Classic Vanilla Bean Ice Cream

The best vanilla ice cream is made with vanilla beans that have been steeped in custard to release their maximum flavor. If vanilla beans are unavailable, simply omit the steeping and add 2 tsp. vanilla extract to the chilled custard before freezing.
Average Customer Rating:
3.6 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(5 Reviews) 5
4 of 5(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Classic Vanilla Bean Ice Cream
Review 1 for Classic Vanilla Bean Ice Cream
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sigal
September 2, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:6 to 10 people
Cooks:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
its the worst ice cream I have ever tasted
September 2, 2012
The ice cream turns out so bad because it tastes so fat, i mean there is to much egg yolkes and insted of 2 cups of heavy you need to put some milk and some half - half cream (i dont know the exact amounts) and I strongly recomend that you do not make this ice cream.
try to find a recipy where there is part milk and part half - half cream.
Cons: Cost, Confusing, Unhealthy, hard, a lot of work, will never make again
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Lynn2004
San Rafael, CA
Posted December 6, 2012
This ice cream is the best (fat-not sugar-is bad)
I just want others to get another opinion on this recipe.
My family LOVES this recipe!! The fat givers wonderful flavorful and satisfies our sweet tooth.
On that note, I hope people start learning the truth about fat...it's actually sugar, not fat, that gives us heart disease and a propensity to gain weight.
With rich, creamy foods such as this one, I notice my family is satisfied on less.
I hope others give this recipe a try. It's delicious!!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Classic Vanilla Bean Ice Cream
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BerkeleyJack
Berkeley
April 6, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Here's how we make it in Foodie Heaven
April 6, 2011
Steep into one pint of heavy organic whipping cream plus half a cup of milk, 2 whole vanilla beans. Mix 3 large eggs with 2 cups of sugar, and then add the cream. Heat atop a stove until it coats the back of a spoon, 191 degrees F. Chill overnight (very important -- the custard "tempers"). Churn. I like it best after it sits in a freezer for a few hours, but my wife loves it right out of the machine. This recipe is sweeter than most, and also more creamy. I did a lot of experimentation, and also research online. I publish my results here for your benefit, for the love of the cream itself.
Do enjoy.
Pros: best possible
Review 3 for Classic Vanilla Bean Ice Cream
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
teamiannone
Orange County, Ca
July 7, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A child could make it
July 7, 2010
My children and i have made a deal for the summer. We have decided to cook our way through your reciepes. My childrens age 11, 9,7 and 6. we are having a blast and would recommend this reciepe.
Review 4 for Classic Vanilla Bean Ice Cream
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Maluta
Simi Valley, California
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Soft and pleasantly tasteful
April 30, 2010
I was pleasantly surprised at how easy it was to make vanilla ice cream. My family loved it. The vanilla ice cream was soft and very tasteful. This recipe is going on my personal recipe book.
Review 5 for Classic Vanilla Bean Ice Cream
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Suzeee
Kissimmee, FL
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Classic Vanilla Bean Ice Cream
April 30, 2010
This a great recipe on it's own which will please any crowd! Any favorite fruit, nuts, sprinkles with or without whipped cream will further adapt this recipe to your companies' desires