Chocolate Cupcakes

There are two secrets to these cupcakes. They get their rich, extra-chocolaty flavor from a combination of unsweetened cocoa powder and bittersweet chocolate, and their soft, moist texture from a simple hand-mixing method.
Average Customer Rating:
3.286 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
3 of 7(43%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Chocolate Cupcakes
Review 1 for Chocolate Cupcakes
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
halligan
February 12, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Dry even with extra yolks
February 12, 2013
I have never had a Williams Sonoma recipe turn out less than wonderful. That's what prompted me to write this review. I have made dozens of Williams Sonoma recipes and this by far is the worst one! I read the reviews, added extra yolks to prevent the dryness other reviewers talked about and baked the cupcakes for the minimum suggested time in an oven with an additional thermometer so I could know the temperature was accurate. They still turned out dry!! I didn't even bring them to the party I made them for because I was embarrassed to admit I made them. The frosting however was delicious, that's why there are two stars here.
Review 2 for Chocolate Cupcakes
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
PonyRider101
October 16, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The OK Cupcake
October 16, 2011
The cupcake was fine. There wasn't exactly anything terrible. I cooked it at a temperature 25 degrees less than I was told to prevent it from getting dry. My cupcake burned on the top but was perfect in the middle. The flavor was good, though.
Pros: Kid-Friendly, Will Make Again, taste
Cons: Lengthy, Appearance
Review 3 for Chocolate Cupcakes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
pastrychef1
,flossmoor
,il
October 9, 2011
Ability level:Professional
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
You can save this cupcake!!
October 9, 2011
Ladies i am studying to be a pastry chef so when i read the reviews about this being so dry and dense when i baked this cup cake i change the egg ratio 2 whole eggs and 3 yolks. It baked perfect and rich and moist. Try it again this will be one of your go to recipes!!! Also try filling with homemade carmel and make a orange frosting topped with organe zest!!
Pros: Impressive
Cons: Ingredients
Review 4 for Chocolate Cupcakes
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
mangopapaya
May 17, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Pretty average cupcake
May 17, 2011
These were easy to make but a little dry. I would not make them again.
Pros: Quick
Cons: Taste
Review 5 for Chocolate Cupcakes
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Baker25
ottawa,on
October 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
not a good cake recipe
October 30, 2010
Cupcake is dry to eat, buttercream is excellent flavour and easy to pipe.
Review 6 for Chocolate Cupcakes
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Lizl
Seattle, WA
May 13, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This is a good recipe, but...
May 13, 2010
I've used this recipe about twice. I've heard good things about it on blogs and what not and decided that I would try it. The recipe is really easy and straight forward. So it's great when you're in a pinch. The flavor is good, but why I wouldn't make this my go-to recipe is the texture. It's not bad, but for a chocolate cake, I love a slightly dense and really moist chocolate cake. With a deep cocoa flavor. I also love a cupcake with a dome, this cake doesn't really do that. But I still gave it a 4 star rating for the ease of the recipe and the flavor profile.
Review 7 for Chocolate Cupcakes
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MonicaSD
San Diego, CA
May 2, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful Chocolate Flavor
May 2, 2010
I made this for a birthday party and the flavor reminded me of brownies but fluffier! The only concern I had was that my cupcakes were a little dry; it may have been because I was using dark pans, so I may reduce the temp to 325 degrees and check 15-18 minutes into baking time to see if they're done.