Deep-Dish Piecrust

Use this recipe when preparing our Classic Pumpkin Pie (see related recipe at right). It makes a double batch of dough: one for the bottom crust and the other for creating decorative cutouts to place atop the baked and cooled pie.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(4 Reviews) 4
4 of 4(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Deep-Dish Piecrust
Review 1 for Deep-Dish Piecrust
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tcosenza74
,Burtrum
,MN
October 27, 2013
Ability level:Novice
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome crust
October 27, 2013
I have been making this piecrust since 2006, every single year. It is challenging to make, but worth it. Very, very yummy. I think it took me 2 years to perfect it, but again, it really is worth it. It's perfect, too, if you plan to make the cute leaf cut-outs to decorate the pie.
Pros: Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Lengthy
Review 2 for Deep-Dish Piecrust
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mangopapaya
November 23, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great crust
November 23, 2012
This is a really good, staple pie crust recipe. It takes awhile, but most pie crusts take a few hours to make. If you're looking for a staple pie crust recipe, I definitely suggest trying this one out.
Pros: Kid-Friendly, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Cons: Complicated, Unhealthy, Lengthy
Review 3 for Deep-Dish Piecrust
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
vmekeba
October 17, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Hearty, Subtle, Not Overly Sweet
October 17, 2011
This is a good traditional pumpkin pie. It was very dense and hearty for a dessert, but had nice layers of flavor. It wasn't overly sweet or rich, but quite nice overall. I used fresh pumpkin and made the traditional graham cracker crust instead of the recommended crust. Also, I baked 2 shallow pies instead of the 1 large deep dish.
Paired it with the Lentil Soup with Smoked Paprika and Grown Up Grilled Cheese Sandwiches. A very nice meal overall.
Review 4 for Deep-Dish Piecrust
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
amsatt
indiana
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+11points
15of 19found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good crust for deep dish and decorating crust
April 30, 2010
I thought this crust was a good one to use for deep dish such as the Emile Henry pie plate that tend to be bigger. I used this for an apple pie recipe and it was good. It is on the sweeter side of crusts.