Classic Baking-Powder Biscuits

The key to making featherlight biscuits and scones is minimal handling of the flaky, crumbly dough. You may think the dough needs more kneading to hold together, but the less you work it, the lighter the result will be. When adding the butter, work quickly so it does not melt into the dough before the biscuits go in the oven. If it becomes soft, the biscuits will be tough. Shape the dough on a lightly floured surface, gently pressing and patting it into a thick circle.
Average Customer Rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(5 Reviews) 5
4 of 5(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Classic Baking-Powder Biscuits
Review 1 for Classic Baking-Powder Biscuits
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
csinensis
Lacey, WA
January 7, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I can't believe I didn't make these sooner!!!
January 7, 2014
I made these biscuits last night. This recipe doesn't require any exautic ingredient. I always have all of the ingredient in my fridge/pantry. I used food processor to mix in the butter and it took less than a minute to get them incorporated. I used baking powder instead of baking soda. Also used plain Greek yogurt thinned with milk in place of milk in the recipe. They came out beautiful, smelled wonderful, and it just melted in my mouth. I will never buy the canned dough stuff. I'll definitely make these again and again and again!!
Pros: Quick, Good Value, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Adaptable, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Classic Baking-Powder Biscuits
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
HudsonGal
Seattle, WA
July 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
-3points
0of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Better Biscuits Out There
July 14, 2010
This recipe only made 6 biscuits for me. Despite the larger size, the cooking time was still MUCH too long. Also, the baking soda is in the recipe with nothing to react with it! Why not just use more baking powder? Overall, not a keeper. There are better biscuit recipes out there.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
ButtercreamBikini
Posted June 27, 2013
On the contrary...
I actually found that these were the best bicuits I have made to date. They are exactly like the ones I had as a child. It is definatly a keeper!!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Classic Baking-Powder Biscuits
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
motokelly
Grand Rapids, MI
May 17, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
SO much better than any store-bought biscuit!
May 17, 2010
These biscuits are super easy to make, and hard to stop eating. They're wonderful!
Review 4 for Classic Baking-Powder Biscuits
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tahiti2011
Vacaville, CA
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So worth the 10 min it takes to prepare!
April 30, 2010
There's never a reason to buy packaged biscuits. They're so simple to make and there's no shopping for the ingredients, it's all in your kitchen right now! And served hot with butter and your favorite preserve, these are fantastic!! Enjoy!
Review 5 for Classic Baking-Powder Biscuits
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
shaebae
Lansing, Michigan
April 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
SUPER SUPER YUM-MO
April 30, 2010
Just like mommy use to make. I truly had a moment where I remembered being a little girl. These were so moist and flaky--great for breakfast or dinner with butter and syrup or strawberries. I will definitely make these again.