Corn Bread Dressing with Chestnuts

This recipe calls for baking the dressing separately from the turkey, which allows for faster roasting and more accurate timing of the bird. Be sure to toast the corn bread before combining it with the other ingredients. Fresh untoasted bread would absorb too much liquid, producing a soggy dressing.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
8 of 8(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Corn Bread Dressing with Chestnuts
Review 1 for Corn Bread Dressing with Chestnuts
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Janetor
November 17, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Never using another recipe!
November 17, 2013
Delicious, tender, with sweet cherries, savory chestnuts, and salty bacon. I used maple cured bacon and that added an extra layer of flavor. I'm seriously considering doubling the recipe this year so we'll have plenty of leftovers.
Pros: Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Corn Bread Dressing with Chestnuts
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LoLo1
,Torrance
,CA
United States
November 27, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Hands Down The Beast Stuffing!
November 27, 2011
This was the first time I tried this recipe and it was recommended to me by my BBF, a foodie in her own right! Everyone loved and I will use this recipe for years to come!
Pros: Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Corn Bread Dressing with Chestnuts
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Janelynn
,The Woodlands
,TX
November 20, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Really Good
November 20, 2011
I've been using this recipe for a few years and it's now a family favorite. I do not like chestnuts though so use chopped pecans instead. Also have used dried cranberries in place of cherries...either taste fine. The bacon really gives it great flavor.
Pros: Easy, Appearance, Impressive
Review 4 for Corn Bread Dressing with Chestnuts
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JMKSJ
Dallas
December 23, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A holiday must
December 23, 2010
This recipe is perfect as is, although I leave out the bacon sometimes if I'm serving kosher or vegetarian friends. My family couldn't imagine a Thanksgiving or Christmas without this dressing!
Review 5 for Corn Bread Dressing with Chestnuts
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MadHealthNut
Illinois
November 26, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Above anything else...
November 26, 2010
I have been making this stuffing for the past 3 years. I tend to use a larger ratio of vegetables and cranberries/cherries than the recipe calls for because I don't want the extra veggies to go bad in my fridge. Either way it is always amazing. The homemade cornbread really adds a richness and texture that other recipes lack. (I make the cornbread a day or two in advance). Whats even better is that I have family friends who specifically look forward to eatting this stuffing every year. So I would probably be disowned if I didn't make it! Thank you for making my Thanksgiving the best!
Review 6 for Corn Bread Dressing with Chestnuts
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GFCooking
Maine
November 25, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Yum! (Even good Gluten Free)
November 25, 2010
A fantastic combination of sweet, salty, sour, savoury, crunchy and soft. Our family has to cook gluten/wheat free. Fortunately, this recipe was easy to alter. I simply made gluten free cornbread and followed the WS recipe. It was so good we served it to all of our Thanksgiving guests, including friends who don't have to eat gluten free and it was an all around hit. The only downside is that it is a little pricey to make and caloric for everyday cooking.
Review 7 for Corn Bread Dressing with Chestnuts
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BexHaze
Hoboken, NJ
May 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Hit at Thanksgiving!
May 14, 2010
I wish Thanksgiving was every month, so I had a reason to make this more often. I used canned chicken stock and bought cornbread from a bakery. I followed the directions to a T and it came out perfectly. It was wonderful as leftovers, too.
Review 8 for Corn Bread Dressing with Chestnuts
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CMK2
New Orleans, LA
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful for Traditional Holiday Meals!
April 30, 2010
I wasn't brave enough to try my grandmother's traditional dressing for Thanksgiving and Christmas since there's no written recipe for it, but I wanted something with a traditional flavor and this recipe nailed it! I cheated a bit and bought pre-made cornbread from Whole Foods and I used dried cranberries instead of cherries. My local Williams-Sonoma was out of the chestnuts so I had to painstakingly boil and peel them - highly recommend the jar to save time (and your cuticals!). All the flavors of this recipe are wonderful with turkey and would go very well with chicken or pork!