Classic Gougeres

Produced in both France and Switzerland, Gruyere is a cow's milk cheese with a subtle, nutty flavor. It shreds easily and melts beautifully, making it excellent for cooking, and is a superlative table cheese. Swiss Gruyere is one of the traditional cheeses used in fondue. The French version of this cheese, also called Gruyere de Comte, or simply Comte, is aged longer than Swiss Gruyere. Hence, it has a deeper flavor that is preferred for gougeres and other French dishes.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(5 Reviews) 5
4 of 5(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Classic Gougeres
Review 1 for Classic Gougeres
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
jmasb
,New York
,NY
December 30, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Disappointed
December 30, 2011
I made these to bring to a party recently. The recipe was easy to follow- I specifically used Comte cheese, adding a bit more as per one of the reviews I had read. I also used a pastry bag to form them. They baked up beautifully- crisp on the outside, light and moist on the inside. When I popped one into my mouth, I was expecting to be wowed, but it was terribly disappointing. They needed a bit more sea salt that the recipe required, and the gruyere taste was uninspiring. Were not a hit at the party as well. Will have to search for another recipe.
Pros: Yield, Easy, Appearance
Cons: Taste
Review 2 for Classic Gougeres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PortlandCook
Portland, OR
December 1, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Crowd Pleaser
December 1, 2010
I've been making this recipe every holiday season since it came out. I take a batch or two to parties, and they are a hit. My friends affectionately call them cheezy poofs and specifically request them.Best hot, but still gobbled up when room temperature.
I up the cheese, You can't have too much cheese.
A few years back, I collected a ton of gourgeres recipes to come up with my own master recipe with variations based on different types of cheese and seasoning. None were as good as this basic recipe.
I've always dropped them onto a cookie sheet with a spoon. This year I'm going to try a pastry bag for a more even appearance.
Review 3 for Classic Gougeres
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Courriere
Courriere, Belgium
November 28, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good but a bit floury and heavy
November 28, 2010
Gougeres became trendy a couple of years ago, and as a result there are a lot of recipes out there. In general it's a great idea for appetizers, and most recipes hew to the four eggs - four tsp butter - 1 cup liquid - 1 cup flour - 3/4 cup cheese ratio.
I found this recipe to be a bit floury and heavy once finished, even though I omitted the final egg wash step and didn't roll them in cheese. They were crispy and tasted good; however, I've seen other recipes with less cheese, more milk etc and believe those came out better.
Review 4 for Classic Gougeres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rpsebaughn
Stoughton, WI
November 21, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Gougeres Recipe Out There
November 21, 2010
I've tried several gougeres recipes, however, this is the only one I use since discovering it last year, as it's the only one with consistent results and remarkable flavor. The touch of cayenne and paprika contrast well with the Comte, bringing out the sharpness of the cheese. Mine never look like the matzo balls pictured above; mine turn out like rustic domes, which I actually prefer to the look above. These pair well with the Apple Cidercars and this is now a Fall & Winter tradition for our family. I made these for a party last February and ended up having to whip up a third batch as the first two flew of the platter!
Review 5 for Classic Gougeres
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wheets
Rochester,NY
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy and delicious
April 30, 2010
This is the perfect appetizer for an evening of drinks and good food. It is not difficult and takes no time at all to prepare. Can be frozen for future use.