This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Chocolate Sandwich Cookie Cake

Using our sandwich cookie cake pan set, you can create a dessert that is reminiscent of creamy sandwich cookies. The two cakes are baked separately and then sandwiched together with rich buttercream frosting or cooling ice cream. This luscious treat will satisfy kids and grown-ups alike!
Average Customer Rating:
3.546 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
8 of 11(73%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Chocolate Sandwich Cookie Cake
Review 1 for Chocolate Sandwich Cookie Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jenn781
Whitehouse Station, NJ
July 7, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
A go-to cake recipe
July 7, 2011
I love this recipe, somewhere between cake and a brownie. I've made it three times now. The first two times I used frosting in the middle which was quick and easy. The last time I tried the ice cream version. It was a big hit, but the ice cream didn't freeze quickly enough and did leak out the bottom a bit. Next time I will try spreading the ice cream in a silicon cake pan and re-freezing before putting it between the cakes. I have never had a problem getting the cake out of the pan. I use Wilton "Release" and a pastry brush and I don't dust the pan with the cocoa powder.
Pros: Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Chocolate Sandwich Cookie Cake
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ellsbells
MA
February 25, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
0points
recipe was poor at best
February 25, 2011
Cookie pans are cute and make a cute looking cake but the recipe is terrible. I followed the recipe to the letter and the cake looks bad! I have not tried it (although from the looks of it it looks like a brownie recipe.) I am not making it for the "moist amazing cake" but for the novelty of the pans. The cakes released from the pans but the details are gone. (Looks like swiss cheese) I can to even read COOKIE on the top (or the bottom for that matter). I will have to find a different recipe next time This one is awful!
Review 3 for Chocolate Sandwich Cookie Cake
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
1SoutherngalRC
Tampa, Florida
December 24, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Pretty Cool Idea! (mix needs tweaking)
December 24, 2010
I purchased the chocolate cookie cake MIX! I followed the directions on the box & the cake looked good! It held ALL the details from the pans, so cute! (EZ clean-up) KIDS were amazed!!
As for the taste....I expected the cake to taste heavy, rich and moist. It turned out, heavy, rich and dry on the edges. The package of cream icing was AWESOME! I think that this recipe needs some tweaking (dryness on edges or add more icing to mask the dryness) to become an all around "Hit!" OR use your own recipe.
Review 4 for Chocolate Sandwich Cookie Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jmrm
Brighton, MI
December 11, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Incredible ice cream cake!
December 11, 2010
This recipe makes an incredible ice cream cake. The texture of the cake is somewhere between a brownie and a cake, and deeply chocolately. Fantastic. I, too, would absolutely love to have a recipe for a blondie version. Williams-Sonoma, please do this for us, and the pans will get twice the use!
Review 5 for Chocolate Sandwich Cookie Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
teri2000
Tucson, AZ
September 19, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Help! Need vanilla variation!
September 19, 2010
I made this cake with the ice cream variation for my daughter's birthday this weekend and we all loved it BUT it was a little too chocolate-y for some and I would like to try a vanilla/blondie-type recipe with it. Any suggestions??
Review 6 for Chocolate Sandwich Cookie Cake
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
MagaliesBaker
Ohio
September 18, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
0points
The very worst experience with WS product.
September 18, 2010
Directions were followed to the letter. Cakes did not release from the "easy" release pans despite 20 minutes of painstaking greasing with a tiny pastry brush and dusting with flour. Sloppy to look at. (Used the WS cookie cake & frosting mix.) Frosting had a horrible aftertaste, was not light or fluffy and was "tan" in color. I have never been so disappointed in a Williams Sonoma product before. Thankfully this was a gift so my money was not wasted.
Review 7 for Chocolate Sandwich Cookie Cake
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
jillybeanZ
Salt Lake City, UT
August 23, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
A little rich, but tasty
August 23, 2010
All in all, a good cake, but it was a little too rich. You can't eat a whole piece (1/12 of the cake). The buttercream frosting is awesome-- super fluffy and tastes amazing, and it's a cinch to make.
Review 8 for Chocolate Sandwich Cookie Cake
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
mkj0247
boston
July 24, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
cookie cake
July 24, 2010
dry like a cookie. rosie's cook book gives more moist cake recipes. disappointing, like the marianne pan cake recipe was too hard from the amount of sugar, so i use the daisy lemon cake recipe.
Review 9 for Chocolate Sandwich Cookie Cake
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SouthTampaMom
Tampa, FL
June 4, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Almost brownies
June 4, 2010
Delicious recipe. Could be the homemade brownies recipe I've been looking for, but as a "cookie" it's a delicious treat. I tried the ice cream variation and the ice cream didn't set, so I'll go back to the buttercream frosting next time.
My family absolutely loves it when I make this dessert!
Review 10 for Chocolate Sandwich Cookie Cake
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
pjsweet72
Xenia, Ohio
June 2, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Great for a end of year gift for teachers!!
June 2, 2010
My mom bought me this pan set and I made it to give to my son's elementary school's office, just as a thank you for all they did for the year. The receipe was easy but it came out like a brownie and not like a cake. I am sure they will love it just the same. I am just not sure if I did something wrong or was it suppose to come out that way.
Review 11 for Chocolate Sandwich Cookie Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Folsom, CA
May 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Perfect for Elementary School Functions
May 14, 2010
The first time I made this cake, the cake stuck to the pan and wouldn't come out. Then I made it again and sprayed it the Pam spray which has flour in it. Then I sprinkled the cocoa over it. The cake fell out of the pan. Excellent. The cream frosting was stiff which held the cake and made it just like an oreo cookie. I washed the pans right away and had no problems with clean up. Great Pan and a Great recipe!