Cole's Dutch Baby

This recipe comes from Cole Dickinson, who is Michael Voltaggio's sous chef at the restaurant Ink in Los Angeles. Dickinson says, "My mother was a single mom raising three kids. She made Dutch babies because they were affordable-and always made us feel special. Today, they're something we all associate with special occasions and happy times."
Average Customer Rating:
4.625 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
7 of 8(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Cole's Dutch Baby
Review 1 for Cole's Dutch Baby
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MariaIsabella
,Cleveland
,OH
February 22, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Real Treat!
February 22, 2014
I made this recipe as an alternative to our usual special Sunday breakfasts. It was an immediate hit! Now it's the most-requested breakfast for our special occasions. Frankly, I don't know why I save it for only those times. It's so easy to make and such a treat that I could easily make it any day of the week. It's also quite a conversation piece when company is over for brunch. And there are so many ways to top it off: plain powdered sugar, berries, whipped cream, pure maple syrup, other flavored syrups, creme fraiche, honey butter, etc.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Cole's Dutch Baby
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
kroset
,san jose
,ca
March 25, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:6 to 10 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
very heavy and dense
March 25, 2012
from the looks of this pic, it should rise and be light and fluffy but my experience was more like the other pic on the site where it was bottom heavy, didn't climb the sides and had the texture of a greasy custard . . . still looking for a good dutch baby recipe
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
spoe
Houston, TX
Posted May 22, 2014
Dutch Baby
Kroset, the problem might be the heavy cream. This is the first recipe I've seen with heavy cream. It is usually made with milk. Give that a try. Also, I always use my iron skillet. P.S. I used Williams Sonoma Dutch Baby Mix. It was awesome. Evidently they do not have it. I'm upset about it. I hope they get it back.
Images for this Comment
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
Customer avatar
csinensis
Lacey, WA
Posted June 2, 2013
Top 50 Contributor
Just wondering...did you wait till your ingredient were at room temp?
It does make difference a lot of times.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 3 for Cole's Dutch Baby
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mimisaunders
,Ville Platte
,LA
Ville Platte, LA
March 4, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfection!
March 4, 2012
Made this as part of a Sunday morning brunch for my husband and it could not have been easier. I used Lactaid Fat Free milk, but didn't skimp on butter, etc. For the syrup I just browned Canadian bacon and added syrup. Next time I will try putting fig and lemon preserves instead of the syrup.
Pros: Yield, Quick, Good Value, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 4 for Cole's Dutch Baby
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KMings
,Phoenix
,AZ
February 27, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Absolute heaven!!!
February 27, 2012
I am so glad I came across this recipe in the catolog the week after I finally bought myself a pair of all clad skillets! I increased the recipe by 1 extra egg, 1/4 cup flour and 1/4 cup milk because I had a 12 inch skillet. The only thing I would change about this recipe is that I would have some fresh berries to put on top next time. Looked just like the photo and there were zero leftovers. Thank you for a new favorite recipe for family breakfasts!!
Pros: Quick, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again, reason not to go to a restaurant for brunch!
Review 5 for Cole's Dutch Baby
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LuluVA
,Suffolk
,VA
February 26, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy and delicious!
February 26, 2012
My family could not wait to have this. It was so easy and could not fail in making. The ingredients are staple items in the pantry. I had to watch it the first time I made it so that it would not burn.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Will Make Again
Review 6 for Cole's Dutch Baby
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NWsecret
,Wa
Vancouver, WA
January 21, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:6 to 10 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Super easy and quick
January 21, 2012
Kids love it when it rises and makes "walls". I bake it only at 450 degrees for about 15 minutes, but I guess ovens do vary. Serve with bacon maple syrup just fantastic. W have made this a few times and the recipe has never failed. .
Pros: Quick, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Will Make Again
Review 7 for Cole's Dutch Baby
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
runbikebake
January 15, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
easy and delicious
January 15, 2012
Used cold eggs and milk straight from fridge and blended in my Vitamix until super frothy, so I don't agree with the "must be room temp and don't overmix" comment. You can't mess this up. Also, the drippings from the bacon can be substituted for some of the butter and only make it taste better!! Keep the ratio of 1/4c milk, 1/4 c flour, 1 egg and you can make more or less batter to accommodate a smaller or larger skillet. Super easy and fantastically yummy.
Pros: Quick, Good Value, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 8 for Cole's Dutch Baby
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AuntLinda
,Orinda
,Ca
January 9, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Perfect easy breakfast
January 9, 2012
Followed the recipe, minus the whipping cream topping. Used cold eggs and nonfat milk and had perfect results. The warm bacon syrup was the ideal topping, but sliced berries would work nicely too.
It takes under a half our from start to finish and makes a beautiful and delicious meal.
Pros: Good Value, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again, Yield, Quick, Easy, Kid-Friendly