Chocolate Chip Gingerbread Cake

The lovely Rosanne Toroian at Good Housekeeping magazine devised this gingerbread cake, and author Lori Longbotham thought it was the best one she had ever tasted. But, of course, she decided to add some chocolate chips. Don't be intimidated-it may look like lots of ingredients, but it's mostly spices that can be measured very quickly. Make sure to use natural cocoa powder.
Average Customer Rating:
4.714 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
7 of 7(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Chocolate Chip Gingerbread Cake
Review 1 for Chocolate Chip Gingerbread Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mxm242
January 19, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious with coffee
January 19, 2014
I used half the chocolate chips and it came out great. I couldn't wait until it cooled so the slices didn't cut very clean but it didn't last long enough to matter.
Review 2 for Chocolate Chip Gingerbread Cake
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ayza
December 4, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
go easy with the chocolate chips
December 4, 2011
this cake came out great except that it was a bit too sweet although i'm a sweet lover! I used 6 oz instead of 12 oz the chocolate chips and still was sweet. Next time I'll just skip the chocolate chips completely!
Cons: too sweet
Review 3 for Chocolate Chip Gingerbread Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kelsea
Columbia, SC
November 4, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Mint Chocolate Chips
November 4, 2010
I substitued the semisweet chips for mint chocolate chips and it turned out wonderfully. I undercooked it by about 5 minutes which turned out well. My only problem was although I applied Pam spray liberally, the top of the cake(bottom of the pan) still stuck, but when I sprinkled it with powdered sugar it still looked fine.
Review 4 for Chocolate Chip Gingerbread Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
calialli
October 18, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great fall recipe
October 18, 2010
I used pecans instead of chocolate chips, which made this more of a sweet bread than a cake- I love it for breakfasts. I baked it for 55 minutes, and it came out just a bit dry, so I would recommend checking on it at 50 min.
Review 5 for Chocolate Chip Gingerbread Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AM680
Houston, TX
October 16, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Rich and decadent cake
October 16, 2010
Wonderful with a good cup of coffee, and easy to bake - terrific for a last minute treat for friends or co-workers.
Review 6 for Chocolate Chip Gingerbread Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SweetToothinGA
Atlanta, GA
October 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This is autumn in a cake to me
October 14, 2010
I've been making this cake every fall and sometimes into the winter for about five years. It's one of my top 3 favorite cakes. Beautiful flavor, perfectly moist, and it keeps brilliantly---I do think it gets even better after a day or two. I usually finely chop a good bar of dark chocolate instead of using mini chips. With milk and a nice dollop of creme Chantilly this is dessert heaven to me.
Review 7 for Chocolate Chip Gingerbread Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GoldenPoppy
Whittier, Calif
September 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good Cake for Autumn Nights
September 14, 2010
Very Good! If you love a very rich heavy chocolate flavor this cake is for you. Its so rich I recommened eating it with a glass of milk. I always make it as a way of marking the beginning of the fall season. Make sure you use the mini chocolate chips, reg-sized ones don't make the cut.