Colcannon

An age-old Irish peasant dish assembled from leftovers, colcannon potatoes are traditionally served on St. Patrick's Day and Halloween but are also enjoyed throughout the year. The name colcannon comes from the Gaelic word for white-headed cabbage, an essential ingredient in the tasty mash along with potatoes, cream, butter, and sauteed leeks or onions. Home cooks customarily bury charms or coins, foretelling good luck or wealth, in the dish, perhaps in an effort to get children to eat their vegetables. Our colcannon makes a wonderful accompaniment to Stout-Braised Short Ribs.
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(4 Reviews) 4
4 of 4(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Colcannon
Review 1 for Colcannon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Amityville
,NY
December 22, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Colcannon Potatoes!
December 22, 2014
I made these potatoes with the Stout-Braised Short Ribs a few years ago. This year I hoped to find the recipe on-line to pair with a ham I'm preparing for New Year's Day. What luck! These are the tastiest potatoes I've ever had. With the added kale and cabbage, it can serve as a potato and a vegetable, all in one. So full-bodied and flavorful. Try them. You and your guests will not be disappointed!
Pros: Yield, Healthy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 2 for Colcannon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Woodland Park
,CO
May 10, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Favorite way to eat potatoes
May 10, 2013
We followed this recipe exactly and it was absolutely wonderful with rosemary elk steaks. Even better the next day. I wouldn't make a single change, except maybe doubling it. :) Delicious!
Pros: Yield, Good Value, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Healthy, Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Colcannon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
January 26, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazing leftovers
January 26, 2013
This is a winter staple in our house as the combination of lots of veggies and bacon is perfect for myself and my husband. It also makes great leftovers (another crucial element for me). Only comment is that I wouldn't use any other potato but russet / Idaho (we tried yukon gold and it became mussy and gross after 1 day)
Pros: Yield, Healthy, Will Make Again
Review 4 for Colcannon
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
,Seattle
,WA
Seattle, WA
March 17, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Comfort Food
March 17, 2012
This was pretty good. A bit messy to make, but rather easy. We had this with pulled pork that had braised for 9 hours and wow....what a combo!
My only disappointment is that the flavours of the leek, scallion and bacon weren't as pronounced as I would have liked. I will probably tweak it a bit next time to suit personal preferences.
Overall though, good, hearty comfort food.
Pros: Good Value, Will Make Again