Chocolate Pudding Pie

To make decorative chocolate curls, wrap a medium-size chunk of semisweet chocolate in plastic wrap. Rub the wrapped chocolate between your hands for 1 or 2 minutes to warm it; the chocolate should not melt. For larger chunks, microwave on low for about 5 seconds. Unwrap the chocolate and, using a vegetable peeler, slowly and evenly scrape the edge of the chunk until curls form. If the chocolate is cold, the peeler will make ragged shavings rather than curls, so repeat warming the chocolate as necessary.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
13 of 13(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Chocolate Pudding Pie
Review 1 for Chocolate Pudding Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bigfatti
March 9, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy & divine Dessert
March 9, 2014
This is the most easy, delicious, croud-pleasing dessert and has no expensive ingredients or piles of cream/fat. i actually put the pie in the freezer and unlike cheescake i could get it straight out of the freezer and not have to defrost it! I used the cookie crumb base recipe with oreo bscuits and less butter and sugar. Definitely adding to my favourites!
Pros: Quick, Good Value, Easy, Healthy, Appearance, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Chocolate Pudding Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
YaddaYadda
December 7, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great dessert for the holidays!
December 7, 2013
I've made this pie a few times for family get-togethers during the holidays. It is always a hit! If you can, splurge on good chocolate to make the pudding.
Pros: Will Make Again
Review 3 for Chocolate Pudding Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mjpino
,Miami
,FL
August 27, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious Pie
August 27, 2012
This was the perfect chocolate pudding pie. The filling was so rich and creamy and the whipped cream wasn't too sweet, which paired nicely with the pudding. My husband really enjoyed it. This one is a keeper!
Pros: Will Make Again
Review 4 for Chocolate Pudding Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chocoholic65
,Fort Worth
,Tx
July 9, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:6 to 10 people
Cooks:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Superb Chocolate Pie!
July 9, 2012
This was a great pie. One of the best, if not the very best pie I've ever had. I made it with a normal crust thinking that a cookie crust would be too sweet. I still believe that. The pudding was so great I did not need a chocolate crust to compete with the filling. Family raved about it.
Pros: Easy, Will Make Again
Review 5 for Chocolate Pudding Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PennyPie
,Kansas City
,MO
May 31, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Chocolate Pie Ever
May 31, 2012
I made this pie for Memorial Day and I had 4 people tell me it was the best chocolate pie they'd ever had. My husband told me "It's a keeper!"
Pros: Appearance, Will Make Again
Review 6 for Chocolate Pudding Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
goofer91784
,CA
December 28, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Just like my Grandmother used to make
December 28, 2011
I made this recipe for my Dad on Thanksgiving because he specifically requested a chocolate pie like his Mom used to make him. I did change some things (made with a regular pie crust and used a meringue on top). My only problem seems to be that the pudding never sets up, it's very runny. When the pie is cut into it runs all over the opening. But overall it's still very good! My Dad loved it so much he actually requested it again for Christmas.
Pros: Easy, Will Make Again
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Chocoholic65
Posted July 9, 2012
Runny filling?
Would suggest closely following the recipe and when you add the egg mixture to the chocolate mixture, you turn the heat up and make sure it's bubbling and thick before you remove from the heat. Also, I whisked the mixture often while it was heating up. I noticed a lot of chocolate clumps while I was doing this. So, stick with the cooking/whisking until it's thick and when you pull the pot off the stove, make sure you then whisk until the mixture is smooth. When you pour it into the pie shell, put the wrap directly on the surface and refrigerate. Many recipes call for letting it cool down first. Don't do that. Also, I let my filling cool overnight. Was perfect.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Chocolate Pudding Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MrsMelissa
,Newbury park
,Ca
December 23, 2011
Ability level:Professional
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best chocolate pie
December 23, 2011
So yummy!! Highly recommend!! My husband loved it!
Pros: Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again, Easy, Healthy
Review 8 for Chocolate Pudding Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
natalie99
,Waco
,TX
October 26, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
BEST chocolate pie ever
October 26, 2011
Delactable cholatey goodness all within a semi-hard oreo crust. Better than any chocolate pie ever made. Anyone looking for a chocolate twist in life should try this pie!!!!!!!!!
Pros: Good Value, Kid-Friendly, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again, delectable
Cons: Unhealthy, Lengthy
Review 9 for Chocolate Pudding Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
OhGolly
Hurst, Texas
May 20, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Deserving of the title, "THE Pie"
May 20, 2011
I first tried this recipe in 2006. I got it from a friend who doesn't bake well, but knows that I do. OMG! It immediatly became our favorite chocolate pie ever, deserving of the name, "THE Pie". I cannot find the box of Oreo crumbs anymore, nor the Oreo ready made crust in the grocery store. However, I found the ready-made Oreo crusts on the Internet. The crust has to be Oreo in some form-- I would never try using "chocolate cookie crust". To make it easier, you can use semi-sweet mini chocolate chips, but then you don't have the bar of chocolate to make the swirls on top. Always use fresh whipping cream (never Cool Whip) and this will be the most amazing chocolate cream pie you make!
Pros: Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again, delicious
Review 10 for Chocolate Pudding Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mangopapaya
May 17, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for chocolate lovers
May 17, 2011
Delicious and rich, and pretty easy to make. Great for chocolate lovers.
Pros: Will Make Again
Review 11 for Chocolate Pudding Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SweetConfectionsbyKim
Loganville, Georgia
February 25, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great pie!
February 25, 2011
This is a great pie recipe. The only thing that I changed is that I use milk chocolate instead of semi sweet.
Review 12 for Chocolate Pudding Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kellybelly
Washington, DC
June 8, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious!
June 8, 2010
This pie is amazing. I've made it several times- it is so velvety! The pie crust is incredibly easy to make. I used Annie's chocolate bunnies for the crust, and made sure to buy extra to munch on. Totally worth the time... make sure to chill it for a while before serving!
Review 13 for Chocolate Pudding Pie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1pastrygirl
Thousand Oaks, CA
May 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Family Favorite
May 14, 2010
I have two chocoholics in my house, and
they both loved this pie! It tastes like the
best chocolate pudding with a chocolate cookie crust and whipped cream. Creamy,
smooth, and really rich and chocolate-y.