CUT Mac 'n' Cheese

Experience mac 'n' cheese in a decadent new way as Chef Wolfgang Puck, founder of the award-winning CUT steakhouse, puts a sophisticated spin on an American classic. In his version, cavatappi pasta is combined with creme fraiche and two kinds of cheeses. Serve alongside our Sous Vide Pork Chops (see related recipe at left).
Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
10 of 10(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for CUT Mac 'n' Cheese
Review 1 for CUT Mac 'n' Cheese
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cherryobebe
,Phoenix
,AZ
December 23, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The absolute BEST mac 'n' cheese!
December 23, 2013
We loved the mac and cheese at CUT so much that I had to find a similar recipe. I was so happy when I found this, but was almost certain that they also use gruyere. So, I use a little less mozzarella and add gruyere, plus make my own creme fraiche and brioche breadcrumbs. I have been making this recipe for a couple of years now. It is a huge hit at our holiday dinners!
Pros: Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Cost, Unhealthy
Review 2 for CUT Mac 'n' Cheese
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DinaSD
,San Diego
,CA
November 29, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Mac n Cheese recipe!
November 29, 2011
I've been searching for a great Mac N Cheese recipe for a while. I did this version for Thanksgiving dinner and it was one of several side dishes. This is the dish I got the most compliments and recipe requests for. I used Crema Mexicana instead of creme fraiche and I did not use the brioche breadcrumbs. Instead, I mixed some panko breadcrumbs with some melted butter and a little parmesan cheese and sprinkled it on top. There were only 2 spoonfuls left of the whole casserole dish. My husband requested it again the next day! This is going to be my new mac n cheese recipe!
Pros: Yield, Easy, Appearance, Will Make Again
Cons: Cost, Unhealthy
Review 3 for CUT Mac 'n' Cheese
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cheeseaholic
DC metro area
July 8, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastic recipe!
July 8, 2011
This is, hands down, the best mac 'n' cheese recipe I've come across so far. It makes a ton, but it is DELICIOUS. Makes my mouth water just thinking about it...
Pros: Yield, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Unhealthy
Review 4 for CUT Mac 'n' Cheese
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SoCalChef
Newport Beach, CA
April 25, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Phenomenal
April 25, 2011
Made this as a side dish for Easter yesterday and it was delicious. Saw the comment about the 7 year cheddar and was able to actually find 10 year aged cheddar at the local Bristol Farms which adds a lot of rich cheddar flavor. I would HIGHLY recommend this dish.
Pros: Yield, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 5 for CUT Mac 'n' Cheese
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ks728
Westchester County, NY
April 6, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Mac 'n' Cheese Ever
April 6, 2011
I had the Mac 'n' Cheese at Cut last year, and it was without a doubt, the best I had ever eaten, so I was very excited to see this recipe. While it is a great recipe (and better than any other I have tried), it didn't completely replicate the flavor from the restaurant. The chef (Lee from the video) said they use 7-year aged cheddar, and I was only able to find 2-year. I also don't put in as much salt, so maybe those two things made the difference. Can't imagine how anyone didn't think it was creamy--it was very creamy and rich. I halved the recipe, and it still made a lot. This is definitely the recipe I will use in the future.
Pros: Easy, Kid-Friendly, Will Make Again, comfort food
Review 6 for CUT Mac 'n' Cheese
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
donna1267
North Caldwell, NJ
March 23, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazing flavor, Quick and Easy to make
March 23, 2011
One of the best mac and chesse recipes I have made. Added 1 cup of smoked mozzarella for a little smoked flavor. Also, used Italian Panko bread crumbs instead of brioche.
Review 7 for CUT Mac 'n' Cheese
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SoCalFoodie52
La Verne, CA
March 13, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious and Easy
March 13, 2011
Once the cheeses are grated, this is a snap to put together. It was smooth, rich and had a wonderful flavor. I was surprised because mozzerella is such a mild cheese. One of the best mac n cheese recipes I've ever used.
Review 8 for CUT Mac 'n' Cheese
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gidgetsmom
Dallas, Texas
February 28, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
fabulous mac and cheese
February 28, 2011
Found the recipe in this months WS mailer. I think the fresh bread crumbs make the dish. Easy and delicious... My husband loved it and deemed it "a keeper" ...
Review 9 for CUT Mac 'n' Cheese
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
contuttoilcuore
Central Coast, CA
February 23, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Worth trying, but I'll be trying something else
February 23, 2011
It just didn't turn out as creamy as I would have liked. All that cheese, the milk and creme fraiche and it seemed a little grainy and stiff. Not to mention there wasn't much flavor either! What a bummer...I'll be trying a different recipe next time, but you may still want to give it a try.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Capital
Posted February 28, 2011
DO NOT OVERCOOK
Grainy cheese means you had the heat too high. This is a very creamy, tasty mac and cheese as long as you watch your temp.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for CUT Mac 'n' Cheese
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
wsgirlinga
Marietta, GA
February 21, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
6of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very rich, creamy and good!
February 21, 2011
This is a great recipe! It makes A LOT for a side dish for a family of four! Its a very rich, creamy and decadent dish that makes it hard to eat too much! (I guess that's a good thing!) I served it with the bone in rib eye and a salad and we had a very good bottle of red wine too! It was very good!
Some quick notes...I made the recipe exactly as written except I used sour cream instead (could not find creme fraiche in my store) and I added some gruyere cheese (because when I watched the video on the Williams Sonoma site, the chef used gruyere too). And my topping was 3/4 cups of panko breadcrumbs!