Cheese-Centered Mini Corn Breads

Use a muffin tin to make these cheese-filled mini corn breads, which are the perfect accompaniment to a steaming bowl of chili. Although best served warm from the oven, the corn bread can be baked in advance, then reheated in a microwave or in a 250deg.F oven just before serving. For an over-the-top variation, fold 2 oz. of finely diced ham into the prepared batter.
Average Customer Rating:
3.375 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
5 of 8(62%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Cheese-Centered Mini Corn Breads
Review 1 for Cheese-Centered Mini Corn Breads
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
chefnd
,Seattle
October 26, 2013
Ability level:Professional
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
better with butter
October 26, 2013
Last time I made these I thought they were dry, so this time I added 2-3 Tbsp extra melted butter. It made all the difference. I also made them in mini muffin pans because of taking them to a party, so I just cut the pieces of cheese smaller, and used pepper jack. It made about 32 minis. Still looking for a better cheese, but overall they taste great!
Pros: Quick, Good Value, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Appearance, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Cheese-Centered Mini Corn Breads
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ksyrah
,Anchorage
,AK
May 22, 2013
Ability level:Professional
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy and tasty
May 22, 2013
This recipe is not for a mini muffin pan. They are just called "mini corn breads".
Batter to standard muffin pan is perfect. Substituted bacon fat for the butter and used a high quality Fontina. Not at all bland but for more economical cheese substitutions I used pepper jack and on another occasion extra sharp cheddar.
Great for summer picnics and winter soups.
Pros: Adaptable
Review 3 for Cheese-Centered Mini Corn Breads
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Wubu
March 23, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not tested well
March 23, 2013
My mini pan looks just like your mini pan but there was way too much dough. I filled two pans,could have done three. Two TBSP batter plus cheese and a top were too much. Overflowed into cake-like. Ruined my Friday night. I double checked everything. Could not find an error.
Review 4 for Cheese-Centered Mini Corn Breads
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
UpperEastSide501
,Greater NYC area
Greater NY area
February 9, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not well tested
February 9, 2013
There is too much batter here for a 12-cup muffin pan; standard corn bread recipes use typically 1/3 less flours and liquid, at least in my kitchen. Plus the cheese is bland, adds nothing but fat, and I would increase rosemary.
This recipe makes a dozen mega-muffins. I can't believe W-S actually tested this thoroughly.
It's not up to their usual standards.
Pros: good concept
Cons: Taste, Yield
Review 5 for Cheese-Centered Mini Corn Breads
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PRLA51
,Sarasota
,FL
January 17, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent to accompany any hot meal
January 17, 2013
We did not add the rosemary but we used every other ingredient. They turned out delicious and will definitely repeat.
Review 6 for Cheese-Centered Mini Corn Breads
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Gertjuli
,Wheaton
,IL
January 14, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Might be good at Super Bowl party.
January 14, 2013
My husband did not like the cheese in the center. (Fontina) If I make them again, I will substitute the cheese. Might try a Monterey Jack.
Muffins were dry. Toasted them the next morning and the use of butter here improved them.
Cons: Taste, dry
Review 7 for Cheese-Centered Mini Corn Breads
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
kaski4
,La Crosse
,WI
January 13, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Nice with soup
January 13, 2013
These were easy to make but they made way more than the 12 mini muffins. I made those and then a pan of 12 regular size to freeze. Used gruyere because I had some.
Review 8 for Cheese-Centered Mini Corn Breads
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ndchef
,Seattle
,WA
Seattle WA
January 6, 2013
Ability level:Professional
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious with soup
January 6, 2013
These are easy to make, and delicious. Loved the rosemary. The cheese was a nice surprise biting in, just want the rest of the cornbread a little moister. I wanted to put butter on them, but didn't because of the cheese. They went beautifully with a black chickpea soup.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again