Cremini Mushrooms Stuffed with Spanish Ham

Spanish serrano ham, like its more famous Italian cousin prosciutto, is salted and hung in drying halls to air-cure. It is made primarily in western Spain and is one of the country's classic tapas offerings. Traditionally cut thicker than prosciutto, serrano has a similar but more earthy flavor, in part derived from the sizable role acorns play in the pigs' diet. Although not as widely available as prosciutto, serrano ham is turning up more frequently in delicatessens and specialty-food stores. Steaming the mushrooms helps to rid them of excess moisture, creating a more concentrated mushroom flavor. Do not be surprised by how much they shrink, as they have a high moisture content.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
7 of 7(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Cremini Mushrooms Stuffed with Spanish Ham
Review 1 for Cremini Mushrooms Stuffed with Spanish Ham
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ChefRoxi
,Las Vegas
,NV
September 29, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious!
September 29, 2012
These worked great! Used criminis. Chopped the prosciutto in the food processor and it worked wonders.
Pros: Easy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Cremini Mushrooms Stuffed with Spanish Ham
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bouqta
,Los Gatos
,CA
August 1, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Buonissimi
August 1, 2012
I made this recipe with prosciutto and it turned out great. All the guests loved the Cremini Mushrooms and they asked for the recipe. The party was for 12 and I had only 5 mushrooms left in the platter at the end of the party!
Pros: Healthy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Cremini Mushrooms Stuffed with Spanish Ham
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
melanielovestocook
,Toronto
May 24, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
These will be gone quickly!
May 24, 2012
Super yummy appetizer! Party guests will love these - they'll go fast!
Serrano ham is similar to Proscuitto but I do prefer the Spanish variety. Using sharp kitchen scissors will make it MUCH faster to "chop".
Pros: Will Make Again, scrumptious
Review 4 for Cremini Mushrooms Stuffed with Spanish Ham
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Snacker
November 23, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for parties
November 23, 2011
I've used this several times and it's always a hit. I use scissors to cut the prosciutto and that makes it much easier. I've done the make ahead version several times as well and haven't had a problem.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 5 for Cremini Mushrooms Stuffed with Spanish Ham
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Karenfar
Oxnard, CA
November 27, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great recipe!
November 27, 2010
I made these for a Thanksgiving app and they were a big hit. i had really meaty mushrooms. I used prosciutto and it is very difficult to finely chop. Otherwise it is a pretty easy recipe. I ended up adding 1 slice of wheat bread crumbs and only had enough filling for 36 mushrooms. The fresh sage is a nice addition.
Review 6 for Cremini Mushrooms Stuffed with Spanish Ham
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Virginia Beach, VA
November 16, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Savory Mushroom Delight
November 16, 2010
I substituted the ham with bacon and brought them to our friends' home for Thanksgiving. People even ate these right after gorging themselves on the turkey dinner.
Review 7 for Cremini Mushrooms Stuffed with Spanish Ham
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Maca
Mexico City
May 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious and simple
May 14, 2010
I made this for a dinner party and it was a hit! I even had to make more during the party.