Colcannon

An age-old Irish peasant dish assembled from leftovers, colcannon potatoes are traditionally served on St. Patrick's Day and Halloween but are also enjoyed throughout the year. The name colcannon comes from the Gaelic word for white-headed cabbage, an essential ingredient in the tasty mash along with potatoes, cream, butter, and sauteed leeks or onions. Home cooks customarily bury charms or coins, foretelling good luck or wealth, in the dish, perhaps in an effort to get children to eat their vegetables. Our colcannon makes a wonderful accompaniment to Stout-Braised Short Ribs (see related recipe at left).
Average Customer Rating:
4.833 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(6 Reviews) 6
6 of 6(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Colcannon
Review 1 for Colcannon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
woodlandbird
,Woodland Park
,CO
May 10, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Favorite way to eat potatoes
May 10, 2013
We followed this recipe exactly and it was absolutely wonderful with rosemary elk steaks. Even better the next day. I wouldn't make a single change, except maybe doubling it. :) Delicious!
Pros: Yield, Good Value, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Healthy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Colcannon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
aBusyCook
January 26, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazing leftovers
January 26, 2013
This is a winter staple in our house as the combination of lots of veggies and bacon is perfect for myself and my husband. It also makes great leftovers (another crucial element for me). Only comment is that I wouldn't use any other potato but russet / Idaho (we tried yukon gold and it became mussy and gross after 1 day)
Pros: Yield, Healthy, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Colcannon
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
RainyDay
,Seattle
,WA
Seattle, WA
March 17, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Comfort Food
March 17, 2012
This was pretty good. A bit messy to make, but rather easy. We had this with pulled pork that had braised for 9 hours and wow....what a combo!
My only disappointment is that the flavours of the leek, scallion and bacon weren't as pronounced as I would have liked. I will probably tweak it a bit next time to suit personal preferences.
Overall though, good, hearty comfort food.
Pros: Good Value, Will Make Again
Review 4 for Colcannon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DiannaKay
,Yucaipa
,CA
October 27, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Happy Halloween!
October 27, 2011
I was told this is a traditional dish for Halloween so I decided it would be perfect for our weekly Thursday night dinners just before Halloween. What a great way to get teenage boys (3) and two finicky adult men to eat their vegetables! Each went back for seconds and thirds. Hubby was afraid he 'd come Home to a house that smelled like boiled cabbage. He was probably the biggest fan of the dish. Don't plan on left overs. We normally have them but not with this dish. Thanks for such a great recipe!
Pros: Good Value, Easy, Healthy, Will Make Again
Cons: Appearance
Review 5 for Colcannon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Consumer2
Monarch Beach, CA
February 27, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent, but a lot of work
February 27, 2011
This was so delicious but it is very time consuming and required a lot of pots. Combined with the short ribs recipe, there was a lot of work involved. It is a restaurant quality meal. Very delicious, but be prepared to enlist assistants to help clean up.
Review 6 for Colcannon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cindymc
Newport, Oregon
July 25, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Side Dish with a Brisket
July 25, 2010
This is a delicious Irish side dish that had my guests humming and asking for more. The recipe is perfectly seasoned and doesn't need any adjusting. We are having it tonight, as a matter of fact. DELECTABLE FOR SURE!!!