Corn Chowder with Grilled Shrimp

A farmers market or roadside stand is the best source for sweet corn. The natural sugars in the corn begin converting to starch the minute the ears are picked, so freshness is critical. Look for cobs with crisp green husks and dry, brownish silk that extends out the top (yellowish silk marks an immature ear). The kernels should be tightly packed in even rows and look plump and juicy.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(5 Reviews) 5
5 of 5(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Corn Chowder with Grilled Shrimp
Review 1 for Corn Chowder with Grilled Shrimp
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bear1201
January 20, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious and Easy to Make!
January 20, 2013
Great, easy to follow recipe Made this one night for my husband and he loved it! . We grilled the shrimp and threw them right into the chowder! Perfect meal for chilly nights.
Pros: Quick, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Corn Chowder with Grilled Shrimp
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Poncho
La Jolla, CA
July 23, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect for a chilly night!
July 23, 2011
Loved this recipe! This chowder was a big hit with the whole family. I added a little extra pepper and cayenne, but otherwise perfect. Great with some crusty bread.
Pros: Good Value, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Corn Chowder with Grilled Shrimp
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Canice
Park City, UT
February 6, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Dinner Part
February 6, 2011
I made this for a dinner party without trying first and loved the results. This soup is filled with slight hints of different flavors that all work together perfectly.
Review 4 for Corn Chowder with Grilled Shrimp
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GACook
Brunswick, GA
May 1, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Great Use for Fresh Corn
May 1, 2010
This is excellent. The only change I made to the recipe is to add some salt after the corn begins to soften - added too early, salt will toughen corn, but added too late and it will not season properly. Living in south Georgia, we have good corn for many months each year and it's great to have a new recipe to use the abundance. I don't think this would be good without fresh corn, so make it when corn is in season. Helpful hint - fresh corn, cut from the cob - blanched or not - freezes really well and I stock up on it in season. Cooked, stewed corn freezes very successfully and can be served as a side dish year-round, but it would also be fine to use in this soup.
Review 5 for Corn Chowder with Grilled Shrimp
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jody55
Watsonville, CA
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Quick Anytime Meal!
April 30, 2010
I have made this chowder too many times to count. It has a combination of smooth, chunky, and silky. It is a huge hit around our house year round, in the non-corn season I use fresh frozen sweet corn and it is just a good as when I use fresh off the cob.
The shrimp come out just perfect every time too. The marinade is just enough to give it a freshness that really pairs well with the chowder.
To top it off, neither one could be easier!