. Great recipe!
Pros: Easy, Will Make Again
Review 8 for Devil's Food Layer Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,MN
March 13, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderfully Moist, Yet Sturdy for Decorating
March 13, 2013
This Devil's Food Cake is SO good. I did add 2 squares of Bakers chocolate to the boiling water and cocoa mixture, which I think helped give it a stronger chocolate flavor. I will probably add a tsp of Espresso powder next time as well. Instead of the chocolate frosting between layers, I did a raspberry filling to jazz it up a bit. However, I did NOT care for the frosting. It was a little too sweet for me. I much prefer an Italian chocolate buttercream to this Americanized version with the confectioner's sugar. Not a big fan of powdered sugar. I decorated the cake with a fondant tractor and modeling chocolate farm animals for my son's birthday. It held up well under the weight. This will be my go-to recipe for a Devil's Food Cake!
Pros: Easy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 9 for Devil's Food Layer Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,San jose
,Ca
California
June 1, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome cake
June 1, 2012
I didn't have buttermilk, so I used the old trick of adding vinegar to milk and letting it stand for 15 minutes, and the cake came out perfectly :-)
The frosting recipe is almost like a ganache. I guess it's not much different from ganache since it usually has chocolate, sugar and cream too :-)
I used 1 lb confectioners sugar and the amount was perfect for the frosting. For such an easy cake that feeds 16, I think this recipe deserves 5 stars.
Pros: Yield, Good Value, Easy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Unhealthy, Lengthy
Review 10 for Devil's Food Layer Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Scottsdale
,AZ
January 13, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Chocolate Cake Ever
January 13, 2012
I have been searching for the perfect chocolate cake recipe for years! This is, hands-down, the best ever. The only addition I made was 1 tablespoon of espresso powder. I also used 2% milk in the frosting instead of heavy cream. Be sure and use a quality cocoa powder. I used Valrhona.
Pros: Easy, Impressive
Review 11 for Devil's Food Layer Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Buffalo Grove
,IL
January 11, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fab Frosting!
January 11, 2012
I made this frosting, and have yet to try the cake recipe. It was a fabulous, rich, ganache-like frosting. I did add a dash of salt, to help bring out the flavors.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Impressive, Will Make Again
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
nance18
Baltimore
Posted October 8, 2015
not like picture!
I made this cake exactly as recipe said (which is usually hard for me) only added expresso powder to hot water....but cake was falling apart when I tried to remove from pan.....good thing I had made a seven minute frosting for it because it is really light and sticky and held cake together.....people liked it but every piece I cut fell apart and it didn't look pretty at all....but tasted good....would not make again because of way it fell apart....I was kind of embarrassed at the dinner party.....
0points
Customer avatar
LizzieMcB
Posted February 6, 2012
Update-made the cake-delicious!
This is my new go-to chocolate cake recipe. Out of this world--moist and delicious!
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)