Classic Vanilla Bean Ice Cream

The best vanilla ice cream is made with vanilla beans that have been steeped in custard to release their maximum flavor. If vanilla beans are unavailable, simply omit the steeping and add 2 tsp. vanilla extract to the chilled custard before freezing.
Average Customer Rating:
3.75 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(4 Reviews) 4
3 of 4(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Classic Vanilla Bean Ice Cream
Review 1 for Classic Vanilla Bean Ice Cream
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ChefFoodie
,Tellico Plains
,TN
July 21, 2014
Ability level:Professional
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Classic Recipe
July 21, 2014
This is a perfect recipe for vanilla ice cream. Easy to make, smooth and creamy and no artificial flavors. With this recipe, there is no excuse for not making from scratch, especially if you would like to get away from undesirable additives.
Pros: Easy, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Classic Vanilla Bean Ice Cream
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PattySueRocks
,Bend
,OR
July 3, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best ice cream ever
July 3, 2014
This ice cream is sooo creamy! Also, very smooth. My family and friends love. Getting ready to make it again this 4th of July! Just love it!
Pros: Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 3 for Classic Vanilla Bean Ice Cream
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
JB3010
June 29, 2014
Ability level:Novice
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This is really good!
June 29, 2014
Had this in class today 6/29/2014. It was very good. I actually like this better than the starter or others that I have had that have the half and half/heavy cream mix.
We had it right out of the Breville Smart Scoop Ice Cream Compressor. I think once it gets harder it will be even better. That is why I gave it a 4.
You do have to pay attention because you don't want the half and half to boil over and make sure to temper the eggs. Also make sure everything is chilled.
Pros: Appearance, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Cons: Lengthy
Review 4 for Classic Vanilla Bean Ice Cream
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sigal
September 2, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:6 to 10 people
Cooks:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
-6points
0of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
its the worst ice cream I have ever tasted
September 2, 2012
The ice cream turns out so bad because it tastes so fat, i mean there is to much egg yolkes and insted of 2 cups of heavy you need to put some milk and some half - half cream (i dont know the exact amounts) and I strongly recomend that you do not make this ice cream.
try to find a recipy where there is part milk and part half - half cream.
Cons: Cost, Confusing, Unhealthy, hard, a lot of work, will never make again
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Lynn2004
San Rafael, CA
Posted December 6, 2012
This ice cream is the best (fat-not sugar-is bad)
I just want others to get another opinion on this recipe.
My family LOVES this recipe!! The fat givers wonderful flavorful and satisfies our sweet tooth.
On that note, I hope people start learning the truth about fat...it's actually sugar, not fat, that gives us heart disease and a propensity to gain weight.
With rich, creamy foods such as this one, I notice my family is satisfied on less.
I hope others give this recipe a try. It's delicious!!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)