Crisp Chocolate Chip Cookies with Dried Cherries and Pistachios

Although they're flatter and crisper than the classic Toll House cookie, these still have lots of chocolate chips. "Natural" pistachios are the green ones, not the ones that have been dyed red.
Average Customer Rating:
4.429 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
7 of 7(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Crisp Chocolate Chip Cookies with Dried Cherries and Pistachios
Review 1 for Crisp Chocolate Chip Cookies with Dried Cherries and Pistachios
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SouthernHelle
,MD
November 21, 2012
Ability level:Novice
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect, with some changes
November 21, 2012
I've made this recipe before, as written, and it was just fine -- the cookies came out crispy, loaded with goodies. I made some changes this year, however, to see what I could come up with. What I discovered was how to make this cookie both fluffy (meaning, not a pancake-like cookie), and chewy.
Substitutions made: bread flour instead of AP; dark corn syrup (it's what I had on hand), and used Earth Balance for my lactose-sensitive family. I also have used more nuts/cranberries, and have alternated dried cherries and cranberries. I got a puffy, tender-textured cookie that holds its shape. I cooked them on dark metal pans, with parchment, no spray or other oils, for approx 10 minutes.
Pros: Appearance, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Crisp Chocolate Chip Cookies with Dried Cherries and Pistachios
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
1nd00rCat
Illinois
January 18, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Potential, but recipe needs adjustment (IMO)
January 18, 2011
I love pistachios and I love cherries/cranberries and I love the idea of combining those flavors into a cookie. BUT...in my opinion, the recipe called for too much of a good thing. When following the recipe exactly, all I could taste were the pistachios and cherries/cranberries. I couldn't taste the cookie itself and the flavors did not come together cohesively. However, I am not giving up on these. Next time I make these cookies, I will just use less pistachios and less cherries/cranberries than the recipe requires and, hopefully, I will enjoy them more.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
1nd00rCat
Illinois
Posted January 27, 2011
One more thing...
I will use less chocolate chips next time too - the batter does not accomodate so many chocolate chips/pistachios/and cherries as the recipe requires.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Crisp Chocolate Chip Cookies with Dried Cherries and Pistachios
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
guMDinSeattle
Seattle, WA
December 24, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy, tasty cookie
December 24, 2010
Overall I liked this cookie, but it could be 5 stars with more cherries and pistachios. There are definitely enough chocolate chips :) I followed the recipe exactly, and next time I'll use at least a 1/4 C more cherries and pistachios. Makes a perfect 4 dozen cookies with 1 inch cookie balls (once baked they are about 3 inches). And just a note, I only keep skim milk, and it worked just fine in the recipe.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 4 for Crisp Chocolate Chip Cookies with Dried Cherries and Pistachios
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
TracySue
Baltimore
December 19, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy recipe for a festive cookie
December 19, 2010
This was a great, easy recipe for a Christmas cookie exchange. When they say a generous 4 dozen, they mean it! With one batch, I was able to make 6 dozen cookies. I also used cranberries instead of the cherries and we enjoyed the flavor. The only thing I wouldn't recommend is the part of the recipe that states to transfer the dough... etc. It would work just as well spooning the balls out of the bowl. It just created another work space I had to clean. I will be using this recipe again!
Review 5 for Crisp Chocolate Chip Cookies with Dried Cherries and Pistachios
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
maineiac
Maine
December 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Impressive AND Easy!
December 14, 2010
These cookies are absolutely delicious and sure to please. Great for a cookie swap or for a dessert buffet. Very easy to make - I used dried cranberries instead of cherries, and toasted pecans instead of the pistachios. Another winner from Williams-Sonoma!
Review 6 for Crisp Chocolate Chip Cookies with Dried Cherries and Pistachios
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AM680
Houston, TX
October 16, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Oustanding twist on the chocolate chip cookie
October 16, 2010
The cherries and pistachios add a wonderful flavor and texture to the good old chocolate chip chookie. Raved over every time I bake them.
Review 7 for Crisp Chocolate Chip Cookies with Dried Cherries and Pistachios
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
socalfoodie
San Diego, CA
May 2, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious cookies
May 2, 2010
These are the best chocolate chip cookies I have made or eaten.
As soon as I read the ingredient list I was intrigued by the flavor combination. I used dried cranberries instead of cherries.
I was going to give some to the neighbor kids but my husband and I ate the whole bach!