Classic Pumpkin Pie

To add a fanciful finish to this pumpkin pie, use decorative cutters to create autumnal shapes from rolled-out pie dough. If desired, use the tip of a paring knife to create details on the cutouts, such as veins on the leaves. Then bake the cutouts and place them on the baked and cooled pie. When preparing this pie, be sure to use a deep-dish pie dish.
Average Customer Rating:
4.692 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
12 of 13(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Classic Pumpkin Pie
Review 1 for Classic Pumpkin Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Molly0812
,Cleveland
,OH
December 24, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best pumpkin pie recipe anywhere!
December 24, 2013
I searched for several years for the perfect pumpkin pie recipe. I've made probably about five different recipes from scratch and wasn't impressed until I came across this recipe. It has deep flavor and a great texture. This is the second year in a row I have used this recipe and my mom - who always asks that I make a pumpkin pie with Libby's pumpkin pie mix and I refuse - actually said it was the best pumpkin pie she has ever had. And my husband who does not typically like pumpkin pie loves this recipe.
Pros: Quick, Easy, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Classic Pumpkin Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pastina57
,Summit
,NJ
November 26, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Most flavorful pumpkin pie ever..
November 26, 2013
Made this pie for an early Thanksgiving celebration. Everyone went nuts over it. Even guests who generally don't like pumpkin pie said it was amazing and had a piece. The filling was like silk and had so much flavor. The only changes was that I used a bit more freshly ground nutmeg and also used fresh ground cloves. Also, I used my own recipe for pie crust recipe. This is a keeper!!
Pros: Will Make Again
Review 3 for Classic Pumpkin Pie
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
BirdsOfFire
,Dallas
,TX
November 19, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-10points
0of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Dense, Poor Taste, Fattening, Sweet
November 19, 2013
Louis DeGouy's recipe for Pumpkin Pie in the Gold Cookbook (his magnum opus) is still the best Pumpkin Pie, ever. He separates the eggs, beats the whites and folds them in before placing them into the shell. This makes his Pumpkin Pie light, flavorful, and a true revelation to people who don't like Pumpkin Pie.
Cons: Taste, Unhealthy
Review 4 for Classic Pumpkin Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mangopapaya
November 23, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastic pumpkin pie
November 23, 2012
I love this pumpkin pie. It's easy to make and very delicious. If you like pumpkin pie, I highly recommend trying out this recipe.
Pros: Kid-Friendly, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Unhealthy
Review 5 for Classic Pumpkin Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Claire123456
November 21, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best holiday pie
November 21, 2011
I have made this pie every Thanksgiving and Christmas for quite a few years now and it never gets old. I always make it with a graham cracker pie crust and it's DELICIOUS! The best pie ever!
Review 6 for Classic Pumpkin Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KLarson
,Vancouver
,BC
Vancouver, B.C.
October 11, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Simple and Perfect!
October 11, 2011
I made this recipe for Thanksgiving dinner, was an absolute hit to say the least. I printed this recipe off and put it in my classic recipe collection to use as my pumpkin pie go-to recipe. The crust turned out perfect as well as the filling. Would definitely recommend.
Pros: Easy, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 7 for Classic Pumpkin Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Starshine
,Rohnert Park
,ca
October 5, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
an easy make and the best taste ever...
October 5, 2011
I made this pie today with my granddaughter. I let her do the whole thing and she had never made/cooked anything before. It was an easy fix. I bought deep dish pre-made pie shell and the filling filled two of them..So, if you don't have your own shell and deep dish..be prepared for two small deep dish pies..they were the most delightfully good pumpkin pies ever...it was a little sweet and rich to the taste, but, the spices were just right and the pie melts in your mouth....one of the best ever...would really be good with pecans.
Pros: Quick, Kid-Friendly, Will Make Again
Review 8 for Classic Pumpkin Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jessica03
Chicago
March 21, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect Pumpkin Pie Recipe
March 21, 2011
This is the perfect pumpkin pie recipe. Perfect amount of spice, perfect texture. It tastes divine. I have had several people tell me it is the best pumpkin pie they've ever tasted. I recommend making it with the Cooks Illustrated vodka-pie-crust - DIVINE.
Review 9 for Classic Pumpkin Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Roshi
Cardiff, CA
December 8, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect for a Quick Holiday Dessert
December 8, 2010
It the first pie that I have ever made ...ever. It is an easy and extra spicy pie. Everyone loved it and asks for the recipe!
Review 10 for Classic Pumpkin Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
annielynn
Payson, Utah
November 27, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious!
November 27, 2010
Made this pie for Thanksgiving. It's so easy and everyone loved it. Even the people who aren't pumpkin pie fans loved it. It's really good with homemade whipped cream and/or homemade vanilla ice cream.
Review 11 for Classic Pumpkin Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
La Habra, Ca
November 24, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazing Pie
November 24, 2010
This is hands down the best pumpkin pie recipe ever. It is so good, I tried to get out of making dessert one year and buying a pie from a great restaurant. They went on strike. Amazing texture and flavor. I spice it up a bit by doubling the spices. Yummmmm!
Review 12 for Classic Pumpkin Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SherriJo
Abilene, Texas
May 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
5of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Sticking with this Recipe
May 14, 2010
I beat out my step-mother's famous pumpkin pie in a taste test with this one ... great tasting pie - though I do agree you need a deep dish as the filling goes a long way!
Review 13 for Classic Pumpkin Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AvonMom
Bradenton. FL
May 2, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
True Holiday Classic
May 2, 2010
Although the pastry took some practice, I finally mastered it by Thanksgiving and this pie was the hit of the day! As recommended, I used a deep-dish pie dish (Emile Henry Ruffled) and needed every inch as the filling is generous and the crust needs room for a proper display. No canned filling can compare to the rich flavor of this filling and the cut-outs made for great presentation. In fact, it was so pretty that no one wanted to cut it...but they did! A real holiday keeper!