Chocolate-Peanut Butter Sandwiches

Made by grinding dry-roasted peanuts to a paste, peanut butter is a favorite food of kids and grown-ups alike. It is available in two styles: creamy, or smooth, and chunky, that is, with finely chopped nuts mixed in for texture. Natural peanut butters are made without the additives that ease spreadability. They have a somewhat grainy consistency and a layer of oil on top that must be stirred in before using.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
6 of 7(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Chocolate-Peanut Butter Sandwiches
Review 1 for Chocolate-Peanut Butter Sandwiches
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Carefulbuyer
,High Point
,NC
January 12, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
GREAT kid pleaser!
January 12, 2013
I made this recipe for a dinner party that included some young children. Takes a while, but definitely worth it! Everyone loved them and I almost didn't get any for myself! I didn't have any difficulty at all following the directions, and the cookie sandwiches came out perfectly! I do agree with another user however, that the peanut butter filling could almost be doubled (I like a lot of filling). Great kid (and adult) pleaser.
Pros: Good Value, Easy, Kid-Friendly, Appearance, Will Make Again
Review 2 for Chocolate-Peanut Butter Sandwiches
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BabyBee
Haymarket, VA
June 28, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A little tricky, but totally worth it
June 28, 2011
The first time I made these I made the cookies way too big and when they baked they spread out even more so I ended up with about 5 giant whoopie pies, so make sure you portion the cookies evenly and make them small because they will spread. The dough is extremely sticky and hard to work with but I found that if you stick it in the freezer for some time, It becomes easier to manage. I kept it in the freezer while waiting for batches to come out of the oven to keep the dough manageable. The filling is great and the end result is even better. I made these during finals and half the library came over to ask for a cookie.. your family and friends won't be able to get enough of these!
Pros: Appearance, Impressive, Will Make Again, delicious
Review 3 for Chocolate-Peanut Butter Sandwiches
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous
March 12, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious and Different Snack
March 12, 2011
Very very delicious! The filling isn't quite enough -- you could definitely almost double the recipe and it wouldn't be too much. Be careful cooking them, the smaller cookies can get burnt on the bottom. I cooked for 10 minutes and the bigger ones were perfect, the smaller ones were a little bit crispy. And refrigerate! Everything gets liquid very quickly.
Review 4 for Chocolate-Peanut Butter Sandwiches
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MomInMN
Maple Grove, MN
January 20, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great taste, easy to make
January 20, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly. I think putting the dough in the fridge for 2 hrs is definitely necessary. The cookies did not come out as cake-like as I was anticipating, but that was ok because they tasted just fine.
I used a small dough scoop to put the dough on the sheet. Didn't bother with rolling them into a ball or even flattening them and they still baked just fine. A little thinner than I was anticipating but still very good and looked great. Sorry W-S, don't really see the need for the whoopie pie pan. But thanks for the recipe! :)
Review 5 for Chocolate-Peanut Butter Sandwiches
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
TeaBear
Vancouver, Canada
July 21, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Rather Disappointed
July 21, 2010
Having been a fan of every recipe I've taken from Williams Sonoma this was such a let down. Nothing set up right and the recipe needed some tweaking for sure.
Review 6 for Chocolate-Peanut Butter Sandwiches
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
RAATM
Midwest
May 17, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Tasty & Delicious
May 17, 2010
These were quite tasty and received a lot of compliments. However, after adding the eggs, it became very soupy and didn't seem right. I continued the rest and after refrigeration 2.5hr, the batter was not nearly firm that it could be molded in hand. I ended up adding more flour just to geta firmer consistency, but didn't want to add too much. Luckily the cookies came alright, but not where it should be. Not sure where it went wrong. Willing to trying again.
Review 7 for Chocolate-Peanut Butter Sandwiches
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ttoronto
Toronto
May 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
good stuff
May 14, 2010
easy to make, but do not let your friends near them to quickly or you will only get one.