Print

Williams-Sonoma Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Williams-Sonoma
Shop or
Choose a Category

Chocolate Chip Cookies

There are chocolate chip cookies, and then there are these chocolate chip cookies: large, chewy, buttery and with just the right amount of chips and nuts. Choose good-quality chocolate for the tastiest result. Store these gems in an airtight container at room temperature for up to 5 days-though they won't last that long.
Average Customer Rating:
3.714 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
5 of 7(71%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Chocolate Chip Cookies
Review 1 for Chocolate Chip Cookies
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
July 9, 2016
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
flat as a pancake
July 9, 2016
After accurate measuring and using good quality nuts and chocolate I found this recipe to be horrible. Taste was good, but they were flat as a pancake. I have been baking for over 40 years. These were not presentable, in my opinion.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
GregTheBaker
Memphis
Posted July 23, 2016
Pictures Lie
Food stylists often take great liberties with recipes in order to make the pictures look the way they wish. Recipe authors laugh this off, without realizing how deceptive this looks to us readers.
The recipe as written is unlikely to produce the cookies depicted...two sticks of butter and only 2 1/4 cups of flour tend to produce flat cookies.
On the other hand, the sugar is reduced slightly from the Toll House recipe this derives from and that would tend to make them spread less. But I'm betting not enough to produce the depicted cookies.
To give this recipe a fair shot, it's important to measure ingredients carefully, but this is impossible to do when only volume measurements are given. Different people will produce wildly different cookies.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Chocolate Chip Cookies
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
May 27, 2016
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
BEST COOKIES.... EVER!!
May 27, 2016
These cookies are seriously delicious -- soft, chewy and perfect. The kosher salt just adds a little something extra to the recipe. I usually make without nuts and they're perfect every time!
Pros: Easy, Kid-Friendly, Will Make Again, Adaptable
Review 3 for Chocolate Chip Cookies
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Portland
,OR
May 22, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Better than the picture
May 22, 2015
You have to cool the dough for at least 2 hours in the fridge
I made these with my son. Wanted to try something that included corn syrup, because I love the flavor it creates.
First batch cooked perfect. Second batch was a little under after 10, so I'm sitting them on the sheet a little longer before transferring them to the cooling rack.
I've eaten 4 so far. Shame on me.
These are really yummy!
Review 4 for Chocolate Chip Cookies
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Spain
December 27, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:1 to 2 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazing cookies!!
December 27, 2014
I followed the recipe and reduced the time since my oven is small. I used good quality ingredients, real maple syrup and small dark chocolate chips and left out the nuts. They were amazing!!
Pros: Easy, Appearance, Adaptable, Impressive, Will Make Again
Review 5 for Chocolate Chip Cookies
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
September 3, 2014
Ability level:Novice
Would You Recommend? No
-4points
0of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
uhhhh maybe I'm just a bad baker
September 3, 2014
I fallowed the instructions pretty closely and what i got was pretty bad. The dough tasted really great before it was baked. Once I put it in the oven, it spread out so much that you were left with a very flat and dry cookie. I must of done something wrong, but I don't know what it is.
Review 6 for Chocolate Chip Cookies
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
,Brooklyn
,NY
November 17, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Cooks for:3 to 5 people
Cooks:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
perfect chocolate chip cookie recipe
November 17, 2013
Aside from the timing noted at 10 minutes, it's a perfect recipe that I halved and it still turned out better than any I've made before.
Quick preparation.
Pros: Easy
Review 7 for Chocolate Chip Cookies
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
,Washington
,DC
Washington, DC
December 25, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Cooks for:6 to 10 people
Cooks:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Soft and Chewy
December 25, 2012
Bake at 375 for 10 minutes and these will turn out soft and chewy. I also omitted the honey and changed the sugar amounts to 3/4 cup white sugar and 3/4 cup packed brown sugar.
The dough will look a lot like ice cream and seem too soft, but trust me it works! Just be sure to allow 2" for spreading.
4 stars because I had to alter time and temp
Pros: Easy, Will Make Again