Dates Stuffed with Goat Cheese

These stuffed dates, which pair well with a welcoming glass of dry sparkling wine, are surprisingly simple to make. Medjool dates are sweet and rich and have thick, meaty flesh, which makes them particularly suitable for stuffing.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
7 of 8(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Dates Stuffed with Goat Cheese
Review 1 for Dates Stuffed with Goat Cheese
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
logicalhenry
,Tamarac
,FL
November 30, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Mushy and bland
November 30, 2013
Made with chopped walnuts rather than breadcrumbs for the topping. Very bland and mushy flavor. Seemed to need something with crunch or texture. Tried topping with pine nuts, NG, tried on a cracker, NG, too dry. Maybe needed meat of some sort?
Cons: Texture, Taste
Review 2 for Dates Stuffed with Goat Cheese
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
melanielovestocook
,Toronto
May 24, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious sweet & savoury app
May 24, 2012
I have been making these for years! They are a great go-to recipe when you need to bring an hors d'oeuvre to a party.
I have taken to adapting this recipe a bit with great results. I started using crushed nuts in the bread crumb topping. Now, I skip the bread crumb topping altogether and add nuts to the goat cheese, and sprinkle finely chopped fresh chives over top off the dates (after baking).
These are always a big hit!
Pros: Quick, Easy, Healthy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Dates Stuffed with Goat Cheese
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
spooks
burke,va
July 16, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love this easy dish!
July 16, 2011
I made this for the first time last summer for guests and they were so impressed with the flavor and the look of this dish. Since then I have made this many more times and it is always a hit. Easy to make and I dont make any changes to the recipe.
Pros: Quick, Good Value, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Healthy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 4 for Dates Stuffed with Goat Cheese
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rumi
Hong Kong
December 24, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect for cocktail party appetizer
December 24, 2010
I made them last night for dinner party as an appetizer with chamgpane and everybody loves the combination of sweet and sharp goat cheese taste. Sprincles of roasted bread crumbs gave good accent of texture. I was asked for recepies from everyone. This is the easiest and best appetizer!
Review 5 for Dates Stuffed with Goat Cheese
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ahma
Canyon Lake, CA
September 18, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
always a hit
September 18, 2010
I have been serving this appetizer for a couple of years now. I always make sure I have copies of the recipe because my family and friends always ask for it. Delicious.......
Review 6 for Dates Stuffed with Goat Cheese
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JoanneS
Studio City CA
May 3, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Date Night Delight
May 3, 2010
These stuffed dates are an easy unusual appetizer perfect for all gatherings. The contrast between the sweetness of the date and the tanginess of the goat cheese is perfection.
Review 7 for Dates Stuffed with Goat Cheese
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LizLaurel
Laurel, MD
May 3, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A great appetizer - easy and tasty!
May 3, 2010
I am not big into appetizers - I usually serve cheese and crackers. But I was the appetizer person this yr for our New Year's Eve progressive dinner; cheese and crackers just weren't going to cut it. This recipe was the favorite of the group and it was very easy - could be made ahead of time. The tangy flavor of the goat cheese was a nice balance to the sweetness of the dates. We had leftovers and this is one of the few times my husband actually ate something as a leftover!
Review 8 for Dates Stuffed with Goat Cheese
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
maxinseattle
Seattle, WA
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful appetizer
April 30, 2010
These are terrific and really easy to make. I've made them for cocktail parties and at the end of the evening, the were all eaten!
And if you want to make a non-vegetarian version, you can wrap the dates with a piece of pancetta before baking.