Crunchy Bread Dressing with Bacon and Leeks

If you prefer a moist dressing or if the bread is particularly dense, add a bit more stock.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
11 of 11(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Crunchy Bread Dressing with Bacon and Leeks
Review 1 for Crunchy Bread Dressing with Bacon and Leeks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Leanna12
,Nashville
,Tn
January 4, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect holiday stuffing!
January 4, 2013
I made this for thanksgiving dinner this year and even my super picky dad loved it!! Flavors are perfect and it is so easy to make!
Pros: Yield, Good Value, Easy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Crunchy Bread Dressing with Bacon and Leeks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kristinZ
,ann arbor
,MI
December 23, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:6 to 10 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
awesome non-traditional stuffing
December 23, 2012
this is a great stuffing to make to either stuff your bird, or simply as a side. it's simple, but has a TON of flavor. i'm not a big celery lover, so i will try any stuffing recipe that does not call for celery. this is easy to assemble. you can chop the bacon and veggies before hand, and the thyme, then it literally takes 15 minutes to get into the oven. i've never had anyone try this stuffing and not compliment me on. the only thing i do differently than this recipe, is i use the same pan i cooked the bacon in for sauteeing the veggies, and add a splash of white wine once the veggies are ready to come out to deglaze all the bacon flavor.
Pros: Yield, Quick, Good Value, Appearance
Review 3 for Crunchy Bread Dressing with Bacon and Leeks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HomeSousChef
November 23, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Thanksgiving Favorite!
November 23, 2012
This recipe DOES in fact serve 12. I didn't want to go through the horrors of running out of dressing so I made 2 batches and ended up with a few weeks worth of leftovers. This recipe is very easy to follow, very easy to alter (I used less bacon and added ham) and relatively quick.
Pros: Yield, Good Value, Easy, Appearance, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 4 for Crunchy Bread Dressing with Bacon and Leeks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lisaleba
,Lafayette
,Co
November 29, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Sublime Savory Dressing
November 29, 2011
Once again, we enjoyed this dressing for Thanksgiving dinner; it never fails to win praise with guests and cooks! The leftovers, with a ladle of gravy, provide a light meal or snack. We first tried this recipe when it was featured in a Williams-Sonoma holiday catalogue, and have never looked back. It's our go-to dressing!
Pros: Healthy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 5 for Crunchy Bread Dressing with Bacon and Leeks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JLD777
,Mt. Angel
,OR
November 21, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:6 to 10 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Family Tradition
November 21, 2011
Wow, I cannot say enough about this recipe...I made it one year to try something different & new.Now it is what every family member requests that I make year after year...
Pros: Easy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 6 for Crunchy Bread Dressing with Bacon and Leeks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ljubel
December 21, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Stuffing I have ever made
December 21, 2010
This recipe received amazing reviews from my entire family at Thanksgiving. It is very easy and tastes amazing.
Review 7 for Crunchy Bread Dressing with Bacon and Leeks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kiles
Clovis, Ca.
November 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
crowd pleaser
November 14, 2010
I have made this for years, and it has been a hit each time. I do not put it in the turkey, and I love how crisp it gets. Great compliment to the Thanksgiving meal.
Review 8 for Crunchy Bread Dressing with Bacon and Leeks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WilSomNeverFailsMe
Clayton, Ca
November 4, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Stuffing Ever!!!
November 4, 2010
I made this stuffing with my Turkey last Christmas and it was a HUGE success. I used a country loaf I bought from the Bakery at Safeway. It worked great! Every person at my dinner told me how much they loved this stuff!
Review 9 for Crunchy Bread Dressing with Bacon and Leeks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Evka
Naperville, IL
October 6, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Exceptionally Good and Easyy
October 6, 2010
My mom was seeking a recipe for dressing to serve with poultry not just for the holidays. I found this one, it sounded good and having a good experience with Williams-Sonoma recipes, I gave her the recipe. She could not stop raving about it. I got curious, and last year I switched from my traditional recipe to this one, and everybody loves it. It is the first thing gone from the holiday table.
Review 10 for Crunchy Bread Dressing with Bacon and Leeks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lcwarner
Davis, CA
May 1, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Sensational savory stuffing! (and easy to make)
May 1, 2010
Bacon and leeks - who doesn't love that combination? The crunch of the exterior layer and flavorful center make every bite texturally perfect. The addition of milk creates a richness to this receipe that others lack. The carrots and green onions create a beautiful, colorful dish on my holiday table. This recipe is easy to make. I do all of the chopping, toasting and sauteing the day prior and then mix and bake the day of my event. For added flavor, before toasting the bread pieces I drizzle on olive oil and additional fresh thyme, then mix into the bread with my hands. This receipe fast became a family favorite and is requested with both the Thanksgiving turkey AND the Christmas ham!
Review 11 for Crunchy Bread Dressing with Bacon and Leeks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WillSonoFan
Naperville, Illinois
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
SO EASY AND TASTY!
April 30, 2010
I make this dressing for Thanksgiving every year, and it is a huge hit! I mentioned trying something new last year, and the family demanded that I continue with tradition on this dish. It really is so simple to make and it is just delicious. I also substitute turkey bacon for my mother-in-law and its just as yummy.