Cioppino

The origin of this famous San Francisco specialty is open to speculation. Most locals believe it is related to the Italian cacciucco, a fish stew of Livorno, and to the fish stews of the Friuli region, which are made with red wine. Serve with grilled coarse country bread rubbed with garlic.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(6 Reviews) 6
6 of 6(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Cioppino
Review 1 for Cioppino
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
StaleyBear
,Atlanta
,GA
Atlanta, GA
March 2, 2013
Ability level:Professional
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy and Satisfying
March 2, 2013
Fantastic! Easy and delicious. I live in a landlocked area, so the seafood was the primary cost factor. That said, it was still a sensible indulgence. I used the Williams-Sonoma Fish Stock Concentrate to further speed the process and allow for more balance and freshness than a bottle of clam juice would have yielded (fish fumet/stock is not difficult to make, but who wants to if they don't have to?) I will make this again, enthusiastically!
Pros: Yield, Easy, Healthy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Cost
Review 2 for Cioppino
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jovanna
Long Island, NY
September 17, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Mamma Mia, so good!
September 17, 2012
This is a great recipe. It is almost like Lidia's but better. The secret ingredient is ground fennel, don't omit it--it imparts a flavor that elevates the dish and makes it sing. I must admit that I discovered a great jarred sauce, which is like my homemade sauce; you pay more for these better brands, but it has authentic taste. Don't even think about using inferior sauce. Add crusty bread and a salad, and you're good to go. I make this at least 2x a month. You can start the first steps early in day and finish it off at dinnertime.
Review 3 for Cioppino
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DaisiesMom
,Boston
,MA
December 21, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Christmas Eve Tradition
December 21, 2011
I have made this recipe for my family (6 adults) for Christmas Eve the past 3 years. I serve w/ crusty bread and an antipasto salad. It is now expected every year and has become our "tradional" way of celebrating the "7 fishes" on Christmas Eve. Once the prep work is completed, it is very easy make. And it's a bonus that it tastes absolutely fabulous! I even save "leftover" broth for a soup later. I look forward to making this whenever I can...even if it isn't Christmas Eve.
Pros: Quick, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Cost
Review 4 for Cioppino
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jarling
New York
July 23, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Worth every effort
July 23, 2011
This was just simply awesome. Will definitely make this again!!!
Pros: Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Cons: Lengthy
Review 5 for Cioppino
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dennis46
San Francisco, CA
January 12, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy and Delicious
January 12, 2011
Fast, simple and great dish. The recipe gives you very generous portions, I could have served 8 (served it over pasta).
Review 6 for Cioppino
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Orlando, FL
July 4, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent!
July 4, 2010
This version of the San Francisco staple is outstanding. Very flavorful and authentic. Made this for Christmas Eve dinner and everyone raved about it.